We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Sempati to your Saves list
Hotel Sempati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
1 review
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have chose the sempati hotel as one of our party is a keen diver and wanted to use the dive school facilities that is adjoined to the hotel .drew and Caroline at turtle bay dive centre made sure he was accommodated throughout our stay .the main hotel rooms were clean but slightly tired the new rooms were fabulous some of our party were in each type .for value for money we couldnt fault it the pool area was lovely and peaceful as long as the piped music was kept at a low volume .staff were pleasant atall times we would use this hotel again but would ask for rooms in the new complex

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    103
    66
    36
    25
See reviews for
80
198
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good holiday good time, good weather, i made arrangement with this hotel with Citron travel 2nd trip to norde cyprus, hotelle was good, good size of beach, almost 100 meter walk and useful facilites by the sunny beach bar, when we were there.
they put us in new block 1 wooow! new hotelle, new room,. clean and only 1 month old. bathroom good and clean, very very good.
food is typical turkish food, we loved it. We love turkish food. fresh and tasty,. been few times to turkey and same as turkey food. went to Girnje couple of time a, good, bus by the Main road 1 day, and 1 day hotel bus, its ok,. hotel beer is not expensive. bought from bar.
Swimming pool is ok good size and Clean. good holiday, good food, good people. If I go again norde cyprus, I go sempati again. service is good.
Ahh I forgot Hotel have some horses, I love them, 2 of them,.

Room Tip: block 1 good new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Under whelmed. Not what was expected.
Within TA, this Hotel is also separately reviewed under the title 'Sempati Hotel'.
My wife and I travelled as a couple in early September 2012, and this was our first trip to the Sempati and indeed to Northern Cyprus itself. Prior to booking we had read various brochures and it appeared that the Sempati was a small, family run, friendly hotel with reasonable food. The TA reviews, in the main, tended to concur with this analysis. I can only assume that both the brochure description and comments were written prior to the expansion of the Sempati which appears to have greatly increased their original room capacity. The result of this expansion seems to have created a sea change in operational efficiency, but sadly one not for the better.
Although there is a slight interaction between my comments, I have tried to précis the review into relevant, quasi chronological, sections.
Administration and Organisation.
We arrived at the Sempati at approximately 05-20 and approaching the entrance door there was a notice stating that no external food or drink was to be brought into the building otherwise it would be confiscated and returned upon departure. An interesting first impression!
In reception, we were asked to complete the requisite documentation and given the room entry card and two towel cards. I accept that it was early, but a friendly greeting and/or the offer of a coffee or soft drink would have been welcome.
At breakfast later on the first day, see food section, the coffee machine was out of order and the instant alternative was dreadful. Consequently we hired a kettle at 15 TL. This failed to appear on the first day and finally turned up on the second. Unfortunately, it was broken. The receptionist, who was very helpful, seemed to be aware of this however as, when I returned the item, she had a new one ready. The kettle hire came with two sachets of coffee, two of milk powder and two of tea. We were informed that further supplies were to be purchased directly from the Sempati.
There also seemed to be a regular 'mini bar control' where someone would come to the room and check the stock, this I believe was more to ensure that no external food or drink had been placed in the refrigerator, see above note.
Further regulations/notices included the following;
The bar and restaurant staff could not accept cash for drinks, everything purchased had to be signed for, the receipt kept and payment made to the office.
A note was made that food should not be taken from breakfast. This diktat I can perhaps understand as we did see, on more than one instance, certain guests of perhaps Eastern European origin placing 9 or more hard boiled eggs plus bread into their handbags.
An initial note stated that there was a complimentary shuttle bus to Kyrenia (Girne), leaving at 09.00 and returning at 13.30. This notification was rapidly replaced and amended to reflect that the service was now fee paying (4TL). As a Dolmus service ran approximately every 10 minutes from the main road (3.5 TL) there was very little point in being so restricted by this Hotel 'service'.
The above points may appear pedantic but, when combined with the comments pertaining to room, food and staff, the totality produced an ambiance which was more akin to the fictional Fawlty Towers or the, thankfully eliminated, UK B&B seaside establishments of previous times.
Room and Housekeeping.
We stayed in one of the new blocks and the shower room, main bedroom and balcony were spacious. The bedroom itself was well appointed and the bed itself was comfortable. The main room did contain a full mini bar, not used by ourselves but checked on a regular basis - see above, but no room safe.
The air conditioning worked and the views from the balcony, to the nearby mountain range and sea, were excellent.
Whilst towels were changed daily, it became obvious that the floor was never cleaned in the two weeks we were there. Again, once the complementary toiletries, shower gel etc, were exhausted they were never replenished and, whether by accident or design, hot water was not available until approximately 08.00.
On the third day the handle of the French Window, leading from the bedroom to the balcony, broke. Whilst not a major problem, care had to be taken in not fully locking the window and the matter was reported. A handyman duly turned up, placed his work note on the occasional table, and removed but not replaced the handle. He then left without a word, never to be seen again. The next day his work note had vanished.
Food.
We stayed on a half board basis and, since we have travelled extensively within mainland Turkey, there was an expectation of having a reasonable standard of Turkish based food. The actuality is as follows.
Breakfast.
Because the breakfast food and drink were laid out on one table, facing the wall, there was only one access area. Consequently, depending upon the time, there was a raft of people all trying to select coffee, tea and food. Obviously various food items were depleted and, whilst they were eventually replaced, there could be a long wait .To compound matters, as all crockery was hand washed, there were times when cups, bowls etc were not immediately available In addition, with the one coffee machine either breaking down or requiring refilling on a regular basis, breakfast could take a long time. Whilst we were happy with a Turkish Breakfast, quite often certain items such as honey did not appear. At least however the yogurt, melon, cheese, bread and honey (when available) were edible.
In fairness to the Sempati, we were astounded by the number of hard boiled eggs and bread certain guests took from the breakfast buffet and secreted into their handbags (see above).
As we ate in the outside area, all meals attracted a small white dog and a marmalade coloured cat who hung around waiting to be fed. These animals, along with others, appeared to belong to the Hotel.

