We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great this time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Via DeLuna, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not that great this time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have stayed here once before two years ago and loved it at that time. However, we came back here last week (August 2011) and it was terrible from the moment we walked into our room. First, we walked into our bathroom to find a dirty sponge still laying on the bathroom counter. Next, we wanted to go get some ice, but there was nothing left for us to get ice in. Next, I went to turn the light on next to the bed and it didn't work. I finally tried to complain via phone, but the I couldn't even hear thru it, so I went and complained to the front desk and they just apologized and brought us a few new bags to get our ice in. Okay, so we left to go walk the beach for a while and when we got back to our room, I was in the bathroom again standing at the sink and something behind me caught my eye in the mirror and I screamed for my husband and he came in and got it - A ROACH! So, we put it in a ziploc bag and take it to the front desk and they assure us that it's only a Palmetto bug, no harm they say. So, I say that it looks just like a roach to me, is it in the roach family? They say NO! They do agree to give us our first night free "for all our trouble", we go back to our room and I "Google" Palmetto bug and guess what?? It is a ROACH!! So, we ask for another room and they say they do not have anymore. We unwillingly stay anyway because we have no other option and a day's drive from home. So, we decided to cut our six day trip short and go back to TN! They did give us the first night free, but still charged us for the 2nd night. We will not go back to this hotel, and we do not recommend it! It is unbelievable to think that two years ago we loved it and this time, it was like we were at a totally different place. I don't know if it had to do with it being bought owned by Innisfree now instead of Hilton?!?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    205
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
247
275
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My two kids and I spent three nights at the Hampton Inn. Overall we really enjoyed it. Our room had a king bed and a pull out sofa with a view of the gulf. The room was large and clean. We enjoyed the hot breakfast everyday - waffles, eggs, sausage, etc. The menu was a little different everyday. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer. I remember Kyomi - she recommended a restaurant and obtained day passes for us at the Hilton next door.

Important info about the Hilton - it and the Holiday Inn next to it are sister hotels to the Hampton. However, you are NOT allowed to use the pool facilities at the other hotels. I had read in a post that you can use the other pools, but the very surly guard at the Hilton threw us out one day and then was very angry when we had day passes the next day. He was really unhappy about our day passes and let me have it but left us alone when I told him to go complain to his boss. We had lunch there, spent about 20 minutes in the pool then left.

My only complaint about our stay was the beach itself. The Hampton Inn beach is very dirty - cigarette butts, straws, etc. Boy people are slobs - using the beach as their personal trash can. Stop it people! Adjacent to the Hampton is the public beach which is cleaned every day. I recommend setting up your chairs, umbrellas on the public beach. That's what I will do if I return to PCB. The company owning the Hampton should pay to get the beach cleaned every now and then.

Room Tip: The room that do not face the gulf still have a nice view of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
We are glad that we could provide you and your family an enjoyable 3 nights here at the Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Overall very nice 3 day stay in King Balcony gulf view room on 4th floor. Room location was great for views of the water, but please be aware that "portions" of the 4th floor also contain Smoking Rooms and the ventilation is such that smoke was easily carried into (but not so much out of) our nonsmoking room. As I understood it after inquiring, there is not a similar situation on the 3rd floor, so if it is important to you to not smell smoke, you might consider requesting another location in the hotel specifically. This was the only minor problem we encountered, and I must say when we discussed it with the staff member at the front desk, she dealt with our concerns appropriately and wonderfully!! Very good customer service ethic noticeable during our stay! Made me proud to be a Hilton Honors Diamond member! :-) Breakfast was crowded at times, but there was seating available outside (with good view) as well. Staff seemed to work well to keep food items replenished. The food itself was "average Hampton", but that is generally fine and there are a number of choices, both hot and cold. In addition to tourists, there were folks attending a meeting and the overlap in the area where breakfast was served, doors to the beach, and check-out in the lobby made it barely navigable one morning, but at most other times the lobby was open and inviting. While rooms and public spaces seemed "clean" and staff members were observed even doing some "deeper cleaning" (walls in the hallway for example), there were some spots showing a bit of age. I consider this somewhat reasonable for a beachfront property with extra wear and tear of guests tracking in with sand, beach equipment, etc. We did feel comfortable doing that here (a good thing in my mind), when compared to the Hilton next door. Several elevators to handle crowds. Recycling bins were great (Yeah!) to have on the floors near the elevators and vending machines, but since they were fairly small, it would have been nice if they had been emptied more frequently. Two nice-sized pools, reportedly one heated during some of the year when needed. Great access to the beach, near the pier. Shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for the review, your feedback is very important to us. We were happy to have you here as our guest and you will have to come back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

