We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portneal Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilrea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portneal Lodge
75 Bann Road, Kilrea, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for five days over Easter. The lodge was spotless and the staff could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was freshley cooked each morning along with cereal and a continental breakfast.
Hairdryers are available on request and fresh towels and bins emptied daily.

Thirty pound a night and six pound for breakfast was unbelievable and i cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 16 had a good view and was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I got married in Swatragh and held my reception at the manor house (owned by the same people) I live in England and had guests so we all stayed at portneal lodge. The location was perfect, rooms were immaculate, and the service was by far what made this place extra special. The staff went beyond the call of duty. One of the guests spilled tea in his shirt and they washed and ironed it for him! The bar was well stocked, and the craic was mighty! They really do care for their guests. For dinner we are at the manor (the staff drove us up and back again). All my guests have raved about it so much that we are planning another trip to stay in 2013! The location was great for a trip to the coast, as well as bushmills distillery and of course the giants causeway. Thank you to everyone at portneal and the manor for making our wedding weekend perfect. :) xx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were here to attend a wedding in the nearby Manor House & Golf Club and found the experience completely underwhelming. Which was a shame as the wedding venue itself was faultless. It's 2-star rated and a 2-star experience is exactly what you get! Amazingly, there were no mirrors in the room, and the plug points for hairdryers etc were located on the headboard of the bed! My girlfriend had to use the reflection of light off her Ipad screen to do her make-up prior to the wedding. One ironing board for 19 rooms, so you can imagine the pre-wedding scramble to iron shirts etc. Room was basic, not a great bed, no black out blinds, and had a cold shower- wonderful preparation for a wedding-not! There is nothing cosy about this place- I'm sure it would be fine for rowers, fishermen and less-discerning golfers for a weekend stay but as wedding guest accommodation it falls far short in terms of facilities and comfort than what would be acceptable. The only pluses were the friendly staff, nice breakfast, cheap bar and free wi-fi -all of which saved this from achieving a 1-star review.

Room Tip: Avoid room 13- it has the Lada of showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Portneal lodge is the best kept secret.. The rooms were bright and very clean, home from home with free wi fi which is great.. Bonus!!! It had its own bar in the longe with great views looking over the River Bann.. The staff were so pleasant and couldn't do enough for me.. The breakfast great selection ham, cheese ,fresh fruit, yoghurts cereals breads juice tea/coffe and a cooked breakfast.. But the best part of the stay an offer of £30 per room £6 for breakfast.. Ha ha excellent value.. Great stay :)))

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Modern buiding in good order with nice lounge/bar area adjacent to river. Reasonable size room. Limited but acceptable breakfast. Friendly service.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Was on a business trip through Ireland and my first night was spent here. I somehow expected a B&B, but this small hotel is excellent value. Nice room, free wifi, I was in business! Quiet night, excellent breakfast. Could not have wished for more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtownards
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

A weekend away. Great place. Ensuite, plasma TV. Tea and coffee making in room, with biscuits, Even had bottled water by the bed which was a great touch. Breakfast in the morning was cereal, fruit, toast, pan au chocolat and a cooked breakfast of bacon, egg, sausage, tomato. This was the highlight. I guess ideally suited for groups. Great view over the river from our room. Thanks to the staff - so welcoming and nothing a problem. They have a wee bar area and lounge. Very relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portneal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portneal Lodge

Address: 75 Bann Road, Kilrea, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Kilrea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Kilrea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portneal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Portneal Lodge to your Saves list