We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local, Pet Friendly, Old School Beach Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Inn

Save Saved
You added Paradise Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Inn
21 Via de Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Pensacola Beach
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Local, Pet Friendly, Old School Beach Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Paradise Inn is a favourite among local Pensacolians on any day or night of the week. It's laid back feel on the sound side of the Gulf of Mexico is that of the older style hotels and bars along the Florida Gulf Coast.

The hotel itself is nothing overly special like many of the newer resort style locales on Pensacola Beach. But this location is more laid back and has much more local flare than any of the big name resorts on the beach can offer.

The rooms are a bit small but hey, you're at the beach to enjoy the sights and sounds, not the TV in your room. The beds are comfortable and has modern flat screen TV's, fridges and microwaves in each room which makes it nice to keep drinks cool and to heat up some left overs from the great restaurants near the hotel.

The hotel is pet friendly (some rooms are not) and they supply near the water supplies to clean up after your pets as well. There is always a cast of four legged guests at the Paradise and all the owners we saw did a nice job of keeping their pets leashed and picked up after.

Their gumbo (when available) is actually pretty darn good at the bar/restaurant area out back behind the hotel where all the action takes place. This is the biggest draw of the Paradise especially with locals. There is typically a live band playing on the nights and weekends so yes, it can be a little loud if you are in a room closer to that area of the property.

All-in-all this is great old school beach hotel with lots of local flare and reasons to check it out and make this a regular spot when you are visiting Pensacola Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the bar area can be pretty loud when they have a band playing. Avoid those if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    20
    12
    27
See reviews for
38
54
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I'm not sure what happened with the very lengthy review I posted about this hotel earlier, so I will try again and save it just in case.

Have been here twice in summer 2013: once to hang out at the bar and check out the place and once as a motel guest.

This is an older motel on the BAY side with a small strip of white sand beach where you can sit in a chair with your dog, look over the edge into the water and listen to the music from the bandstand while enjoying a cold beverage.

The good: narrow strip of white sand beach borders the bay and there is a dock close by. You can rent kayaks here or bring your own and launch into the bay. Dog-friendly sandy strip and dog-friendly rooms. Room was clean and brightly decorated with beachy themed prints and colors. Non-smoking rooms. Great live music bandstand and lots of picnic tables where you can listen to the music. Decent beach bar where many locals hang out. Restaurant with average bar fare. You can get it to go and sit in the sand or take it to your room. After reporting a problem with noise, a Hotel staff member talked to guests in adjoining room after 3 nights of NO sleep, we think, because it got better and this staff member was a very nice man who resembled Santa Claus. Firework noise not all that bad. Band noise not bad at all from the pool rooms facing the highway. (rooms facing the bar and band area frequently have noise complaints if you read other reviews). Having a refrigerator and microwave was great. Tile floor is great to keep you cool. Bring old towels as we did so you have a place to wipe off sandy/wet paws and feet at the door. Next time we would bring a broom to sweep up sand.

The bad: Many who were not guests of the motel parked in the parking lot and came to party and listen to the band. 4th July weekend was very crowded and noisy. Many of the hotel guests were up partying by 9am with doors open as if it were spring break and they ranged in age from 20 somethings to 50-60's. (if you have ever heard the joke about the FL panhandle being the redneck Riviera, then this was a PRIME example.) Many smokers outside their rooms with their doors open. When it rained cigarette smoke filters into the room. People (group of about 4 young adults) in adjoining room partied loudly (yelling, screaming, blenders, banging, laughing, dropping stuff, loud bangs, swearing) until after 3 a.m. and began again early in the morning. This was awful for our two dogs to deal with as well as us. We had to play background ocean soundtrack to get any peace and sleep at all. After a couple of nights with no sleep we reported it although we feared retaliation as we were both end rooms. One drunk guest fell down stairs and there was blood on the stairs and sidewalk that we had to direct our dogs around to leave our end of the 2nd story. Another guest let their dog run without a leash (their room door was open) and it attacked one of our small dogs and drew blood from her ear out near the pool as we were taking them on walk. The bar has signs stating no dogs allowed and the bartenders told us in advance no dogs at the picnic tables either, however we saw people at the tables on both sides of the bar with their dogs (this went on all 4 days) and someone else tied their dog up in the sand in the picnic table area and left it there alone amid guests. Either have rules about the dogs or don't but don't enforce them for some and not for others. There are visible signs saying "no dogs". Some people were letting their dogs do a deuce in the sand strip (its not only dog-friendly, there are picnic tables and places to play) and did not pick up after them. Lazy pet owners! If you are too good to pick up after your dog, you aren't good enough to have a dog. Also, because it was the 4th of July holiday, guests were shooting fireworks off in the parking lot right there with guest parking. There was a lot of fireworks trash near our pickup truck, especially near the stand alone units where people did a lot of outside partying. The last odd thing which was not a big deal for us but could be for some, there is no sink in the bathroom...the sink is out in the main room and is one of those small camper style sinks. We do not use room service and we did not use the pool.

