We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good , but few concerns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sempati to your Saves list
Hotel Sempati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good , but few concerns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sempati for 10 days on a half board basis at the end of April/early May this year. Overall we found the hotel good value , clean with good sized rooms (ours had a single and double bed). We had the advantage of a room in the centre part of the hotel which meant our room was always shady and I could see this being a distinct advantage in mid summer. Our weather throughout was sunny and around 30 deg + most days. Room did have aircon which we tested but did not need to use at all.
Room was cleaned and toilet bin emptied on a daily basis and general standard of cleanliness was good throughout the hotel.
Food served in a single dining room with the exception of lunches and snacks which we took outside on the large paved upper terrace area.
Food was fine with a fair amount of variety but there was a tendency to put chips with everything! we would have liked a little more in the way of Turkish/Cypriot dishes . The first week of our stay there were fewer guests and a very quiet civilised dining experience even taking into account a party of 30+ Belgian 17 year old students who were immaculately behaved. Unfortunately the last few days saw a large influx of Polish guests who did have a tendency to descend on the dining room en -masse as soon as it opened and left with the appearance of the dining room as though a plague of locusts had visited!
Pool was excellent , large , circular and approx 2m deep throughout , this could be a problem for non swimmers or young children, although there is an attached pool at about 1m deep.
The hotel operates a no cash policy whereby you sign for all drinks etc and can settle this daily , weekly or as we did at the end of the stay.
Bar, whilst large, was not particularly well used and this is one area of the hotel which could benefit from a lighter colour makeover.
Staff throughout were friendly, helpful, and nice to have around. Must single out the barman, who also doubled as Maitre D.
Hotel location fine if you like us are looking for quiet surroundings. It will not suit many clubbers! If we visit again we will certainly hire a car to get around more although there is a good dolmus service about 300m away on the main road.

Room Tip: Rooms in the centre of the main building always shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    128
    72
    43
    26
See reviews for
87
225
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

this hotel offers bed and breakfast and evening buffet at amazingly low prices, really beautifully situated just outside Kyrenia,all rooms have a sea view. The staff couldn't do more for you. all in all a wonderful place, everything perfect

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife in the external block section, the rooms being spacious and clean.We met some very nice people there especially Vivien and a lovely Welsh couple in their eighties ( they didn't look it ). We had some entertainment one night, which was much appreciated, but for the rest of the week, it was a case of talking to other guests or watching football on the televisions,Incidentally the only programme in English on the TV in our room was World News, we just couldn't find anything else.
Breakfast consisted of a choice of mezes and what I thought was a slection of cheeses and salads There was also cereal, tea, coffee etc.toast and boiled eggs ( I had eggs on toast all week).It was a shame, in the interests of hygiene and health safety that little was covered up!
The evening meal consisted of two choices and various sweets{ again not covered). The main course varied throughout the week some were ok, others mediochre, especially the fish, complete with eye balls!
All things taken into consideration we enjoyed our stay at the Sempati. We also hired a car for four days, but beware of the speed cameras! they're hard to spot and everywhere. The omni buses are also worthwhile using and cheap. N.Cyprus is not Spain, but a beautiful place with a sunny climate. Thankyou to all the wonderfull people that we met, you made our holiday.Hope we meet again, bless you all!

