We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View and Lots to Do!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   14 Via Deluna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Pensacola Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely View and Lots to Do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was a great bargain! The rate was great and the hotel was right on the beach. I would love to come back there in the summer when it was warm enough to swim in their very elaborate outdoor pool with the lazy river. The indoor pool was nice though. I wish the restaurant had been a bit more upscale but overall it was perfect for us because we have a kid. I highly recommend this hotel to families with children who want to go to Pensacola!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Sasslynn,

Yes indeed! The rates are bargains this time of year. If you've never been to the beach, great time to see if you like it.

You are right, the weather is on the cooler side, therefore the outside pool, Lazy River, is a bit chilly...not heated...but we have two HOT TUBS to make up for it!

Absolutely come back to us!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    159
    49
    19
    3
See reviews for
313
197
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room, the common areas, and the beach were outstanding. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. Some beach hotels feel they don't have to deliver, because, after all...they're at the beach! But the pride in the maintenance of this property is obvious.

We ate lunch in the restaurant twice, and felt the food quality was above average. Restaurant pricing seemed reasonable for what you might expect at a beach "resort." Actually, I think I had a 'Cuban Sandwich' both times, so it must have been OK. Not recommended for families on a budget, though.

We had two minor problems:

Service in the restaurant was a little sketchy. Maybe they were understaffed...but maybe they were just sketchy. Somewhat stiff, hurried, and not particularly friendly. I thought things might improve for the second lunch, but it was the same. Food was good, though.

On the first day (we left the hotel early and left our 'Make Up Room' sign out), our room was not cleaned until approximately 4:30 PM. On our second day, when the room had not been cleaned by 4 PM, we specifically asked at the front desk that it be cleaned. By 7 PM, it had still not been cleaned. A polite reminder to the front desk quickly resulted in an adjustment that accommodated us properly. But, it would have been better to have the room cleaned promptly.

In short, a surprisingly excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear looper45,

We do take pride in our facilities and service...we appreciate that you noticed!

We apologize for the less than friendly service in the restaurant...we certainly want our waitstaff to be as good as our food.

Unfortunately, reminders to have your room serviced does happen but is not our policy...we will be more prompt!

Thanks for staying with us!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is a beautiful property and the building is very colorful. The rooms were nice and comfy. The view from the balcony was beautiful and you could hear the waves (and wind!).The biggest drawback was that the DVD play did not have a remote, which turned out to be a problem in our room. Also I saw on the comforter a red lipstick like stain which indicated that it was not washed, and that kinda ooged me out. I would advise skipping eating at the café it is a bit on the pricy side and service is not that great. I hope to come back in the summer and enjoy the beach (it was too cold during our stay to enjoy the outside amenities).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Cordelia L,

We hope to see you in the summer too! Temperatures during the winter months in NW Florida are not always 70+, however the cool days don't last. It is a beautiful beach no matter what temperature!

The DVD players do not have their own remotes and neither do we have a universal remote at this time.

We normally retire any bedding that has stains...and if our guests are not satisfied we will immediately replace upon request.

The Riptides Bar and Grill is very competitive with all beach restaurants and the servings are generous.

Make plans early in the year for a summer reservation...we fill up fast!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Family vacation- Pros-
Very nice decor, comfy beds, etc. on beach , excellent views.

Cons- Short on waitstaff - Christmas Eve -am for breakfast. Server was nice but admitted she was helping from another area.

We had problems w / teens being very loud in hall- running, yelling, etc. my husband called front desk, then talked to the rude neighbors himself. Resort and loud teens don't coexist in my mind. For this reason alone,we were very irritated.

Toilet in bathroom overflowed. Ugh.....
A maintenance staff member did appear to help - we were already on our way to check out .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear travelbear1999,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.

There was a high school basketball team in the hotel during your stay. The coach and players were very apologetic and behaved better on their last night.

We try to stay ahead of and control noise when it is heard or reported as soon as possible. We appreciate you contacting the front desk to bring it to our attention.

The toilet has been serviced and is working well.

A couple groups were in for breakfast which made the usual staffing responsibilities a little stretched.

We certainly hope you come back to visit the area and stay with us again!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, OK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We loved this property in the fall with great temperatures! Great pool is a lazy river. Two hot tubs. GAme area outside for families....ping pong and other games. Inside game room for kids. Indoor pool is nice too. Beachfront can't be beat. Restaurant is good but pricey. We went elsewhere for dinner. There is a coffeeshop like a "Starbucks" but their own and its great with coffees, teas, pastries and snacks. I think you can order off the menu when the restaurant is open. Also the room was clean. Would have liked a tub but the shower was huge, just too hard for little children. Hotel overall is excellent whether for couples or families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear SabrinaBri,

We appreciate your details about the hotel and amenities. You are right, the fall is a great time to come...not as crowded in the Lazy River compared to the summer...practically all to yourself.

Rule of thumb for our hotel, a two queen bed room has a tub, a king bed has a pullout sofa and a shower.

Thank you!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a beautiful facility. We were just passing through this time but will choose this place to return to. There are lots of things to do that are walking distance and of course, the beautiful white sand beach. There are few places on earth that have sand like this beach. The pool is really nice and a great layout for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: The gulf view rooms are worth the extra, the location is great. Very nice layout, nice pool and just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Gaylene S,

We are very happy to hear you were pleased with our hotel, the Holiday Inn Resort and Pensacola Beach...better for us for you to have passed through than pass by!

This is the off-season for our beach community, the temperature is warm while the sun is shining but cool in the shade or on cloudy days. The area restaurants are not as crowded but definitely serves the same great food.

Looking forward to your return!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the moment I stepped into the lobby, I knew I was going to enjoy the stay!! Great location with a fantastic view of the Gulf as well as easy beach access through the amazing pool area. I wish I could stay longer to enjoy all the nearby food establishments that so many of the guests were so eager to recommend. A special thanks to Milla at the Front Desk for her assistance with all aspects of my stay. She was the shinning example of "service with a smile" and the Resort is blessed to have her on the front line to represent their establishment. I will most certainly stay at this location every chance I am this area!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnisfreeMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear RoadTech32,

So, Nilla had you at "Hello"...and the hotel is pretty good too! It is always refreshing to hear great comments about our staff, especially when they get caught doing it right!

We feel confident the hotel will deliver as promised...how could it not, being so close to the water and everything else on the island.

Yes, we are blessed, twice! First, to have guests come through and repeat their sentiments that encourage others to visit; second, to have Nilla as a part of our team, sharing her great personality and sincerity without hesitation and working with PASSION, JOY and DELIGHT!

Come back soon!

Mary Schoenhoff
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front

Address: 14 Via Deluna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront rooms enjoy panoramic views of emerald green waters of the Gulf of Mexico and 52 miles of sugar white sand. We have the best pool on Pensacola Beach with a 250 foot lazy river, cascading waterfall & 2 hot tubs. Other amenities include Riptides Sports Grill & beachfront Tiki bar, beach view fitness center, and family suites. Seasonally we offer ‘Dive Inn’ evening movies, supervised children’s activities, mermaids and pirates. Additionally we have some of the very best views on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel Pensacola Beach
Beachside Resort Pensacola
Beachside Hotel Pensacola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.