On a trip to Florida, had booked two rooms on the way in for a stay over, and two rooms on the way out. Both times we showed up, our rooms were not ready at 4 PM and had to be given different rooms. This hotel charged me for 6 rooms on my credit card, when I only stayed in 4 for the entire trip. Hampton has since credited me with one, but not the other. As of the end of July I am still fighting to get the remaining credit. Not the brightest bulbs working the front desk. Beach was nice, and hotel was not bad. Service is just lacking from the bottom all the way to the top.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
We at the Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach Gulf Front do apologize for the inconvenience. We will take your feedback seriously. If you have any further questions please give our General Manager a call at 850-932-6800.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My family stayed here one night before heading over to the Hilton next door and I was surprised to find our room at the Hampton was bigger than at the Hilton. The decor was great and though it's sappy, the gift basket left with a card attached really made our first day in Florida memorable. Thank you to the staff and management

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad we could help make some good memories for you and your family. Thank you for the review and please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach was the best hotel! We expected it to be good, but it was great! The location was absolutely amazing! It was located right on the beach, and the beach was accessible by a gate by the pool and deck area. Our room was also great. We didn't have a gulf view, but that was okay, because the view from our window wasn't that bad. It overlooked the parking lot, but behind it was the bay, which was beautiful. We got to watch the parasailers from our window. The room was very spacious, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The staff was also great. Bobby was who checked us in, and he was very nice, and told us about the attractions and the oysters at the Tiki Bar on Wednesdays. Everyone was nice and generous. Even the men who cleaned the grounds were nice, and opened doors for us and told us 'hello' and asked us about the beach. Speaking of the beach, it was beautiful. The sand was so white, and the water was so clear! We even saw dolphins on our first day! We also went to the Tiki Bar to get oysters, which was very nice. And the man who shucked them was also nice. The hot breakfast was pretty great. On some days there were western-style omelets, some days cheese omelets, and some days biscuits and sausage. Of course, they have cold breakfast, like cereal, and muffins, pastries, and danishes. Everything was very good. One lady, I believe her name was Kelly, came up to us while we were eating and asked us about our stay and asked if the kids would like to have some pool noodles. They said they would, and a couple minutes later, she came back with two pool noodles, which was very nice and generous. On our last full day, there was a little hut that opened up with free wine, beer, water, soft drinks, and snacks. Our family got a few things, like pretzels, and trail mix. We went to the beach with our snacks and had a great time. We loved our stay so much that we even stayed another night! We loved Pensacola Beach and will be back, hopefully soon!
Also, the hotel is near a few restaurants, and across the street from Tropical Waves, a souvenir shop.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The team that is set up here at the Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach Gulf Front is a great group of people who love to help guest enjoy their stay as much as possible. Thank you for the wonderful review. The next time you are in the area come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontotoc, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a gulf view with balcony. awesome views of beach and blue angels. We saw the dophins every day we were there. the room was clean, best hotel bed I've slept in not that we slept much, too many great things to see. Walked everywhere because everything is right there. Staff was great and very helpful. good hot breakfast every morning.Sidelines is right next door great food and atmosphere. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: ask for gulfview with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPenBeach, Manager at Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for the great review. What a fun weekend that was! Please come back and enjoy the beach with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach

Address: 2 Via DeLuna, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront at the center of everything in Pensacola Beach, Florida. Our guests enjoy panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico's emerald green waters and miles of sugar white sand. We’re centrally located walking distance from local attractions such as restaurants, water sport rentals and the 360 Observation Wheel.We are just a quick drive to regional attractions such as the National Naval Aviation Museum, Gulf Islands National Seashore and Fort Pickens, Historic Downtown Pensacola, Pensacola Lighthouse, Blue Wahoos Baseball Stadium, Veterans Memorial Park, Pensacola Civic Center, and the Saenger Theater.Family friendly; 2 beachfront swimming pools seasonally heated; free hot breakfast; Tiki Island Golf & Family Arcade; Gilligan's beachfront tiki bar; beachfront private balconies; free WiFi; flat screen HDTVs, 24 hour fitness center; 24 hour business center; free parking; and meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach Hotel Pensacola Beach
Hampton Beach Hotel
Pensacola Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.