We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared and do communicate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sempati to your Saves list
Hotel Sempati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Be prepared and do communicate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having just stayed for a week in March we can only say that people should go with not too high an expectation and not to compare with star ratings etc. if you need a bed, a bathroom, shower etc. then all is there and the rooms are attended every day for emptying of the bathroom bin. The most important element is that you communicate with the staff who are by their very nature friendly and always willing to help if they can. Kudos to Ali and Mohammed who seemed to be running the whole place out of hours while we were there, they were terrific. Not to forget Tunji, who doubled on occasions. Food - if you want an omelette, or fried eggs, or scrambled, to supplement the cereals, cheeses, tomatoes, meats, cake, bread, jams, honey, cucumber, salad etc. laid out each breakfast time, then simply ask and you shall receive..... We did! If you want a full English breakfast though, you will be invited to pay extra. Our only disappointment was that they drain the pool in March for renovation, as do most the other hotels, so I didn't get to swim each day as planned and at this time of year the corner rooms can be a bit noisy with the wind howling past the balconies and windows. Admittedly the evening meals were set and if not to your liking then not a lot of leeway but generally the meals were ok, so if concerned on this front then do book B&B and then go to the local restaurants for evening meals. There are improvements required but we feel the owners are heading the right way.

Room Tip: Horseshoe arrangement gives sea view to all rooms we believe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear H8NEA
Thank you for your review, and I am so happy which you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to see you again. I apologize for the pool which wasnt open, we were getting ready for the summer. now pool is filled and ready for swim...

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    126
    71
    43
    26
See reviews for
87
223
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

You do not get what you book, no safe in room. Very poor breakfast, food runs out, outside tables not set when you want to eat. Owners dog poops on patio where you have breakfast! Breakfast experience is not good, the room is set out badly with tea and coffee in one corner so you can get ' trapped 'holding two hot coffees. We ended up getting breakfast at Flippers over the road. It was magic!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pandainthemed

Thank you for your review, I can see you you have stayed September 2012, and sending your review now. and sorry which you have not enjoyed your stay.

We ask all our clients to just ask! or tell us if is something wrong or if is food is finished on the buffet you can ask waiters to bring more food, our breakfast is buffet sytle Hot and cold, during the busy period foods can be run for 2-3 minutes and refilled by waiters again.

Hotel sempati's Rooms and All public Areas are refurbished and ready for 2013 Season.

Ps. Our Superior rooms opened July 2012 They are brand new rooms, you can ask upgrade to them,

Kind regards
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel does not honour its own booking terms and conditions. I was forced to postpone a planned visit to the TRNC and, being 3 months in advance, it was agreed in writing to refund my £100 deposit. Six months, and countless email reminders, later I am still waiting. There is no small claims court system in North Cyprus and the Ministry of Tourism apparently do not care about protecting travellers from unscrupulous businesses. I will never visit the TRNC in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Chrisrox,

Thank you for your review,

I have checked your booking and you have made deposit payment of £ 100.00
In the booking Terms the Deposit is non-refundable. The Terms and conditions clearly shown on our website.

We will deduct 20 % cancellation charge and refund you the rest.

Thank you for your understanding.

Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a three week break at the Sempati and to be honest the place is a complete shambles.For the first week we had no hot water,in spite of complaining every day nothing was done.Eventually hot water did appear but vanished again during the last four days of the stay.The food was terrible breakfast was initially some plastic cheese dubious looking meat and salad although there was a marginal improvement when we were offered a choice.Dinner was very poor at no stage was a choice offered,it was take it or leave it,starters was soup,which incidently was nice followed by a second course of salad but this was withdrawn after a few days with no explanation the main course was small and at times almost inedible dessert was always a few scraps of fruit.The hotel itself is somewhat isolated and in a delapidated condition.Although the bedrooms are cleaned on a daily basis the building feels dirty due to unwashed windows ,threadbare curtains etc. it appears that whilst the floor in swept and washed everything else is left.Below our room on the outside of the hotel was a covered area which on investigation turned out to be some sort of dumping ground for old furniture and other miscellaneous rubbish which smelled badly and appeared to be the breeding ground for millions of biting and stinging flies which invaded the bedroom every time a window was opened.The only saving grace to the whole shambles were the staff who were always cheerful,friendly, and ready to help.It seems a same that such nice people should be associated with such a dire establishment.In short if you are staying in North Cyprus AVOID THE AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear WaterwitchI,
Thank you for your Review, and apologize you have not enjoyed your stay in North Cyprus.

When you arrive it was January, and we have informed your agency which we will have renovation in our Hotel, we have to make in January time, of course it was quite time, it was off season so it was not many people in hotel, also we havent accept bookings as our works going on hotel.

Regarding windows, while you were staying with us every day raining so why windows wasnt clean, before you arrive we have told your agency to change your hotel, we have renovation in our hotel.

We were renovation the rooms, so covered area was old furniture from the rooms, removed after 3 days. Now clean and tidy.

You have seen yourself also the new rooms which we have refurbished. and you said they are so good.

Ali and Ridvan asked you everyday in breakfast and Dinner if you want anything, such us omlette or English breakfast, or Dinner to cook you whatever you like,

I write from here, if you are staying with us and not happy with breakfast or Dinner or any other
please speak to us, we are happy to do it. You will make us happy with your says,
If you dont ask we cannot help.

This is Turkish Country so our breakfast is Turkish Style we dont give English breakfast if you dont request, We have our local cheese called Halloumi, and we have other cheese type also. plus that we have boiled egg, fried egg and cereals, and Fruit.

If you are not happy or you ask different style food Just ask.

We do apologize for this, and hope to see you in other time.

To All
Our Hotel rooms and Main Areas, refurbished during January February March time, go to our website and see the new pictures, or visit us while you are in North Cyprus.

We are working hard to give best service for our clients.

Kind regards
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very basic comfortable friendly. all services are basic but very good. staff are friendly and keen to help. been back on more than one occassion and always given a warm welcome. The owner will arrange all travel arrangements including private car collection from and back to airport

Room Tip: get annexe if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Marvelous Weekend at north cyprus! Cannot belive that still such a place existing in the earth
North cyprus is a hidden paradise, we have choosen this Hotel as we were looking quiet and relax holiday and its spot on we are feeling much better now as we live in İstanbul after that north cyprus is perfect break. We were pleased with the Hotel, we Will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

after spending one week at sempati hotel
it was so sad to lEave the staff were very friendly and helpful
food was of high quality and all made local fresh produce, superior room fantastic family feel to the hotel
will definey be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
0.0 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#6 of 25 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
13.8 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
8.6 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#4 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com and cyprus paradise so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sempati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.