We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forrest Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forrest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forrest Guesthouse
Save
You added Forrest Guesthouse to your Saves list
16 Grant Street, Forrest, Victoria 3236, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Forrest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Charming Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the Forrest Country Guesthouse with my girlfriend on 3rd November 2012, having read some very favourable reviews on Trip Advisor.

We were immediately made to feel very welcome by the very charming hosts. Add to that the fact that we were treated to some delicious meals that had a wonderfully home cooked feel to them. Needless to say, we had seconds!

The environment itself was very peaceful, with plenty of greenery around. The rooms was comfortable and was cleverly decorated to suit the relevant theme.

I had not been to this area of Victoria before, my trips had always been along the coast. Given that it is still so close to many of the popular attractions of the area, this was a great find. I would certainly recommend it to anyone else looking for a relaxing getaway with exceptional hospitality.

Room Tip: The end room (Shearers room) was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went to Forrest mainly to see the wild platypus in Lake Elizabeth, and we weren't entirely sure what to expect for accommodation in the area. There weren't a lot of options available and we ended up choosing the Country Guesthouse almost by chance. We were surprised to discover how much we enjoyed the experience and would recommend it without reservation to anyone traveling through the region.

Our room had a lot of charm and was decorated in an interesting way with a nice theme and a lot of vintage knickknacks and books. The beds were quite comfortable and there was plenty of room. (A few nitpicks: as someone else mentioned, it can get quite chilly during the winter and the space heater isn't quite enough to keep the room toasty, particularly late at night and in the mornings. Also, our room had soap but not shampoo, so if we hadn't had our own we would've had to make a quick stop-off at the local store.) There were also some very pretty gardens out front with visiting parrots.

The food was a great addition as well. Food on the road can be a mixed bag, so we were impressed to discover that our meals were easily on par with anything we've had in recent months in Melbourne. Fresh ingredients, well prepared... compliments to the chef.

Also, we really enjoyed the common area, which was really comfortable and homey with a nice wood fire. We were expecting to head right to our rooms after dinner, but ending up lingering for quite a few hours there talking to people and relaxing... something we rarely do and really appreciated. Everyone we spoke to was warm and friendly and it made our stay really memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the nicest little places to eat in all of the Otways. I try to stop in here especially to eat everytime I'm in Forrest

The food is A grade and the staff are very friendly.

Merci Monsieur!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

All the reviews about are spot on. Unique, quirky, homely, ever so friendly hosts who go above & beyond good customer service. Set amongst gorgeous forestry gardens and a place you can totally unwind & relax. I can't wait to go back.

My only down side was being winter time our room was very cold & only had one little electric fan heater which didn't work so if your not a fan of the cold be sure to request your room to be heated well but the electric blankets were cosy & warm. Oh & the home made soaps are just lovely as was the jam they served with breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Thank goodness there is a relaxed, unique and homey escape a few hours drive from Melbourne. The Forrest Guesthouse is a country oasis where we hung out, read and ate, and drank wine for a few days (had we been more inclined, we could instead have got out into the bush, and taken a long walk around the hills or down on the coast).

What I really love about this place is its uniqueness. Its not boutique in the way that weekend places tend to be these days. Its not gentrified like so many so that you can't distinguish it from a middle-class sterile and aspirational apartment or townhouse. Its old time comfortable.

I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to get out of town, relax, and take in the trees.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here.

A very relaxed place after the cities and really friendly people.

We enjoyed the food immensely, including the Sunday roast.

This is an ideal location for exploring deep in the Otways.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

If quirkyness, escape from the rat race is your thing then don't miss out The Forrest Country Guesthouse. Just 40 mins beautiful drive from the Great Ocean Road this is a hidden gem. We booked because we had booked on the Canoe Platypus Tour and are we glad we did. As for the Platypus Tour, well yes we did see Platypus in the wild from a distance whilst sitting in a canoe for 2hrs but its not value for money, so unless you really really want to watch a slight disturbance on lake surface just spend the evening with Gary, Peter and Wendy instead. Money would be better spent eating Wendy's fabulous food and enjoying their hospitality.The rooms are quirky and maybe a little tired but all this counts for nothing as the hospitality and food makes up for any other shortcommings you may think are there. We have never felt as welcome as we did there. Gary can be a bit "cheeky" but all adds to the fun. We were travelling Australia for 4 months and this is the only accommodation we will definately return to next year. Its location although slightly off the Great Ocean Road is ideal for discovering the Otway National Park.
We will be back so brace youselves Gary, Pete and Wendy

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forrest Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Guesthouse

Address: 16 Grant Street, Forrest, Victoria 3236, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Forrest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Forrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation & licensed cafe in the heart of the Otway Ranges' township of Forrest. Located in the centre of town, Forrest Guesthouse offers seven guest rooms, licensed cafe operating daily, and gorgeous gardens to relax in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forrest Guesthouse Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forrest Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.