We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rewalsar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Save
You added Tourist Inn to your Saves list
Rewalsar 175001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Rewalsar B&B and Inns
Dharamsala, India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“A nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It's a nice clean budget hotel on the bank of the Lake Rewalsar overlooking the Buddhist monastery and the large statue of sitting Padmasambhava looking over the quiet beautiful small Rewalsar town.
The place is very good and the restaurant offers a decent food. The new building is better. We did not find the bugs as found by one of the reviewers 'Greghc'. Probably the problem has been addressed.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor in the new building towards the lake are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed one night and woke up at about 130 am with bed bugs crawling all over us :(. Night staff moved us into another room but we could not sleep after the disturbing experience. In the morning I asked for a discount on the room because of the bug problem and the manager refused to give me more than 10% off.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We reach Rewalsar by chance, it was suggested by the bus driver we were travelling from Delhi to Mandi...this time we thought to travel Himachal through public transport system and not by our car or taxi. We do not wanted to go Mandi directly, so we opt for Rewalsar first, then Mandi, and then sundernagar. We reach Rewalsar in a mini bus travelling through narrow roads, and some deep curves of the interior. First, and only thing which amazed me is the Padmasambhava 12m statue which is visible from far away...it seems as entire town is situated around the statue..it is build on the hillside above the rewalsar lake. We were there in the morning, later on we went to Naina Devi temple.......as there was no bus available at that time....we walk through more than half way.....and then we got a ride in a bus...if you wanted to go to the temple...then do check with the local bus service timings otherwise there could be a chance to get stuck somewhere in middle. Overall its a nice place to go for one night break if you are travelling in and around mandi, manalli, or sundernagar...and prefer it wont be a high season or any pilgrims gathering. As I said in the title only hotel to stay, so I believe what ever provided is good to go...rooms are ok....food is good...

Room Tip: only genuine hotel around if you want to stay in Rewalsar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed there only for one night and found it value for money. Rewalsar is a very tranquil place (at least when we visited). Hotel staff told us there are peak tourist crowds also during winters - please check before you move. The hotel itself is neat and clean. Bathrooms had geysers for hot water. Service is OK and staff is polite. They have a small restaurant. The location is good, overlooking the lake. From your rooms facing the lake you can see the statue of Lord Padamsambhava - which dominates the entire town. Apart from the monsatery the town also has a temple and a gurudwara. The one night stay we had was a very refereshing stop on our way to Manali from Delhi.

Room Tip: you can ask for a room with windows facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This summer (june2012) we had been to Kullu-Manali (from Delhi) and enroute we planned a night stay at Rewalsar due to the tourist value it had initself. Although reaching this small little town was a bit trecherous, lots of snaky curly one vehicle wide road turns made almost all of us nauseatic in our cars but upon reaching the destination to ourselves we found this place little better than what we had in our minds. At first the location itself is nice place to be in terms of tourist attaction value, this is a very small town but had a very good Monastery and a Gurudwara (religious place for Sikhs). And in the heart of it has a small lake with lot of fish in it, rather full of fish.
The hotel, which is HPDTC owned and maintained guest house is surprisingly decent enough to be at such a secluded place. (specially when you compare their properties at other known places like Manali etc.) The rooms are decent with clean linen & toilets. (we stayed in DBR Economy rooms) The food served within the guest house is also decent and moderately priced (not very costly).
I would definately recommend this stay if one plans to visit Rewalsar and stay there for not more than 2 nights. You can even book online at http://hptdc.nic.in/custsw/viewuser8.asp

Room Tip: best is to ask for front facing rooms on 1st floor in the new block. It offer better view of the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stopped at Rewalsar on way to Gushaini & since this was the only option available booked the Deluxe room online & what a great decision it turned out to be. This appears to be the only family hotel at Rewalsar with the other being mostly budget acco. It gets filled up real fast & advance booking is recommended atleast in the season time.
Rewalsar is a quaint place with lots of character & lies to the left of Mandi & Sundernagar. The roads are comfortable & the place is a lovely night halt in case you dont prefer the long haul to Manali.
The super deluxe rooms are situated in a seperate building & have a lovely view. As the hotel is located on a small hillock it has a complete view of the town. It has a dedicated parking which is a big plus point. The room is large & has a comfortable bed & has a seperate seating arrangement. It is neat & clean & is very well maintained. The bathroom too was fairly large & convinient. Service & food was typical of Himachal Tourism, neither excellent nor bad. Had a comfortable stay at a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is one of the best hotels in Himachal Pradesh, a really majestic stay for a meager price. This place is not very often on the list of a casual traveler, but this is a great place to visit. It has the quintessential serene ambiance, refreshing air, and scenic beauty...a great place for couples who crave for some peaceful moments of solitude for themselves. The Padmasambhaba statue and the lake in-front of it from the main attractions...there is also atemple and a gurdawara. The lake contains numerous large fishes that are fed by the Buddhist monks on a regular basis...its a real treat to watch so many large fish coming to the surface of the water to nibble at the food. The rooms are large, have excellent view of the statue and the lake from balcony, bathrooms are large and very well maintained. The bed and linen quality are excellent. The resturant is great with fresh food at a very reasonable cost. This is the place for those who have already visited Shimla for many previous occasions and thus wants a new refreshing place for a short tour. This is the best hotel around at a very low price.....

Room Tip: the rooms of the second small building are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Address: Rewalsar 175001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Rewalsar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rewalsar
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.