We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food -- Go early” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flounder's Chowder House

Flounder's Chowder House
800 Quietwater Beach Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
+1 850-932-2003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Food -- Go early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Visited this restaurant three times during my stay. At busy times service and food was average but slow. Off hours (around 4 PM) service was great, food hot and very good. Late night gets a bit wild and some customers have difficulty handling their alcohol.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    416
    162
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a fun place for families with small children. It's a great atmosphere and has a lot of character. It has indoor and outdoor seating, although it's all open. It even has a playground for kids. The food is decent and has huge portions. Go early, because it gets packed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best stuffed flounder....:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Recently visited this restaurant for a dinner..I had the stuffed flounder, Yummy!!! the next day I bring my friend for lunch here, , she want to try the stuffed flounder too [after my recommendation] unfortunately they serve the dish only after 4pm....:(

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Juan was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Juan was great answered every question .We came for my mom's birthday and he was our server and hr wowed my mom with key lime pie for her birthday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food and ideal for parents with small kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Flounders was probably our favorite place we ate during our visit to Pensacola Beach. The place itself offers a nice mix of outdoor and indoor dining and has enough seaside artifacts on display it could double as a museum. What jumped out at us immediately on arrival, though, was the very active courtyard featuring a large playground for kids and two volleyball courts. We grabbed a table next to the playground and let our 4-year-old enjoy herself while we enjoyed pre-dinner drinks.

Our friendly waiter (Thrasher, who was great) walked us through a deep menu featuring seafood, steaks, sandwiches, pasta, chicken and salads. All in all it felt like the deepest menu we encountered at any of the Pensacola restaurants we visited. It's a deep enough menu you could make multiple visits here and never feel like you're covering the same ground. We didn't order them ourselves, but noticed the nacho plate was huge (enough for 6-8 people) as were the desserts.

Our seafood orders came with large sides of potatoes and asparagus along with rolls. It was more than enough to fill us up. Even our daughter sat and ate all her mac & cheese after playing - the only meal she finished on our trip!

My one complaint - I visited the mens room at the conclusion of my meal and was almost knocked out by the chlorine bleach smell from a recent cleaning. So know the bathroom is very, very clean, but be careful about taking deep breaths in there!

All in all we wish we'd discovered Flounders earlier in our trip so we could've made multiple visits. Put this one at the top of your list of places to eat when visiting Pensacola Beach.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flounder's Chowder House also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Flounder's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flounder's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.