We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG TIPS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Portofino Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“BIG TIPS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

1) If you like "big" then you are great, I like small ie not the giant 60 floor hotels,this is big. doesn't feel like a cattle call, thankfully, but its not intimate either.
2) ask for the building in the front east or west corner, but east is a block closer, or you'll walk ALOT to the beach
3) beach chairs are a commodity , get there after 10-11 and you be in the second or third row from seeing the water
4) if you are traveling with a family they are good for two and three bedroom condos which are much cheaper than two or three rooms at all the rest of the hotels
5) lots of stuff to rent from jet skis to scooters, they do have it all to rent. They have a spa and restruants if you don't want to leave, waiters for food and drink on the beach, all billed to room no need to bring cash.

Room Tip: Choose tower closest to road, has waayyy shorter walk to beach than all the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    127
    59
    43
    42
See reviews for
341
66
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans, la
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Portofino is a great resort! The condos are clean and spacious. All of the amenities, spa, restaurant, bar service, and the activites are all plentiful. It is a great place for families with all the water activities available for children. We went with a large group and my only con was that all of the condos were not created equal even though we all paid the same rate. Considering this resort is a bit more expensive than other places all should be decorated, furnished, and kitchen supplies plentiful. Next time I would want to see pic of the place I rent. All in all it was a great trip but it is expensive.

Room Tip: I would want to be in buildings 1 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The stay at Portofino was amazing! The rooms were very clean, spacy, and decorated nicely. I'd recommend booking the hotel online or just directly because you are then a "premium" member, which gives you a ton of free things, like 2 towels for a "souvenir" if you don't want to buy the overpriced souvenirs in the gift shop. Being premium also gives you discounts. The room offers a beautiful view of the ocean on the balcony. The rooms are designed differently, but have the same outline, so you can have a modernly designed room or something else. The staff is very friendly and helps with about any problem! I have a few complaints, at Adventure Beach there is some seaweed there that can give you rashes and make you VERY itchy, so just wash it off when you're finished with it. Honestly, everything at Portofino is really overpriced, but for some people it's a once in a lifetime experience, so just relax! I recommend going to Adventure Beach instead of the main beach because it has more wildlife, it's less crowded, and it has a mini inflatable water park that the kids love. You can catch crabs or fish there for a pet too. The location of Portofino is great! You can go across the bridge to the nearby Walmart if you need food or supplies. Also,the hotel has places you can go eat at or shop too. Theres a boardwalk that you can walk on and go to the shops surrounding it. Overall, my stay at Portofino was awesome, and I'd love to go here again! (if i can afford it.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This year was our third year in a row to stay at the Portofino. As usual, it was such a great time. We always stay in the 3 bedroom 3 bath units. HOWEVER, in the passed, I have booked with the individual owners through VRBO where there are plenty of reviews. Thinking all the units were the same, I booked with Ourgulfcoast.com. Their staff is great, check-in / check-out was easy but on their website, you cannot leave reviews for individual units to see what others for that particular unit thought. We stayed in Tower 1, unit 1507 and the owners have done little to nothing to the place. There was one ceiling fan in the whole unit (the other rooms where fans were suppose to be, they just stuck a metal plate over the wiring), very little kitchen utensils, the patio furniture was falling apart, and there were NO remotes to ANY of the TV's! So be forewarned, not every unit is the same. All the other units in the past had ten times the amenities so had I known, I could have easily chosen a different unit for the same price where the owners took pride in their investment and didn't provide the bare bones. Be careful to book with sites that allow reviews for each particular unit.

Room Tip: Choose towers 1 or 3. These units are closest to the ocean side and closest to the boardwalk to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were recently at Portofino with several families, all in different units in the same building, and had a wonderful time. The property is well equipped and very well maintained. Family friendly with many activities. The teenagers had a great time playing on the inflatable water trampolines and climbing the slides in the bay, and surfing and boogie boarding on the beach. Parents enjoyed paddle boarding and relaxing in the chairs by the beach. All activities cost extra but we got arm bands for the week including quite a few activities for $58pp. We found the walk from building to building or to the beach and bay was quite easy but there is a shuttle as well.
Be aware there are no lifeguards on duty. No towels provided at pool, beach or bay areas. We were given one beach towel per bedroom to use and take home as a souvenir. There were plenty of towels in the room, just remember to take them with you.
Food was good, however, the service at the poolside dining area was quite slow, so allow time. You can have food and drinks delivered to you at the pool or to our room as well. The pizza was quite good, but of course they charge more for room service.

Room Tip: Great view from most any room. You can choose bay or beach view, some have both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My girlfriend's and I enjoyed this resort for 3 nights. The resort itself is beautiful and so unique. On one side, there is a short walk to the beach. On the other side is the bay area with so many activities set up to enjoy. There were plenty of pools to choose from. They provide drink and food service on the beach. There is a shuttle bus that will take you on a short ride into town. The staff were incredible...always smiling and very helpful. Would most definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was a very quickly put together family get away. We knew nothing about Portonfino prior to booking. after booking I read some negative reviews and was a little worried. From the moment we arrive on property we were greeted with friendly smiling faces. EVERY person on staff that we interacted with was professional, friendly, could not seem to do enough to make our stay a good one. The location is great, the free trolly stops right in front of the office. This is a great location for family, couples or just friends. Almost everything you could need is available on property. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola Beach
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
4.0 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#4 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites Pensacola Beac...
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
#10 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Island Resort & Spa

Address: 10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TRIPSHOCK.COM and Hotels.com so you can book your Portofino Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Island Hotel
Portofino Island Pensacola
Portofino Pensacola Fl
Portofino Island Resort Spa
Portofino Is Resort
Pensacola Portofino Condo
Beach Pensacola Portofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.