We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared and do communicate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Sempati to your Saves list
Hotel Sempati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lapta
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Be prepared and do communicate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having just stayed for a week in March we can only say that people should go with not too high an expectation and not to compare with star ratings etc. if you need a bed, a bathroom, shower etc. then all is there and the rooms are attended every day for emptying of the bathroom bin. The most important element is that you communicate with the staff who are by their very nature friendly and always willing to help if they can. Kudos to Ali and Mohammed who seemed to be running the whole place out of hours while we were there, they were terrific. Not to forget Tunji, who doubled on occasions. Food - if you want an omelette, or fried eggs, or scrambled, to supplement the cereals, cheeses, tomatoes, meats, cake, bread, jams, honey, cucumber, salad etc. laid out each breakfast time, then simply ask and you shall receive..... We did! If you want a full English breakfast though, you will be invited to pay extra. Our only disappointment was that they drain the pool in March for renovation, as do most the other hotels, so I didn't get to swim each day as planned and at this time of year the corner rooms can be a bit noisy with the wind howling past the balconies and windows. Admittedly the evening meals were set and if not to your liking then not a lot of leeway but generally the meals were ok, so if concerned on this front then do book B&B and then go to the local restaurants for evening meals. There are improvements required but we feel the owners are heading the right way.

Room Tip: Horseshoe arrangement gives sea view to all rooms we believe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear H8NEA
Thank you for your review, and I am so happy which you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to see you again. I apologize for the pool which wasnt open, we were getting ready for the summer. now pool is filled and ready for swim...

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    99
    63
    35
    25
See reviews for
76
189
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

You do not get what you book, no safe in room. Very poor breakfast, food runs out, outside tables not set when you want to eat. Owners dog poops on patio where you have breakfast! Breakfast experience is not good, the room is set out badly with tea and coffee in one corner so you can get ' trapped 'holding two hot coffees. We ended up getting breakfast at Flippers over the road. It was magic!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pandainthemed

Thank you for your review, I can see you you have stayed September 2012, and sending your review now. and sorry which you have not enjoyed your stay.

We ask all our clients to just ask! or tell us if is something wrong or if is food is finished on the buffet you can ask waiters to bring more food, our breakfast is buffet sytle Hot and cold, during the busy period foods can be run for 2-3 minutes and refilled by waiters again.

Hotel sempati's Rooms and All public Areas are refurbished and ready for 2013 Season.

Ps. Our Superior rooms opened July 2012 They are brand new rooms, you can ask upgrade to them,

Kind regards
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel does not honour its own booking terms and conditions. I was forced to postpone a planned visit to the TRNC and, being 3 months in advance, it was agreed in writing to refund my £100 deposit. Six months, and countless email reminders, later I am still waiting. There is no small claims court system in North Cyprus and the Ministry of Tourism apparently do not care about protecting travellers from unscrupulous businesses. I will never visit the TRNC in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Chrisrox,

Thank you for your review,

I have checked your booking and you have made deposit payment of £ 100.00
In the booking Terms the Deposit is non-refundable. The Terms and conditions clearly shown on our website.

We will deduct 20 % cancellation charge and refund you the rest.

Thank you for your understanding.

Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

10 of us came nord cyprus for walking end of October and stayed sempati, its nice hotel, very good family, every morning we were going early for walking, howerer they were find enough to open the breakfast for us, and they have looked after us very well, we are going to nord zypern again in end of march for walking on kyrenia mountains up to karpas, its good family hotel with good small size of beach and good swimming pool. nord zypern is natural, and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

recently stayed at Sempati hotel and it was marvelous, i made reservation through internet, and once we arrived gave the papers, and got our room so quick, everyone smiles at sempati, warm place, i think north cyprus is a beautiful country, not built up, friendly people over there,
i decided to go karpas penisular one day and hired a car drove to penisular stayed over night there its was marvelous place.
if we go nord cyprus again i stay sempati without any question,
thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The sempati Hotel was ideal for our holiday, we had such a relaxing time, and meet many new friends, the food at the hotel, was excellent, as the staff were very helpful an anything we asked for, I would recommend this hotel to all family and friends, special thanks to Jane who organized our trips to north cyprus. Lots of lovely restaurant around the hotel within walking distance,
recommend you hire a car to tour fantastic island. you will be not dissapointed.
you must visit kyrenia such a lovely place

Room Tip: the superior rooms were more luxurious than i expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have booked our holiday in January at the earls court exhibition with good deal, owner was at the show so he described everything correctly for us, and we have booked for Early Feb. once we arrived to hotel he was there also everyday, and he gives us good information for the island, he was asking us everyday if we are all right and make sure we were happy, they are good family, we have hired 3 days car, they have arrnaged for us, and been almost all places, karpas, famagsusta, we been to nicosia, not spopped as we couldnt find the car park, and drove around nicosia, we stayed room 26, it was in the main building brand new room, newly refurbished i belive, it was good, owner of the hotel young man, said us, please order for breakfast anything you like, one night there was darts game, so we had chat with local expats.
Hotel wasnt so busy that time, weather wasnt bad we have enjoyed our stay, if we go to north cyprus, we love to stay sempati again,

Room Tip: main hotel building room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sempati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.