We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Coaching Inn

Red Lion Coaching Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Coaching Inn to your Saves list
Red Lion Coaching Inn
18 Church Street, Ellesmere SY12 OHD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ellesmere B&B and Inns
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed one night on a cycling holiday. Well located. Clean spacious rooms with large bathrooms, beds a little too soft for my liking but luckily was very tired so didn't keep me awake for too long!. Very friendly staff, and helpful in safe overnight storage of bikes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    25
    7
    11
    11
See reviews for
27
52
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I went with my family in April 2014 whilst narrow boating on the Llangollan Canal and can only praise everything about my experience. 2 of our party are vegetarians and they stated how pleasing it was to have perfect veggie food and not the usual boring menu for vegetarians. The service was 1st class and all the staff were very friendly even though it was mega busy. If I ever go back this way I shall return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

went here again last month, after locals told us they had a better menu????? the same, with different names to be precise. We were cramped on a table, with just about enough elbow room, between us, and the next table of unfortunate diners. Two of us went for the Stilton & veg crumble, a plate, with mostly lettuce,1 cherry tomato, 1 piece of cucumber,1 grape, and a wedge of lemon!!!, 2 burnt bits of garlic bread, and the icing on the cake...the veg crumble, no crumble, just a white, bland, tasteless, sauce, with bits of carrot, sweetcorn, green beans, and a bit of cauliflower, no stilton, as described, it was disgusting, worse i have ever tried here,i was embarassed that people on the next table were staring at my plate. it was unedible. As was my sisters , the same. The other two had, pasta, and gammon respectivley, now, the pasta,was the same sauce as the veg crumble, if you remember, the veg crumble with no crumble, only there were bits of pre packed chicken in it, the gammon, was fatty, with gristle, and tubes in, fatty, and also, disgusting. Lipstick on my sisters glass, which was a pint. Coke flat, a complete disaster, tey really should employ a decent chef, we will spread the word...we will !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Great place. The landlord and everyone there is so friendly. Good pub grub, great atmosphere in the pub. Decent sized room. It's great for a stopover if you get a deal. Food at dinner is great value for money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

In agreement with others on this site my room although clean was seriously in need of decorating and very dingy. . Brown bedding didn't help either. But it was a case of 'getting what you pay for' I think they had better rooms on another landing. TV did not work either.
However on the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful and food service was quick and efficient.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Called in on the off chance of a table for tea at six o'clock. The place looks a tad run down but still had a bit of a "buzz" about it. Plenty of staff on duty. We were seated and studied the extensive menu and specials board. We ordered and the meals came proptly. As previously stated the portion sizes are generous to say the least. This suited us fine, especially our teenage son! We also had desserts and drinks. The bill was the cheapest we have had for a long time.

So long as you look past the tired decore, you'll not come away disappointed, or hungry!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was a real oasis for lunch after a long cycle ride. Not a particularly warm welcome but pub was full and staff very busy. Comprehensive menu. Food arrived quickly, large portions and hearty fare. Not haute cuisine by any means but more than acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Coaching Inn

Address: 18 Church Street, Ellesmere SY12 OHD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ellesmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ellesmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Shropshire
Shropshire Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Coaching Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.