We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy check out counter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 29, Bandar Penawar, Kota Tinggi 81900, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lousy check out counter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in junior suite last June.
It was recently renovated so the room condition is ok even though the furniture and fittings looks cheap.
The things we like the most is the pool and private beach.Hotel food (breakdfast buffet and inroom service) is so so and expensive.
In room TV channel is limited.
Had a bad experience during check out time when they want to charge us RM 40 for pool towel card that gone missing. FYI, we dont even use the pool towel since we bring our own towel for hygiene reason!
After arguing with the manager and even offering her to check our car for any missing towel, she finally decided to waive off the RM 40 out of RM900 bill amount.
When the credit card bill came, apparently the rerort charged us twice and we still have not concluded the issue till now with the credit card company.
So beware, just say no to the towel card. It's a nuisance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulai D, Marketing Communications Officer at Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear JOC005,

We would like to thank to you for choosing Pulai Desaru Beach Resort & Spa as your getaway destination. We feel proud that you and your family enjoyed the stay at our resort. We also would like to thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Pulai Desaru. Your opinion and comments, positive or negative are very valuable to us and we are not taking your feedback lightly as it permit to us to constantly improve our services.

For your information, the purpose that the towel card system was implemented is to ensure that all guests will return the towel taken at the towel counter and to get the towel card back before leaving the pool area. This is to avoid loss or misunderstanding due to the lost of pool towel during the guest’s stay. Besides, it is guest’s responsibilities to ensure every card given to be return back during the check out.

Regarding the matter of your credit card being charged twice for the towel card, can you please provide us with the details to sec.marcomm@pulaidesaru.com for us to check on it and do accordingly if our side accidentally charges you with the wrong amount.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your useful and constructive comments. We look forward to welcoming you here again.

Best Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    117
    154
    65
    35
See reviews for
204
68
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived a few hours before check in, and filled up a form on the spot so that we would not need to fill it up upon check in at 3pm. There was a female receptionist there whom we had posted some enquiries, and she seemed confused and blur and couldn't seem to comprehend what we were saying. Same goes to the male receptionist who was processing our forms. Since we had free time, we decided to drive around to the Fruit Farm and Crocodile Farm. Luck was certainly not on our side that day, for we went over a pothole and our car tyres ran out of air. Decided to take a drive back to Singapore as we figured the tyres wouldn't hold for the entire trip. By the time we got back from Singapore to the hotel, it was already 8.30pm. Sad to say, we were given a room on the ground floor and 2 single beds for a couple. Room was very big and clean but basic stuff like toothbrushes were missing. No complimentary wifi was provided, quite a disappointment for the price we paid for the room. On the flip side, we liked the room for the fact that the swimming pool was just right outside and the beach not too far away.

Breakfast the next morning was so so, the spread wasn't entirely delicious nor big.

May consider staying here again, for 1 night instead of 2.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulai D, Marketing Communications Officer at Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Tiff W,

We would like to thank to you for choosing Pulai Desaru Beach Resort & Spa as your getaway destination. We feel proud that you enjoyed the stay at our resort. We also would like to thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Pulai Desaru. Your opinion and comments, positive or negative are very valuable to us and we are not taking your feedback lightly as it permit to us to constantly improve our services.

Being our valued guests, we are very disappointed that we have failed to live up to your expectations at our establishment. We are aware that this has caused much frustration and disappointment to you; therefore, we once again would like to humbly apologize.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your useful and constructive comments. We look forward to welcoming you here again.

Best Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Service very good....

Room very clean!!!!

What I like is the sea view from my room.we really enjoy and have fun!

Only one things-they need to improve their food!not tasty at all and not enough food when we ate BBQ buffet.feel so disappointed.hope they will improve it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulai D, Marketing Communications Officer at Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Evelyn0108,

We would like to thank to you for choosing Pulai Desaru Beach Resort & Spa as your getaway destination. We feel proud that you enjoyed the stay at our resort. We also would like to thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Pulai Desaru. Your opinion and comments, positive or negative are very valuable to us and we are not taking your feedback lightly as it permit to us to constantly improve our services.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your useful and constructive comments. We look forward to welcoming you here again.

