We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After all these years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Portofino Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portofino Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Pensacola Beach
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“After all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Portofino still hits it out of the park with their uber friendly helpful staff and the overall ambiance of casual elagance.... go stay enjoy! Lovely views, incredible spa experience, fantastic beach. And it is right next to.a nature preserve and between the gulf and the sound, in a word, spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    63
    23
    28
    18
See reviews for
148
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed in tower 5 at the beginning of January and could not have been happier with our choice. The views from the gulf-facing units are stunning, and the entire property is beautifully maintained from the gym to the tennis courts (being resurfaced while we were there) to the beautifully paved walkways and roads. The restaurants are very good and reasonably priced for being in a beach resort. The unit itself felt practically new, it was so well kept and was tastefully furnished. If you rent through the management (Premier Island Resorts) the rooms are very well stocked with kitchen utensils so cooking at home is a lot of fun.

The best thing about Portofino is that you get the conveniences and amenities of a large resort while also being somewhat removed from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk and main hotel area of Pensacola Beach. You're also right next to the national seashore which allows you to take long walks on the secluded beach or on the trails through the dunes.

This really is the ONLY place I will consider staying when visiting P-cola beach in the future.

Room Tip: Gulf-facing units in towers 1, 3 and 5 (numbers ending in 01, 02, 03, 08 and 09) have unparalleled v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pigeon forge, tn
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Have stayed at the Portofino a couple times now and every time is always wonderful. The staff is very professional. I love being able to run on the treadmill looking out at the bay!!! Property is well maintained and the landscaping is awesome. The pools are great the location is wonderful and the beach is awesome. I don’t even consider another property when going to Pensacola. Going back for a week in August and looking forward to it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were able to get a great rate and a beautiful condo at Portofino with Our Gulf Coast Vacation Rentals!
We had a great view and the condo was lovely! I needed a few little things that I had forgot and the staff at Our Gulf Coast went out of their way to accommodate!
We will be returning to Pensacola Beach and the Portofino next year! The weather was great in January-a couple 73 degree days!
Sincerely,
Pleased :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was here for the holiday and it was awesome. We stayed in the tower closest to the beach. At first I was hesitant to stay in a room with a view of the sound rather than the gulf but it was awesome. The view at day and night was spectacular. We had fun watching the action on the tennis courts and the sound was a beautiful water and natural seascape. The rooms were beautiful and in perfect order. Not a mark on the walls. Huge and comfortable beds.

We loved the spa and indoor pool as well as bike riding and walking along the gulf and sound. It is a place to remember

Room Tip: I loved this room unit 606 in tower 3 Tower 3 sound side has nature, water and always activity of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just arrived last night and about froze to death. There were no blankets or comforters on the beds, and after 3 hours of waiting for housekeeping today, nothing has shown up. No one seems to care. Moreover, the other things that were supposed to be in the condo are only 75% here. The front desk claims that the room was checked before we arrived, but it's obviously set up for a July, not a November stay!

Furnishings are cheap, including sinks and fixtures. There are no mattress pads and the beds need small repairs. For $1800 a week, I would have expected more.

The only positive I can offer is that it is very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

September 2011 we rented TWO Gulf front 3 bedroom units for a month. This was not our first visit to Portofino. The last time we stayed everything was perfect, not this time. I am just going to list everything wrong with both units. Beds HORRIBLE (no mattress protectors no blankets, dirty stained bed spreads, mattresses that were sunk in the middle and rock hard. Chipped paint everywhere, pantry locked so food had to go all over counters for a month, cracked glass cook top, dust on plants you could see across the room, track lighting with special light bulbs that the majority were burned out, custom sectional(filthy) Not enough towels for unit washing constantly, locked closets besides owners closet, silverfish, ants, filthy fronts of kitchen cabinets, sand filled common hallways, a fire alarm beeping 24 hours a day, discussed this with a resident only to be told it had been going off since June. I spent the first week cleaning and cleaning it is a shame to pay for gulf front views with windows so filthy you couldn't see out, we cleaned port hole views as a joke. I complained so much the staff would quiver when they saw me coming. Pool had some sort of scum floating in it for days. The best part after pitching such a fit I went home for a weekend staff said they would come in and clean, I had called down for mattress protectors, blankets for 10 beds (had to wash it all) another wasted day of my vacation when we came back they had stripped all the beds and took the mattress protectors and blankets and extra clean towels I had washed, even though I told them directly not to touch the beds. I took pics of everything! I know that the owners are responsible for maintaining the units, however they should also tell the owners until certain things are repaired they will not rent out the unit. Everything is now extra in the resort and $$$.

Room Tip: I suggest before you except a unit you check it out completely including laying on the bed and check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Island Resort & Spa

Address: 10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino Island Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Portofino Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Island Hotel
Portofino Island Pensacola
Portofino Pensacola Fl
Portofino Island Resort Spa
Portofino Is Resort
Pensacola Portofino Condo
Beach Pensacola Portofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.