We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work hard - Play hard.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   14 Via De Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Work hard - Play hard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort for business. We actually arrived late in the afternoon on Christmas Day. Most of the surrounding restuarants were closed and we decided to have dinner at Riptides. The food was so good we had lunch the next day and our working dinner the final night as well. it was freezng cold and threatening rain but we made a mad dash to try the hot tub out beacuse it looked so inviting! It was very clean and there were plenty of clean towels. We were so pleased with our stay that we decided to hold an upcoming retirement party for one of our long term employees at the facilities here. We will be hosting 40+ people and look forward to being there again.

Room Tip: I prefer the view of the Gulf front suites however the Bayside has beautiful views too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear DebraFosterLynch,

Great that we had the opportunity to spend the holidays with you! Sorry you had to work!

We appreciate your wonderful comments on the hotel and restaurant. Of course, the winter temperatures are not as inviting as the hotel itself, however, you find a happy medium when you are eating good food that is satisfying.

Actually, it sounds pretty good to me...breakfast, lunch and dinner at Riptides with a hot tub on the side.

Glad your returning...best wishes on the retirement party!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    229
    65
    27
    8
See reviews for
452
270
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 1 night as we were heading from Miami to New Orleans. Our travel agent in Sydney Australia suggested this place. If I had known, I would have asked to stay at least a few more nights so we could relax and walk along the beautiful beach despite the cold weather. Loved the fact that we got Free Parking after 99% of other USA Hotels charging an expensive daily rate. Hotel Foyer wasn't as warm as other Hotels, it felt very commercial almost like a Medical Centre, however we weren't too fussed. Window in the room was large enough for us to have nice sun set views. Room was nice and large which is very comfortable. Having the choice of soft or firm pillow in our own room was a good surprise. Pool looked fantastic as we checked out and left. We weren't aware that we had to pay for a Gate Entry to this area as we hadn't changed any USD cash since we landed in LA on 23 December 2012, as we were having our month holiday in USA and had been using credit cards everywhere we went.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear TheRealBossLady,

Great news for passing through!

Yes, that's exactly what we want...for you to want to stay longer...enjoy the beautiful beach and relax!

Glad you enjoyed some of our hotel standards that come complimentary...parking and choice of pillows. Our hotel lobby decor leans toward a contemporary look with a large window leading your eyes to the Lazy River, our swimming pool that you can float on in an innertube...the weather is a little on the chilly side, but there are two hot tubs to counter the colder temperatures

As for entering Pensacola Beach, there is a $1 toll...this is to help maintain the beach and roads. Every day you will see the island workers policing the area for trash and litter.

Thank You!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We made specific requests with our reservations and found they were honored upon our arrival. The desk staff was friendly, efficient and professional. The facility and grounds were very clean and well maintained with excellent access to the beautiful beach. Unfortunately, an open top dumpster at the neighboring hotel is in plain view from the gulf side balconies.
We appreciated the buffet breakfast although a bit pricey. Our one disappointing experience was finding our rooms had not been serviced upon returning from a day sightseeing. We did not make our rooms available until 11 am which may have contributed to the problem. The desk staff was informed along with our request to have clean towels and toiletries which we received promptly. We enjoyed our visit and wished our schedule had permitted a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Rustco,

Thank you for your kind comments!

When we can honor requests, we certainly will! Room types are assigned by reservation and if special requests are made we accomodate if available. Glad you enjoyed the hotel and our staff.

We apologize in the delay of getting your room serviced...glad we made up for it later. We will use this as a training point to improve upon.

We appreciate you!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding in the area. The location is outstanding with great views and walk out right onto the beach. The front desk service was great and the room was very clean. Marie at the front desk was particularly help full in providing area information and assisting with a special request. I am in the hospitality business and I was very impressed with the fact that even though we stayed in January and the temperatures where cold the staff was very diligent about getting the expansive out door pool area ready each morning, unstacking all of the lounge chairs and cleaning the entire pool area along with the multiple hot tubs. I was glad to see after all the work they put in that a few brave guest did use the pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear WoburnGM,

I'm glad you found the facilities and staff impressing despite the January temperatures. During the cloudy days, the sun may peek out, if only for a moment or two, but we must be ready just in case it turns out to be a gorgeous day!

Marie is indeed very helpful with information and special requests, she is also our Social Media Coordinator, I will cheer her per your compliments.