Best Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe triple room. The room was quite spacious. cleanliness was fine but the bathroom was a bit dated. It could do with some renovation. Staff could benefit from some "how to be pleasant to guests" training. A little smile makes a difference.
Having said that, my kids quite enjoyed the pool area and didn't want to come back.
Breakfast was ok. I found the selection a bit lacking in variety and international flavour.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulai D, Marketing Communications Officer at Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Wanderlust747,

We would like to thank to you for choosing Pulai Desaru Beach Resort & Spa as your getaway destination. We feel proud that you and your family enjoyed the stay at our resort. We also would like to thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Pulai Desaru. Your opinion and comments, positive or negative are very valuable to us and we are not taking your feedback lightly as it permit to us to constantly improve our services.

For your information, we are still constantly undergone a few renovations on our room units. We are hoping that you can stay with us throughout the year and enjoy our fully refurbish rooms in the future.

We look forward to improve our services and food quality and provide the best to our beloved guest.

In the meantime, we remain with kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A 2D1N getaway with friends. Was really disappointed with the resort.
Nothing was great about this hotel other than their huge rooms. Checked in to a huge and dirty room. There was a really bad smell in the mini fridge and was occupied by dead ants. Mini bar counter top was dirty and sticky. Balcony was dirty and with missing tables and chairs.
Be prepared to spend on food as there's not much choices, if you are not driving. We spent about SGD100 per pax on food for 2D1N. Transport out to the seafood place requires RM150.
I wouldnt choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulai D, Marketing Communications Officer at Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Gummy39,

We would like to thank to you for choosing Pulai Desaru Beach Resort & Spa as your getaway destination. We feel proud that you and your family enjoyed the stay at our resort. We also would like to thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Pulai Desaru. Your opinion and comments, positive or negative are very valuable to us and we are not taking your feedback lightly as it permit to us to constantly improve our services.

Being our valued guests, we are very disappointed that we have failed to live up to your expectations at our establishment. We are aware that this has caused much frustration and disappointment to you; therefore, we once again would like to humbly apologize.

We already forward this issue to the higher management and we will constantly check on the mentioned area during cleaning time.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your useful and constructive comments. We look forward to welcoming you here again.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is possibly the best resort you can find in Desaru. We had a pleasant surprise during our first visit where our room was upgraded from deluxe to loft!!!!
It is clean and staff are friendly. Great pool, nice gym and table tennis tables. Tennis courts are available too but with monkeys roaming around though.
Food is not fantastic but is good enough.
The spa and massage is always full ... so need to book in advance.
Arranged transport is always punctual. Had visited this resort twice this year.
Will recommend this resort to anyone visiting desaru. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulai D, Marketing Communications Officer at Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear IsabelSophie,

We would like to thank to you for choosing Pulai Desaru Beach Resort & Spa as your getaway destination. We feel proud that you enjoyed the stay at our resort. We also would like to thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Pulai Desaru. Your opinion and comments, positive or negative are very valuable to us and we are not taking your feedback lightly as it permit to us to constantly improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you here again.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited this place around 5 years ago, when the rooms were DIRE (dirty, holes in front doors etc). I was pleased this time to see huge improvements in certain areas of the hotel.

WE chose this place on a bank holiday weekend because we were very keen to escape Singapore, and find some space.
At 700ringits per night - it certainly wasn't good value, but overall it was a nice trip away from singapore.

The drive over the new E22 bridge was so easy. 1.5 hours door to door. 8.60 ringits each way on the E22 toll. It was good to see wide open spaces, albeit all covered with millions of palm trees. I packed a cool bag with drinks and lots of snacks, beers and wine as I had heard about the bad food reviews. We arrived very early (09:30) and couldn't get the room keys till 2pm. This was fine, we used the hotel pool, which I thought was fab, and the free tennis court, which is in terrible condition, but its free. Take your own racquets and balls.

