We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational sea food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flounder's Chowder House

Flounder's Chowder House
800 Quietwater Beach Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
850-932-2003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sensational sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good atmosphere. Family friendly. The sea food Nachos was the best I have ever had, very large portions though. If you don't want to try the hurricane cocktail ask for the real lemonade, wonderfully refreshing. Fast service. One draw back, like most restaurants in USA, the waiting staff always clear the plates of those who finish eating even if the rest of the table hasn't . A very annoying habit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    361
    152
    51
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

dine on the sand.. bay side of the island. volleyball nets within sight and small play area for the little ones. Food is yummy with night entertainment with live band.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit to Flounder's! I didn't get a chance to enjoy the diesel fuel drink because this was a business meeting but I can't wait to come back to try it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to go if you are VERY hungry. The portions are huge and the atmosphere can't be beat! The restaurant is sprawling so there is almost always a place to sit. Our table was inside but you could see out onto the beach & kids play area, and the breeze was devine. My mother & I shared the Shrimp Boat Platter. It had five different types of shrimp and boy was it good! Their fries were nice and crispy and oh so delicious! The rest of the party enjoyed their food too. We wished we could try a pice of the key lime pie, but were way too full! Instead my sister & I got a snow-cones there, so awesome!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hamburger with mistery seafood on top”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ordered seafood topped hamburger. Found 4 tiny salad shrimps on top under bunch of melted cheese. Where is the seafood part of this hamburger? For such popular place, their seafood menu is pretty limited. Also we asked if we can substitute fries for mushed potatoes that every restaurant offers. They said sorry, no can do. Their fries are too greasy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flounder's Chowder House also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Flounder's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flounder's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.