We do our best to make it inviting...no matter rain or shine!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Was super excited to stay at this hotel with my family over the holidays while visiting family. Originally the reservation process was very easy and quick and seemed that we were in for a flawless stay. The day of checkin I called to verify my reservations for my 2 rooms and all was correct. Then came check-in. Stood in line for 37 minutes with only 1 person ahead of me. Finally got checked in only to lug kids and a ton of luggage up to our rooms to find incorrect room types and the rooms weren't adjoining . Called the front desk only to be told that "sorry there's nothing we can do". This meant that our weekend getaway now would be spent in seperate rooms so that our teens wouldn't be unsupervised. We had also requested gulf side rooms and that didn't happen either. We were so excited for the pool as we were told it was heated (main reason we booked here) only to find that the one pictured is not. After a disappointing evening we went out and had some dining and shopping at local shops and the observation wheel. We then returned to our rooms to be kept awake by a drunk cursing so loudly in the room next door that the tv couldn't drown him out. After a long night we went down for breakfast and enjoyed a half stocked buffet. Kids LOVED it and did I until I got a bill!!!! 58.00!!!!!! Keep in mind this was supposed to be included. Breakfast managers solution was to pay it then take it up with management later in the week when they return. Absolutely irritated I went and got my stuff and left. I did in fact email the GM but didn't hear back until 6 days after my departure and he had someone else contact me. I will be posting on every site I can to warn about this property and what a ripoff it is. Also have filed complaints with the brand. Service recovery should always be #1. Mistakes happen irs how we handle them that matters.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear traveltheworldn 10,

We are very sorry for your disappointment! We also expect a flawless guest experience for you.

Normally, all room requests are handled with priority and are awarded if available. It is understood that a miscommunication had resulted and for that we are sincerely apologetic. We have one adjoining room per floor, so the possibility of them not being available is greater.

As for the breakfast coupon, you are correct, this could have been handled better at the restaurant without any further billing issues.

There is no excuse for the delay in response to your complaint...by now the guest service recovery has been processed. Though we can't undo what has been done, we are confident that these issues will not be repeated.

For further assistance with this matter and future reservations you may contact Christina Dawson, Front Office Manager, (850) 932-5331 or email: christina@innisfree.com

Please give us another opportunity to give you and your family a fabulous weekend getaway!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My dad, uncle two younger cousins and I spent 2 days at the holiday inn resort, it was nothing but a wonderful stay. The food was great, the staff was amazing and there was stuff for all of us to do. My cousins are 13 and 16, I am 22 and my dad and uncle are 50 +, so I can honestly say this was great for all ages.

Room Tip: Call or book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear ARParliament,

No, you're amazing! So glad you had a GREAT stay!

Honesty is the best policy..."great for all ages" sums us up just fine!

Thanks for the sincere comments!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumney, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was a great bargain! The rate was great and the hotel was right on the beach. I would love to come back there in the summer when it was warm enough to swim in their very elaborate outdoor pool with the lazy river. The indoor pool was nice though. I wish the restaurant had been a bit more upscale but overall it was perfect for us because we have a kid. I highly recommend this hotel to families with children who want to go to Pensacola!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Sasslynn,

Yes indeed! The rates are bargains this time of year. If you've never been to the beach, great time to see if you like it.

You are right, the weather is on the cooler side, therefore the outside pool, Lazy River, is a bit chilly...not heated...but we have two HOT TUBS to make up for it!

Absolutely come back to us!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola Beach
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#4 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Portofino Island Resort & Spa
Portofino Island Resort & Spa
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach

Address: 14 Via De Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort on Pensacola Beach, Florida, will make you feel happy from the moment you set your flip-flopped foot inside our door. We’re here for you, offering the amenities you need to plan the perfect vacation – or host the best business meeting. From your private balcony or the terrace of our ample 10,000 square foot event space, take in dazzling views of the sparkling waters and shimmering sands of Pensacola Beach – recently named No. 5 of all U.S. beaches by TripAdvisor. Its natural beauty is offset by our bright, modern lobby and stylish, comfortable guest rooms – including colorful Kids’ Suites designed with your family in mind. We’re all about fun here at the Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach hotel, and you’ll feel it from the front desk to the pool deck. Our pool is the best on the beach, with cascading waterfalls and a 250-foot seasonally heated Lazy River. There’s no reason to leave the resort, with Riptides Sports Grill and Beachfront Tiki Bar serving up delicious dining and crafty cocktails seven days a week. If you do decide to get out, we’re within walking distance of the beach’s best restaurants, nightlife and activities including charter fishing, paddle boarding, sailing, kayaking and biking. We’re also a quick drive to regional attractions such as the National Naval Aviation Museum, Fort Pickens, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Historic Downtown Pensacola, Pensacola Lighthouse, Blue Wahoos Baseball Stadium, Veterans Memorial Park and the Saenger Theatre. No matter what you like to do, we can point you in the right direction. When you start your day with a smile on your face, there’s no telling where it might take you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel Pensacola Beach
Beachside Resort Pensacola
Beachside Hotel Pensacola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.