We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach and Clean campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Pickens Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pensacola Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Pickens Campground
Save
You added Fort Pickens Campground to your Saves list
1400 Fort Pickens Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beach and Clean campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We camped in loop A in our 36' rv Sunday through Friday. Our space was clean, had a fire pit/bbq, and was large enough for our car as well. The beach is walking distance and boasts blinding white sand and beautiful, clear water.
Touring Fort Pickens is a great way to spend some time and learn a little bit of history and the Civil War.
The park service employees were very nice and helpful.

The only negative is the shower house is in need of some repairs, tile missing, shower doors without latches, and general maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Campground is adequate and located on the beach. Free (yes free) snorkeling Wednesday and Sunday mornings at 10:30am with all equipment provided. (Battery Worth pavilion on the right after campground. Only bummer is the $8 fee to get thru the gate. We bought an annual pass for $25 instead.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We love Ft. Pickens campground. Nothing fancy, but so close to all things historic, the ocean, bike riding, fishing, etc. We camped their the first week of June. One day we were loading up our beach equipment to lay on the beach. My husband was searching for our plastic screw that holds the umbrella on the beach. Thinking it was in a large plastic beach bag we had, he picked the bag up to look inside. When he did, he felt something "slam" against his foot. As he looked down, he realized it was a copperhead snake! I must admit, my husband screamed like a girl! Another camper heard the scream and came running with a stick. The two of them forced the snake into the swamp area of the campground. Luckily, the snake had attached my husband's Teva sandal, and did not hit any skin. We continue to talk about this and the "what if's" if he would have been bitten. Our vacation would have turned into a hospital stay for sure! After the incident, the rest of our time there, we alerted other campers to be on the lookout for snakes. We heard their had been two other snakes found and killed. This will not deter us from going back. In fact, we have reservations again in a few weeks!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is our second year staying here. We just love the LOCATION! The campground itself is nothing spectacular. But the location ore than makes it worth it. The shower house on our look was new and much better! When we got there the grounds had not been mowed and looked shabby but they did mow while we were there and it looked so much better. You can't beat walking to the bay side and enjoying the beach with only a couple other people on it if any at all!!! And we road bikes to the gulf side (which you could walk to) and enjoyed the beach...not many people there either. That's something we loved about it. Beautiful white sand beaches. We will be going again next year!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed for 12 days and enjoyed them all. Nice new bathrooms and they even have a dishwashing station outside. The only complaint would be that the RV pads are very close together and aren't long enough to park in properly. Can't wait to book our next trip here! !

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Friendly private clean. Quiet and relaxing and plenty to do without leaving the island. Best experience in a while. Beaches were just beautiful, if you want privacy it's there and if you like busy and life guard they have that as well. Whitest beach I have seen.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

First the good points-The beaches there are fantastic. Probably some of the whitest, prettiest sand I have ever seen. The park rangers were very friendly and helpful. They gave my seven year old a book about the wildlife in the park that she could fill out and bring to the visitor center where they swore her in as a "junior ranger" and gave her a badge. She really got a kick out of that. The Blue Angels do their practice on Tuesdays directly across the bay from the campground. I recommend you walk or ride up to the Fort where you have an unobstructed view of the show. OK, now the bad. We have a pop up and were on the D loop. The concrete pads are not long enough to get your camper and vehicle both in (we did but only by parking our truck sideways). They do not allow you to park in the grass. My only serious issue with the place was that the bathroom on the D loop was absolutely disgusting. The shower doors were moldy and the floor drains were clogged more often than not. There are a lot of people coming through the bathroom as it is a popular campground so you would think they would clean it more than once per day. Use the bathroom and showers on the C loop, they were much more modern and clean. WORD TO THE WISE- it is a four mile trip out to the campground once you make the right off of Pensacola Beach and the speed limit is 20 miles an hour due to the shorebird nesting area. That is the longest four miles in the world! Whatever you need for your campsite- get it before you leave Pensacola.

Room Tip: Avoid the D loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Pickens Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Pickens Campground

Address: 1400 Fort Pickens Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Fort Pickens Campground Hotel Pensacola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Pickens Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.