We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history and view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Pickens

Fort Pickens
1400 Fort Pickens Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
(850) 934-2622
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Camping, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take a self-guided tour of this authentic fort active during the Civil War and later used as a jail to hold the infamous American Indian chief Geronimo.
Brunswick, Missouri
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great history and view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really cool fort! Hard to imagine building that back in those days. Very friendly workers. The view from above is gorgeous!! My kids enjoyed this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    169
    27
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ft. Pickens campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Didn't stay at campground, but drove through for memory's sake because my husband & I used to camp there. Still not recovered from Ivan (2004) much less shade, but I remember the boardwalk out to isolated lovely beach...it's still there. Also, has a store and laundry near campground

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good place if you need a break from the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

By the second day of sitting on the beach all day long we had all become a little pink despite our best efforts of using plenty of sunscreen. So we all decided we needed a break from our swimsuits and made the decision to visit the fort. We have been to Pensacola several times but we hadn't ever visited the fort before. We had my parents, my husband and I and our 3 girls ages 3, 8 and 12. We all really enjoyed the tour of the fort. It was entertaining and an easy walk around.

Tips: Bring an umberella, not for rain but for sun! This place wasn't as shady as we had hoped. We had an umberella in the car and we grabbed it thinking it might help keep us out of the sun. We were so happy we had because some of the walking was in direct sun.
Bring some bottled water. We didn't see anywhere to buy water or drinks. They did have a water fountain but it would have been nice to have a bottle to carry around with us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Fort and Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The sand is so white that it's almost like snow and the water is a beautiful blue and green. We fished for a few hours but no one on the pier caught anything. The locals said that this was unusual. The old fort has some very large cannons and the missing corner shows a lot about how it was constructed. Besides the old fort there are some other interesting batteries around including ones from the Endicotte period, World War I, and World War II and some of these have period guns.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had a great time here. Lots to see and lots to understand. There is a self guided tour. I would recommend if you need to get out of the sun for awhile. It isn't air conditioned, but the brick keeps the inside very cool.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Pickens also viewed

 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fort Pickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Pickens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.