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex were superior to the ones in the hotel itself, or so I was told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Accomodation was fine - Beds were very comfortable - We stayed in the accomodation away from the main hotel called superior rooms & they were OK . Cleaning of them was changing the towels twice & putting the lid down on the WC + emptying the waste basket. We are not untidy so this was not too much of an inconvenience making the beds ourselves but would have like the floors wiped over. Shower was semi circular, water hot & plenty of room in the cubicle - Nowhere to put your soap or shampoo in the shower so floor available.
Food was School dinner standard pre packed Broccili florets & baby carrots with everything including curry - Had fish & chips one night also with the obligatory carrots & Broccili - I had hoped it would be the chefs saving grace it was hot but not fully cooked which was a shame as food all costs the same its how you cook it.
Staff are very pleasant & we met some very nice people there -
I suggest you hire a car if you want to go out much otherwise the Dolmus can be caught
( daylight hours) about 7 minutes walk from the hotel which is 3.5 TL each into Kyrenia which must be 10 miles I would say.
Could really do with a bit of an upgrade on the main hotel & a bit of staff training cooking & cleaning wise. Cold food is all left uncovered which bothered me.
Pool is very cold also . Its a lovely setting with 3 horses in the adjacent field , 2 pointer puppies who have the run of the place so quite a giggle watching their exploits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear kentredseadiver,
Thank you for your review and We are pleased to hearing from you that you have enjoyed your stay.
We make sure and promise from here, we will look at that vegetable subject, and will speak with chef.

We hope to see you again in Sunny North Cyprus

Kind regards
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife Patricia & I have spent many wonderful holidays at the 'SEMPATI' in Lapta Cyprus, The Staff are friendly and courteous and the Hotel is situated in the perfect place to use as a base to go exploring the many attractions in the area of Kyrenia, we have made many friends while staying there and Erkan & his family try their best to make the place attractive to most ages, while we stayed there the rooms were always cleaned and the beds changed on a daily basis which I don't think happens in a lot of hotels it also has its few 'Downs' which I wont mention because all in all its a lovely Hote.l

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Annex, the new complex next door to the Sempati
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having just stayed for a week in March we can only say that people should go with not too high an expectation and not to compare with star ratings etc. if you need a bed, a bathroom, shower etc. then all is there and the rooms are attended every day for emptying of the bathroom bin. The most important element is that you communicate with the staff who are by their very nature friendly and always willing to help if they can. Kudos to Ali and Mohammed who seemed to be running the whole place out of hours while we were there, they were terrific. Not to forget Tunji, who doubled on occasions. Food - if you want an omelette, or fried eggs, or scrambled, to supplement the cereals, cheeses, tomatoes, meats, cake, bread, jams, honey, cucumber, salad etc. laid out each breakfast time, then simply ask and you shall receive..... We did! If you want a full English breakfast though, you will be invited to pay extra. Our only disappointment was that they drain the pool in March for renovation, as do most the other hotels, so I didn't get to swim each day as planned and at this time of year the corner rooms can be a bit noisy with the wind howling past the balconies and windows. Admittedly the evening meals were set and if not to your liking then not a lot of leeway but generally the meals were ok, so if concerned on this front then do book B&B and then go to the local restaurants for evening meals. There are improvements required but we feel the owners are heading the right way.

Room Tip: Horseshoe arrangement gives sea view to all rooms we believe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear H8NEA
Thank you for your review, and I am so happy which you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to see you again. I apologize for the pool which wasnt open, we were getting ready for the summer. now pool is filled and ready for swim...

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

You do not get what you book, no safe in room. Very poor breakfast, food runs out, outside tables not set when you want to eat. Owners dog poops on patio where you have breakfast! Breakfast experience is not good, the room is set out badly with tea and coffee in one corner so you can get ' trapped 'holding two hot coffees. We ended up getting breakfast at Flippers over the road. It was magic!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pandainthemed

Thank you for your review, I can see you you have stayed September 2012, and sending your review now. and sorry which you have not enjoyed your stay.

We ask all our clients to just ask! or tell us if is something wrong or if is food is finished on the buffet you can ask waiters to bring more food, our breakfast is buffet sytle Hot and cold, during the busy period foods can be run for 2-3 minutes and refilled by waiters again.

Hotel sempati's Rooms and All public Areas are refurbished and ready for 2013 Season.

Ps. Our Superior rooms opened July 2012 They are brand new rooms, you can ask upgrade to them,

Kind regards
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
0.0 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#4 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#6 of 7 in Lapta
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
8.6 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#3 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and cyprus paradise so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sempati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.