We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary at Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flounder's Chowder House

Flounder's Chowder House
800 Quietwater Beach Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
+1 850-932-2003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ordinary at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Four adults dined this evening. The bread served after taking our orders was ordinary white rolls like those that can be bought on the bread aisle in our local grocery store. The tower of onion rings looked "cool" - presentation gets an A+ - but the breading and grease dominated and there was little onion taste. The side salad was very good. The fresh fish dishes with mashed potatoes and asparagus were the best dishes served. Boiled shrimp were good as well. The blackened Philly Cheese Steak was bad. It had so much blackening seasoning on it I'd swear the top came off the shaker while it was being shaken on the steak. The fries were coated with that crispy french fry finish which made them greasy and inedible. My recommendation: stick with the fresh fish dishes.

Service was rushed and edgy. This is a restaurant interested in turning tables.

The atmosphere was OK. Lots and lots of kids. It's a great family / kids spot. There was a balloon artist making figures out of balloons for the kids. They have indoor, outdoor under an awning, and outdoor under the sun and/or umbrella seating. There an active bar which we did not try.

We won't rush back, but it's a good place for families and those without a vehicle in Pensacola Beach.

Parking is a real problem. Parking across the street is a good solution. Walking is the best solution if you're close enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    416
    162
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Shrimp boat platter with a side of chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is our 3 visit to Flounders and every time we return back home to Oklahoma we wish there was some way to have the fish chowder delivered here,lol. We love this place! It has a great atmosphere, good food and good service.

Tips: Share a meal and order a bowl of chowder! The fish chowder is so good and you should try it but after eating a bowl of chowder it's hard for me to finish a whole meal myself. So my husband and I order one to share and then we each order a bowl of chowder. We never leave hungry! The shrimp boat platter is more than enough for 2! They didn't seem to mind us sharing either! I almost forgot, a side of hushpuppies is great! They are delicious! If you don't want your kids playing in the outdoor area I would recommend sitting inside because it's way to tempting for them,lol. If you don't mind then ask to sit at a table close to it so you can watch your kiddos play while you dine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good selection for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had eaten there a couple of years ago and was not impressed but gave it another try this trip and was pleasantly surprised. Great for families. Area for kids to play where you can keep an eye on them while waiting for food to arrive. Quality good compared to what's available in the area. Kids menu,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and good times!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere with very interesting local decor. Service was great, and the food we had was more than expected. Apparently their coleslaw isn't the best as we were warned by the waiter, but all the food we did order was amazing. And be warned the hamburgers are a two person meal!!! The brunch shrimp omlets cannot be beat. Definitely a must try!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience we had in Pensacola Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We tried all of the kid-friendly seafood joints...Peg Leg's, Shaggy's, Crabs...and Flounder's was the best! We loved the open seating and the playground for the kids...our two year old quite enjoyed it as well! It was nice to be able to eat our meal with the ocean breeze and afterwards walk out to their cute little beach area and boardwalk. Many of the seafood restaurants we encountered had "that smell"...you know, you can't figure out if it's trash, bad seafood, dirty marina water...but Flounder's did not! I had the coconut shrimp which was awesome, and my husband had the fried fish which he also enjoyed. And big portions, which we always appreciate! We plan on going back at the very end of our trip since it was our favorite place so far!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flounder's Chowder House also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Flounder's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flounder's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.