We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flounder's Chowder House

Flounder's Chowder House
800 Quietwater Beach Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
+1 850-932-2003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Terrific setting.
The grilled shrimp was very good. The service was outstanding very attentive.
We highly recommend to anyone that loves seafood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    416
    162
    54
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

the food was great so was staff. Sunday brunch nice. & the bands @ night where great entertainment.this is the kinda place where u get good grub & a good time... what more could u ask for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallsburg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too Good Too Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

What an experience and great food! Highly recommend and enjoyable. Waitstaff very knowlegeable and kind. The night we were there it POURED down rain and water came in under the roll up doors they open but it never slowed the service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A tourist "trap" for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We are here on a recommendation from a friend. When you first walk in its definitely got the over the top tourist trap feel. The hostesses were really nice and seated us right when we got there. The menu is not particularly the best. The seafood selection is minimal at best and to be honest a little pricey for their fish choices. But if you like fried seafood then you're in luck. I don't so I ended up ordering the seafood burger and my wife ordered their BBQ chicken with mashed patatoes. The food came out quickly, but my wife's chicken was not good. I don't know if it was a bad cut or the fact that she ordered chicken at a seafood joint. It was hard for her to chew and even cut for that matter. She enjoyed the mashed potatoes though. My wife told the waitress her feelings on the chicken and the she was asked if she wanted another piece of chicken and my wife said no, she just wanted to bring it to their attention. The waitress came back with our bill and told us the kitchen manager took the entree off, which was nice of them. My seafood burger was ok. Honestly, it was a really big burger and there was no way I was going to be able to finish it. Overall, it was an ok food expierence but honestly it wasn't the best place I've ever been to. If u like touristy places, then this place will suit you if not, I would try other places in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richwood, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Food here was good, mostly fried. We shared the Shrimp Boat platter between the 2 of us and were quite satisfied.
We returned later to get a piece of their famous Key Lime Pie to take back to the hotel. We were shocked when we opened the box and found that what they considered one piece was actually 3 pieces! It took us 3 days to eat it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flounder's Chowder House also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Flounder's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flounder's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.