Dinner.
The menu for Dinner was chalked up each day and consisted of, Soup, Open buffet, Main courses and desert. The rack rate was 25TL.
Soup.
Was generally good, but you did need to arrive early as it did cool within the container quite quickly.
Open Buffet.
Comprised a selection of meze dishes which, once finished, did not seem to be replenished. We were initially surprised to see brussel sprouts included within the selection but, having gained experience of the main course, it became obvious why.
Main Course.
There were generally two choices of meal, one of which was always chicken and, as the food was pre-plated, were accompanied with vegetables. Ignoring rice and chips ,a medley of boiled brussel sprouts, broccoli and carrots served either all together or in combination were a constant. In all our time in mainland Turkey we have never, ever, been served these vegetables as part of a Mediterranean diet. For good reason.
It also became apparent that the description of the dish on the blackboard did not always however equate to what arrived, as kebab for example often turned up as a form of stew. Since the chicken itself had a strange texture, quality and taste then often we could not eat very much of the meal. The worst dish however was the traditional green peas and chicken which, please forgive the pun, was foul. Also, having travelled extensively for both business and pleasure, prior to that specific dish I had never before experienced an upset stomach and all that it entails.
Dessert.
This was mainly melon and watermelon with sometimes a sort of cake which, if not eaten, seemed to turn up again the next day at either breakfast and or dinner.
Staff.
Possibly due to the increased operational capacity, and hence more guests, the staff appeared to be very stressed and, with one or two exceptions, they did not seem to want to make eye contact or smile. It is also interesting to note that, in contrast to every other hotel in which we have ever stayed, a member of Management did not introduce themselves and ask our opinion of the stay. This approach is standard PR and its absence, as stated earlier, could be due to an increased workload.
The Beach
Is situated a short, about 150 yards, distance from the main Hotel entrance and is accessed via steps. It does not appear to be a private beach as the sun beds seem to be owned, and charged for, by the adjacent holiday complex. The beach itself is more shingle than sand and contains no toilet facilities or bar although, I believe, both of the latter can be utilised via the other complex. Irrespective of ownership, the beach seems to attract a profusion of uncollected litter.
Potentially useful general comments re the area.
There is a differentiation between the Turkish and Greek names regarding towns and cities, for example.
Girne = Kyrenia. Lefkosa = Nicosia. Magusa = Famagusta.
The Tourist Board in Lefkosa is very helpful. Indeed on a Monday, Wednesday and Friday they hold very informative free guided tours of the Turkish part of the city. An equivalent commercial tour, covering exactly the same places, is £20 per person. Obviously a commercial tour will take you there and back, but the shared taxi from Girne to Lefkosa (see below)is only 5 TL each way and therefore allows more freedom to explore.
Shared Taxis and Dolmus from Girne cover most areas but the ones we generally used were to Lefkosa 5TL each way and Magusa 12 TL each way. The main central embarkation point for both, as they are side by side, is just down from the Colony Hotel, opposite the central park and running onto Cafe Doping . Regarding the Magusa trip, this is run by Virgo and the journey over the 5 finger mountain is worth the money by itself.
If you are intending to cross over to the Greek border of Nicosia, then it is advisable to either take, or convert cash into Euros prior to arrival as currency exchanges seem to be few and far between on that side. The Nicosia Tourist Board is again very helpful and there are a number of good Greek Cypriot restaurants within the immediate vicinity. If required, Debenhams, McDonalds and Starbucks amongst others, have outlets on the Greek side of the divided city.
When exchanging GBP for TL, there is a better exchange rate in Northern Cyprus than in the UK. Consequently it is beneficial to only convert an initial small amount in the UK. The differential we experienced was 2.71 GBP to TL in the UK compared to 2.90 in Girne, a small but useful difference of £6.55 per £100.
Overview
As stated, from prior reading of brochures etc, our holiday experience was not what we expected. Talking to other guests, It became apparent that the Sempati that they had previously visited was not the same as currently is. It could be that we were unlucky to be caught in a transitional phase, due to the relatively recent increase in capacity, and with time the position may improve. As it stands however we would not return to the Sempati since there are many, good and competitively priced, alternative destinations. Life is finite and, in our opinion, holidays should be enjoyed rather than endured.

