We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed grill delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
18 Church Street, Ellesmere, England
01691 622632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Ellesmere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“mixed grill delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

what did i like everything very full plate well cooked to my liking as i asked for i certainly didn't need a desert that's for sure

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    38
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester,uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Absolutley Fantastic - Could not fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Prices - Excellent
Portion Size - Huge
Value for money - Excellent
Variety / Choice - Excellent
The management and team at the Red Lion really pull out all the stops to make sure you are looked after and leave happy and content - The produce is locally sourced and fresh daily - Specials of the day are plentiful and tasty

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Freindly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

4 of us had lunch at the Red Lion and found the food to be decent at a reasonable price. The staff were friendly and the service good. I wouldn't have a problem eating there again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wasn't sure at first but the range of dishes and the quality of the food was really good and excellent value for money. I'd definaitely go again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our first visit as we are new to living in Ellesmere. Great atmosphere with delicious food. Only downside was we had to wait a long time for our meal.....but when it came it was very good and well worth waiting for. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Ellesmere, Shropshire
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.