We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo is nice, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Portofino Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portofino Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Pensacola Beach
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Condo is nice, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed in Tower 1. The Gulf view was awesome; however, getting to the actual beach is a pain. You must cross a pretty busy street to get there. Also, you can see/hear the traffic from the balcony. Gulf front is a misnomer. The indoor pool was nice in bad weather.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are glad your view was enjoyable. We understand that at times traffic may be more noticeable due to the juxtaposition of tranquility on the property. We often suggest to guests looking for a more peaceful stay to come back in our fall off-season. It’s truly one of our best kept secrets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    63
    23
    28
    18
See reviews for
148
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed 4 nights at portafino...the reviews are true- stay away! The grill on patio broke, dishwasher didn't work, sofa worn out...etc...the place isn't what it use to be...the staff is friendly with tons of employees, but maintenance is a whole other thing. Tv in a bedroom quit working...for what you pay, it's unacceptable. They made note of our complaints and I told them it was our last trip to portafino. I would go back to margaritaville in a heartbeat! The billing is a whole other nightmare!!! Traveler beware...

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We‘re sorry your stay was neither up to your expectations nor ours. The on-site, 24/7 maintenance team offered when you book with Premier has a great track record in responding to irregularities like yours. Reporting any malfunctioning appliances to the front desk generates work orders for items to be mended and addressed immediately. We hope you’ll give Portofino another try to exceed your vacation experience expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here well over five times. Each time has steadily declined in value.

As of May 2013, portofino resort is no longer worth the cost. For an "all inclusive resort" there sure is a lot of red tape.

Be prepared to argue with all of the associated bars and restaurants (on site and boardwalk included) about your discount. The website and staff will say there is a discount, but good luck getting it.

The water taxi basically never leaves the dock. Not that it matters because your key card will not open the gate to get to it.(Anymore. It definitely used to.) Don't book any tours until they have told you it is 100% happening. Or expect a cancelation.

Want to take a steam? To bad! Your key card won't open the now always closed and locked door to the facility. You'll have to go find the desk girl to open it for you. Get ready to pull out your id, as well as room card, cause she doesn't believe you're staying there. And if the names don't match, be ready to have the matching name chaperone you through the door. (I had the leave the beach and come back to the spa area to show MY id and key. UNACCEPTABLE in a resort like this.

Two beach chairs are included in your rental. You put your key in a little clear tab on the set, which is fine. Its how they tell youre a guest, and which chairs are taken. Don't worry though, they wont let it be that easy. Everyone with you will be checked on every five minutes just in case they were lying about it the first time. No matter your assurance.

Need a manager? No.
Or rather, not right now, but here is her card.

I spend thousands while I'm in Pensacola, and honestly if you do as well - look elsewhere. I'm sure this is still a great deal for drunken college kids.

I've already paid for my next trip and will be reviewing again. If no changes have been made, my money, friends, and generous service tips will just have to find a new summer holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We’re sorry to hear your stay was less than you expected. We always strive to ensure the best experience for all of guests. Booking through Premier Island Management Group does give you the discounted amenities on property and boardwalk if that might have caused the confusion, either way it does not excuse the experience that has occurred. Thank you for booking again though and giving us a chance to address your previous concerns and ensure your next stay is the best yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

From the moment of our arrival on a cold, blustery night, we were welcomed warmly and expertly guided through the check in process. Our penthouse upgrade was exquisitely decorated with with sweeping views of the Gulf of Mexico and Santa Rosa Sound. This resort has it all! The food was excellent, the pools clean, the gym well equipped. There is also a spa with a wide variety of services. Reserve your stay through their website or reservation service and you will get many extra discounts and free amenities like bicycles!

Room Tip: We stayed in tower 3 unit 2103. Be sure you check the resort map if you want to be gulf front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are excited to hear that we met both your and our expectations, and that you were able to enjoy so many of our wonderful amenities that we offer. We make every effort to ensure each experience creates a lasting memory, just like the one you have had, and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Portofino. The grounds and buildings are maintained fabulously. The ambiance of the pool feels like you are in a tropical resort. While the property is on the bay side, it is a quick walk across the street to the gulf beach entrance. I must especially put in a plug for Unit 606, in building 5, where we stayed. Unit was decorated in a quintessential beach property manner, with comfortable bedding and lovely decoration.

We had massages at the spa, which were good although both of our massage therapists left us waiting for them to arrive for too long.

A wonderful place, to feel transported away from the world yet still a close drive to so many wonderful restaurants!

  • Liked — views!
  • Disliked — beach chair/umbrella rental exorbitantly priced
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I had such a great time at Portofino, what a view....the gulf & the bay, both sides. We're from Maui & hard to impress, but the view from our lanai was spectacular and their weekly fireworks show was on a par with Disney! Our son (who is stationed at Hurlburt AFB) & his wife joined us for a night and we all had a great time racing the resort's jet skis in the bay together. The all-day fishing trip, Portofino set up with Capt Ben, was unbelievable! After 13-hours on a boat & reeling in her first amberjack & a bunch of snappers, my wife got a nice massage from the spa on short notice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Portofino the first week of Sept. Condos are very luxurious with views of the Gulf of Mexico and/or Pensacola Sound depending on the unit. Spa & restauants are very nice as well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Island Resort & Spa

Address: 10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino Island Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Portofino Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Island Hotel
Portofino Island Pensacola
Portofino Pensacola Fl
Portofino Island Resort Spa
Portofino Is Resort
Pensacola Portofino Condo
Beach Pensacola Portofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.