Room Tip: Chose the new block of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARSAW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our first trip to north cyprus and we have choosed the sempati from brochure, we arrived with large group our flight was with corendon air was good, arrived to hotel around 00.00 and kindly they offered us some snack meal which was very kind of the hotel. most of place doesnt do this. we stayed bed and breakfast and evening meal. at the hotel.
after our holiday I read the other messages, and I am not agree with the some of the comments about the evening meals. the evening meals the traditionals was good. we dont want to eat same at home, we want to try the local foods also. we liked the local meals. i dont know the others.

we stayed one of the new block which was great only problem was the floor look like dirty however we told the reception girl and she expleined for us about that, cleaners does every day but the floor has some sort of paint and look like dirt but aylin came and mopped and we seen it. so we cannot blame the cleaners we were happy with our lady
aylin said they will put machine to remove the marks soon after hotel gets quiet. the new block area is great and quiet. brand new bed and furniture this was like honeymoon for us
breakfast was buffet hot eggs and cold salami cyprus cheese they called halomi and fruit. so it was more than enough for us.

there is small beach we went every day it was ok, very clean water Cyprus is very good. we took some tours and went to famagusta and karpas, was amazing unique and naturale.
we want to go to north cyprus again and we dont mind to stay sempati, i will recommend to my friends,
thank you.

Room Tip: new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrived late but managed to get a drink and a bite to eat after much negotiation. Generally very peaceful and pleasant around pool area. Put in new block which was better than the main hotel although the floors were stained with glue or resin which makes them look dirty - they are not and cleaned every day by lovely cleaners. A few dogs and cats around but not too many - there was a young horse running free in the grounds which was quite nice to see.

The beach was small, man made and suffered from a little neglect including broken sun beds and litter.

Food - Breakfast was just about ok although it would be nice to have something other than cold pressed sausage if you want a meat option. No fresh juice and coffee machine runs out regularly. Bar snacks at lunch time are a waste of space, go up the road to the sports bar much better value. Evening meals consist of soup & mixed cold starters some of which are quite nice but be warned that cold sprouts are a major feature! The main courses were mostly disappointing, chicken with peas or beans in gravy with rice appeared 3 times during our stay. Having said that I had an epic pork chop on the second day which was unfortunately served with vegetables that were not only cold but chilled! Puddings do not really exist at Hotel Sempati. Cyprus night did not appear for us - cancelled presumably.

