We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flounder's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flounder's Chowder House

Flounder's Chowder House
800 Quietwater Beach Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
+1 850-932-2003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Utah
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Flounder's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great place right on Pensacola Beach! Awesome laid back atmosphere, and yummy food. Nothing like walking right from the sand to the table and enjoying some fresh Southern food. I had a fish po'boy that was quite good. Then back to the beach!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    510
    191
    65
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Rucker, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were driving thru and we decided to stop in Pensacola for the night. We checked out the ratings and decided to have dinner at Flounders. We didn't have to wait to get a seat. The server was friendly and we really enjoyed the food and drinks. If we're ever in the area again, we will stop by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Key Lime Pie ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Visited here for lunch and sat outside overlooking the water. The meal was really nice and the fish so fresh. We decided to share a desert, so glad we only had one between us. The Key Lime Pie was huge and we would only eat half between us. Lovely place to eat, good food, nice staf and lovely views.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaapolis, MD
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't Go unless you want all fried breading”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went with a party of 8, 3 children included. I wanted something not fried and could only find a caesar salad with chicken. Drenched in too much dressing and soggy salad, the chicken was ok.
Someone got the oyster po boy which was all fried breading and barely any oyster. The kids fried chicken tenders were also too heavily breaded. The hamburger was overcooked and tough. The fish tacos were good - so if you do go, get the fish tacos only - otherwise try somewhere else.
The highlight was a kids outdoor playground and an indoor game room that had a claw game that you could actually win the balls - adults or bigger kids only - for less than $5.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Flounders is a busy beach restaurant with very good tasty meals and decent portions. They are very organized with servers and runners to accommodate the crowds of people. Expect to wait in the season at this high volume restaurant, but a great atmosphere to wait in. Live music, a drink on the sound, children playing in the playground or the band on the stage. Prices are comparable to other similar restaurants that do not have the fun atmosphere that Flounders has. Beware though if you want a quiet dinner for two, this is not the place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flounder's Chowder House also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Flounder's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flounder's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.