Final verdict: great potential and thank God dog-friendly, but we would not stay here again on a big partying weekend like 4th of July. Too many out of control guests with no consideration of others and too much of a "spring break" atmosphere. We saw other grousing "families" who did not expect this kind of atmosphere around their children for that kind of nightly rate. I'm not sure how some of those partiers afforded the rates, but they must have pooled their money together.

Would we stay here again during an off-time or during the week with our pups? Absolutely.

We just had an awful experience.

P.S. Dog owners be sure you research where the "dog-friendly beaches" are ahead of time. As of summer 2013 they were only open for dogs in the early morning.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid some of the noise, request a room away from the band and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My family & I enjoyed the stay. It is an older motel, but it a place that is well maintained. It is a nice piece of old Florida. They have a great staff, & excellent prices. The rooms are very spacious especially for the time period. It is very unique & very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Wonderful staff, great location, & priced affordable. We feel like this is a real "find" that will be a new "hideaway." Small room w refrigerator & microwave, & ceramic floor tiles. We were here in the "off season", & things were slow. Beaches are a very short walk. Wonderful place, as long as you are content with older (but clean) motels.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We love paradise inn and all those that work there!We stay here every time we come to Fl now! It is the best pet friendly place I have ever stayed and the staff is super friendly. I have enjoyed every stay that I've had there & am already planning my next stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is not a dog friendly hotel, they just like the additional dollars they can charge. You can't take your dog to the picnic tables on the sand in the area to the back of the hotel. The primary reason I took the time to write a review is I had to pre pay the dog fees then we added a second room while we had a larger group and the dogs moved rooms so we realized we had paid double, if you will, on the dog fees - they would not entertain a refund on the dog fee for the day the dogs had not been in the room. So since I am on a roll here I might as well mention their is nothing VILLA about the villa, its just a normal room with a trundle bed. Also, a breaker tripped and we were with half the power to the room for an hour, in the second half of a good game. If you get it cheap and plan to be drunk most of the time then go for it - otherwise stay in a real hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInn21, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Paradise. We appreciate and value your feedback.
I apologize that you did not perceive Paradise as being pet-friendly, but perhaps I can help change your perspective by filling you in on our simple pet policy.
Paradise does accept pets. There is no weight-restriction, only a small fee ($25) per pet per stay. This is not a deposit, but more of a cleaning fee. There are extra cleaning steps and precautions taken by our staff after a pet has stayed in a room, as a courtesy to the next guest who may or may not bring a pet.
To accommodate pets, Paradise has built a small fenced in pet walk area where pets may play without being on a leash. There is also a small designated dog beach area on our property, where dogs can play in the sand and swim.
As of 2013, Pensacola Beach, though previously barring all dogs from the Gulf-side of the beach, has designated two dog-friendly areas for residents and visitors. http://visitpensacolabeach.com/things-to-do/dog-beach.php Paradise is about a 5 to 10 minute drive from these two parks.
Paradise is the only hotel on Pensacola Beach that accepts pets. The only area on our property that is off-limits for pets is the Bar & Grill (restaurant). We also have a few rooms designated as non-pet rooms for guests that may have allergies.
We do not require pre-payments or deposits from guests that bring their pets. All guests pay upon check-in.
If you checked into the villa, for a number of days with one pet, the pet fee would only be $25 for your entire stay. It sounds like you decided to move your pets to another room after a few days in the villa. In that case, the one-time pet-fee would be added to the other room. (As mentioned above, these are cleaning fees.) Since we do not charge per day for pets, like a lot of pet-friendly hotels do, you were not charged for that “day” in the villa that the pets were not there. The reason for the two fees for your whole entire stay was that two separate rooms were used to accommodate your pets.
The word “villa” has a few different definitions, according to the dictionary, including “detached or semi-detached house”. Paradise has chosen to name the rooms that are detached from the rest of the hotel a “villa”. It is not a suite, nor does it have any extra amenities or luxuries. It simply sleeps more people (6) than our other rooms, because it contains more beds.
I am very sorry to hear that the breaker tripped during your game. Though the issue was resolved within an hour, I can understand the frustration of missing important moments on tv.
If you’re looking for a luxurious, upscale, and expensive chain hotel, Paradise will not meet your expectations. However, if you’re looking for a simple, local, affordable beach hotel that accepts pets, Paradise is it. We strive to provide a laid-back beach atmosphere, clean rooms, and friendly customer service.
Thanks again for your input, and thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you are looking for the most bang for your buck, this is the place. The little bar is awesome and the food can not be beat. The rooms are nothing special but the beds are super comfortable. Great beach hangout and can see why all the locals hangout there. They also have live bands great.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn

Address: 21 Via de Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Pensacola Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.