Bar - there is a cashless bar which uses your room number and signature - the accuracy of this system relies on you and your waiter / barman's competence. Keep all your slips and pay your bill every couple of days to avoid embarrassment!

The hotel is about 7 miles from the nearest town and although there are bars and shops within walking distance if you are fit, a car is desirable. The hotel offers a bus to Girne for 4 tl which is a lovely place but you will need a taxi if returning late. The hotel offers car hire which we did not use, I would advise shopping around for the best deal.

Overall a very peaceful stay but not perfect by any means.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having just returned from 9 nts we can only say it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. Although we had one of the new rooms which was spacious excellent shower the floors weren't mopped throughout our stay. The main hotel is 70s furniture and snappy the food appalling and dinner one night was pieces do chicken and green beans in a greasy tomato stock Way of the beaten track with a disgusting beach and a walk up to the main road to escape North Cyprus is lovely and has much more than this hotel Unfriendly service could go on and on but avoid this hotel if you have any class or style

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Mr.Moore,
Thank you for your review and sorry to hearing from you about you have not enjoyed your stay. We have disappointed you have not told us anything while you were here. I have checked the complaint report and not found any report made by you. The cleaners visit your Room daily and they make daily Cleaning, however we did not found any report from you.

I will give answer for your complaints. :
1 Hotel Decor. Each year we do renovation for the Hotel. And All chairs. Lobby area done 2012.
Restaurant Done 2012 Spring Time.
Our Hotel Has Cypriot warm Friendly Character, furniture and style, If you like very modern Fashion Hotel you should go to 5 Star Hotel. Not family run Hotel. * as you say you have stayed in our new rooms. this shows which we have every year renovation also.

2- Evening Meal. Each night we offer 1 Traditional meal and 1 International Meal. You have selected Local meal Green beans with Chicken in Tomato Sauce. This is our Traditional meal which most of our guest like so much this meal.
You have sent message to our Hotel also about meal Which you said paid 25 TL for the meal and was expensive we offer 3 course meal 25 TL which is 8 Gbp.
this including Open buffet mezes, Soup, Dinner and Dessert.
Also we have Ala carte Menu if you dont like the Set menu you can select the Alacarte Menu Meal.
Also If you said that which you didnt enjoy your meal we could change or cancel your Meal bill.
However again we did not receive any complaint from you.

All our staff and family who they work so hard when they seen your message, been so upset,
We work here to give best service, happy holidays for our clients.
We have lots of our guest which is coming years and years.
They are coming to Meet Locals, meet with us, and enjoy the atmosphere.

Sorry we are not Fashion 5 Star Hotel, however you cannot Judge the places, with Decor or with Traditional meal.

We have made survey and most of clients wants to eat Local meal while they are here.
So every night we do one local meal.

Kind regards
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from a really good holiday in Northern Cyprus. It was my first visit to this part of the island, although I know the South rather better. The hotel was a bit of a disappointment. The room was a mix of log cabin and gothic which was a bit strange. At no point were we ever able to lock the french windows onto the little patio. The cleaning was perfunctory. The staff were individually pleasant and attentive, but it seems that the place lacks a bit of management with some of the reception staff in particularly being rather unhelpful. Personally I could have done without the banging Rihanna and dance music first thing in the morning and my request to have the volume turned down met with mixed results depending on the morning the request was made and who to. The average age of the guests at the point when I asked for it to be turned down must have been late fifties, early sixties. None of us were enjoying it. The breakfasts weren't bad in an institutional hotel sort of a way. What did bug me quite a lot were the notices all round the place indicating that we were not allowed to bring in any food or water from outside the hotel. I am disabled and a quick nip to the nearest shop wasn't possible for me. I found this rule rather restrictive and unreasonable. I flouted it, despite the threats to confiscate any food in the room which was not bought from the hotel. Whilst they did an evening meal (at a price but not unreasonable), they were seldom what I wanted to eat. The beach which was billed as having a reef was down some perilous steps and a bit rocky. Very clean though. Lovely water. Cyprus is a beautiful destination for a holiday either in the north or in the south. The prices in the north are much lower than in the south and i felt that i had had a holiday which was very good value and very enjoyable.

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor of a few bungalow/chalets/en suite rooms at the front of the hotel. i a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, cyprus paradise and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sempati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.