The beach is nice, course sand, but fairly clean. The sea was warm but a little rough for us, so we just paddled. The pool, we loved. Great temperature and large enough to keep the kids one side and the adults the other. Yes the pool towel system sucks, but at least no one leaves towels on the beds, thereby reserving the beds.

The biggest pain here is no poolside eating/drinking or service. Hence, take your own drinks and snacks etc. There is a small store inside but its 10RM, for large water and 7 for cans of soft drinks. Ice-creams are reasonable. Bu the lack of poolside service really lets you know you
are not in Thailand. If they could introduce this it would be much nicer, and have more of a resort feel. As it is now, it just feels cheap.

The grounds I thought were nice, lots of grassy areas and spaces for kids to kick balls about, or use the football goals provided. A few hammocks are around, but not much in the way of loungers on the beach.

The loft room or junior suite (as it is on the website) was very spacious, but not modernised as most of the rooms are. Surprise surprise we usually end up with the dodgy rooms !! . This time was no exception.

The aircon was efficient though, and in general, apart form the murky green decor and dull old brown furniture, was just OK. However there was no water in the whole room until maintenance arrived and turned it on from outside, and the extra bed we paid for had to be requested, despite reception and the booking form being made aware previously. Slack reception.

Decent toiletries provided, 3 bottles of water, and an empty fridge - great for storing our beers and wine. The balcony, although sea facing with a nice view was old and dirty, with crappy furniture - again - part of the non-renovated room.

Food was diabolical. We ate the free breakfast ( toast, croissants and fruit because you cant really go wrong with them) only because we were hungry. Coffee and tea were of the "can stand your teaspoon in it" variety. However, we did walk along the beach ( to the left) to the Lotus resort. The food here was MUCH better, cheaper, and you could sit beachfront and eat or drink. The food and drink places in the Pulai Desaru hotel are all only in the hotel, nothing outside, beachside or poolside.

The rest of the hotel is nice (renovated). Pooltable (cheap) and table tennis (free) kept the kids occupied. Its all modern and clean too. The spa, was just OK. Only 2 therapists i think so you have to book as soon as you arrive. The massage we had was OK, but it really irritates me when you pay for an hour and get 50 minutes. Cheapskates !!! Plus they take your money as son as you walk in - not after your treatment.

I would return but :
a) take my own snacks and drinks again (and more of them)
b) confirm a renovated room and not an old one.
c) eat my meals at the lotus next door.

and if i could get the above at half what I just paid, I would be reasonably happy. It is a nice break from Singapore - that can't be argued with.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulai D, Marketing Communications Officer at Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Livvylou,

We would like to thank to you for choosing Pulai Desaru Beach Resort & Spa as your getaway destination. We feel proud that you and your family enjoyed the stay at our resort. We also would like to thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Pulai Desaru. Your opinion and comments, positive or negative are very valuable to us and we are not taking your feedback lightly as it permit to us to constantly improve our services.

For your information, we are still constantly undergone a few renovations on our room units. We are hoping that you can stay with us throughout the year and enjoy our fully refurbish rooms in the future. Besides, our Beach Bar will be fully opened by February 2013 which situated at the poolside, near to the beach with aim to serve best the guests who enjoy having meal at the seaside and at the poolside. We look forward to your next visit to enjoy the Beach Bar facilities.

Regarding your experience at the Pulai Spa, we will look thoroughly into this matter and thank you so much for letting us know. We may propose this to the higher management to see if they would reconsider the payment time.

In the meantime, we remain with kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa

Address: P.O Box 29, Bandar Penawar, Kota Tinggi 81900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Kota Tinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulai Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi
Pulai Desaru Beach Johor
Pulai Desaru Beach Hotel Johor
Pulai Desaru Beach Resort And Spa Kota Tinggi, Malaysia - Johor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.