We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peg Leg Pete's

Peg Leg Pete's
1010 Fort Pickens Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
850 932 4139
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Recommended by front desk and when I called they said a 15 mins wait.....upon arrival it was 30-40 mins. Not bad, it was very cold and windy! I asked for dining inside (not first available) so it took longer. The downstair area was around the smoked-filled bar and closed in because of wind, so I chose inside, just my preference. Mark was our server and he was fantastic! I asked for "hot tea" and he even "nuked" some ice tea X2!! We got the "Combo for Two" and added blue crab claws as app. The corn on the cob was OLD, but they subbed cole slaw with no problem...Fish Chowder was more like Potato Chowder. Had a relaxing time to enjoy our food (I am a slow eater) without feeling rushed. Skipped dessert because I was so full...I will definitely be back!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    601
    386
    102
    48
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pensacola Beach landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The family had a late lunch on the porch at Peg Leg Pete's. The raw oysters were a bit salty; but, the sauteed crab claws were some of the best we've had. The grouper sandwich and shrimp dinner was cooked to perfection. I've never been disappointed at Peg Leg Pete's.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,pa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fun place, great service and good food for a salty dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had a Sunday night visit in April 2012 while on a visit to a college campus on the mainland. Arrived w/o reservations and while all the traffic was heading off the beach we still had a 30 minute wait (that flew by.) Dining room was full and all the servers were buzzing. If you do have to wait, review the menu so you can place your order right away once seated. Tried a 1/2 dozen of raw oysters that were delicious. Too many things to try in one visit so I ordered the grouper nuggets and the gumbo to round out my meal. Gumbo was rich in flavor, lots of seafood chunks and close enough to Nola to have it prepared authentically. The nuggets were lightly breaded so not too heavy and comprised of nice chunks of moist tender meat. Service was swift and attentive. It's a popular spot with a lively bar scene and a lot of families. They have an extensive menu to please most everyone and priced for a decent value. I would eat there again if ever in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A favorite spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Peg Leg Pete's is a favorite spot, excellent fresh and delicious seafood, good portions, great atmosphere, and busy all the time. It's gonna be worth the wait and the wait is fun with live music often, outdoor seating,, benches by the docks, great beach decor,with a fun feel. No wonder they are busy all the time. Prices are reasonable and the quality is good! OYSTERS! for certain!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great seafood, great "local" flare. Reasonable prices. No reservations though. Plan to get there early or wait in line!
Get the fried grouper bites! BEST I've ever had!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peg Leg Pete's also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle

Been to Peg Leg Pete's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peg Leg Pete's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.