We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   No.176 Section 5, Xinwu Road, Wulai District, Xinbei 233, Taiwan (Formerly Spring Park Urai Spa Resort)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 132 Hotels in Xinbei
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A quiet hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The view from this hotel must be one of the most tranquil scenery one will ever see. Our room overlooks much greenery with a sapphire-blue river flowing below. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. The building has many levels, reminiscent of Le Sirenuse in Positano. The overall experience is superb but this resort is definitely not for those who are in a hurry.

There are 2 restaurants but we prefer ABU restaurant to the Sique restaurant for the view, the menu and the surrounding. One must at this juncture, not to put on the usual 'Relais and Chateaux' glasses because this hotel is unique and must not be compared to other R and C resorts elsewhere. My only suggestion is the lighting in ABU could be dimmed in the evenings and the use of candles may actually enhance the overall ambience.

I like the hot spring baths which was the highlight and was not crowded; the rest area adjacent to the spa for reading and a nap was a haven. We did not get around to use the spa.

The singing bowls ceremony /performance is a definite high light in early morning and in late afternoon and should not be missed. We sat by the cafe sipping tea upon arrival and experienced something far greater than any explanation. The soothing sounds and music brought everything together in harmony.

Our room was good but unfortunately did not have a balcony. We felt stifled as there was an urge to be outdoor. The second day we managed to switch to one on the top floor; not only was the lay- out better, our overall well- being was greatly enhanced. I believe the balcony is a ' must' for any visitors.

Within the hotel, the service is superb: their staff would actually brought us personally to various places within the hotel when asked for directions. Many do not speak English but it was not a problem. By the end of day 2 we felt totally at home and wish we could only have one extra day.

Room Tip: Room with balcony facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
顧客關係副理, 客戶關係經理 at Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Edmund:

Warmest Greeting from Volando Urai!

Thank you for your statement on the website, it's great to hear most postive comments.

As for the balcony, we have Rooftop Suite which has a great balcony with beautiful view, you may experience the Rooftop Suite when your next visit.

We will discuss about the lightness in ABU restaurant to enhance the overall ambience.

Once again, thank you for your suggestion, we are looking forward to your next visit.

Customer Relationship Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    26
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed only short, to relax after a hike with the hunting tribesmen in the mountains (another great activity to do there). And we enjoyed it a lot: excellent service, individual hot spring bath with a view over the lake into the lavish forest. Pure nature. The massage was perfect and soothing. The whole establishment is rather small, but every detail is taken care of, the service excellent, a nice pearl to spend a few hours not too far away from Taipei city and immerse in relaxation.

Room Tip: If do individual SPA, chose rooms with view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
顧客關係副理, 客戶關係經理 at Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Volando Urai Spring Spa & Resort to spend your vacation, and also thank you for those positive comments on the board.

We deeply appreciated with your satisfaction, which proceed to maintain our high quality service as always. We are looking forward to see you soon in the coming futue.

Customer Relationship Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in Feb. 2013. We chose this hotel after doing a lot of research and reading many reviews on trip advisor. Suffice to say that this hotel really lives up to all the accolades written about it. All the superlatives written about the service, the facilities, the ambiance of the place etc, are accurate. This is one of the most "zen" places we have ever visited. If you ever plan a trip to Taiwan, this place is a "must". There is also a beautiful waterfalls park for wonderful hiking, and the nearby old town has some interesting eateries. All in all, we will not hesitate to return to this gem of a place!. By the way, this is the first hotel of dozens of hotels that my wife and I have stayed in all over the world that I have given a 5 star rating.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
顧客關係副理, 客戶關係經理 at Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam:

Thank you for choosing Volando Urai Spring Spa & Resort after your research, spending your vacation, and also thank you for those positive comments on the board .
We deeply appreciated with your satisfaction, which proceed to maintain our high quality service as always. We are looking forward to your future patronage.

Customer Relationship Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

You are pampered from the minute you checked in. The lobby was scenic and the staff very hospitable. Choose your coffee and fragrance for the room upon check in. Room was spacious and very well appointed with L'occitane toiletries. The river had a nice greenish blue hue and the ambiance was that of tranquility and luxury.

Food was interesting and tasty. Our package comes with afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast. Tea was an assortment of mochi and preserves. We chose Chinese dinner and had a choice of appetizer, soup and main course. The cuisine was modern fine chinese dining of about eight courses. For those who are still hungry after dinner, there's complimentary supper too!

This hotel has an outdoor hot spring bath as well as an indoor bath. There's also hot spring facilities in your room. The outdoor bath was very scenic and serene. The spring is carbonic acid and has beautifying properties.

Mini bar was also included in the package and there's free shuttle to Xindian station and Wulai old street. Come in January and you can view Taiwan's sakura.

There's also regular performances throughout the day and the whole place has a zen feel with the musical performance. This is a place where its really what you see on their website.

You get to bring a bit of the hotel back in the form of a book and a CD of the music that's played throughout the hotel. We love this place so much that we are planning to come back in December!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
顧客關係副理, 客戶關係經理 at Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Volando Urai Spring Spa & Resort
We are truly graceful that you enjoyed this trip very much.

We deeply appreciated with your satisfaction, which proceed to maintain our high quality service as always. We are looking forward to your future patronage

Customer Relationship Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I just checked out from Volando about 30 minutes ago but I feel compelled to share my experience with fellow travelers sooner than later.

Our expectation of Volando was high to begin with, and the cabby who drove us into Wulai raised our expectation further when he told us it is the best SPA resort in Wulai. We arrived at the hotel and it felt like stepping into another world. The ambience and the tastefully done up decor, the scent of the essential oils, and the attentiveness of the concierge staff made for a very pleasant experience.

We stayed in the Spring Park Suite during our stay. I have to say it has to be one of the best hotel rooms I have stayed in. It is extremely spacious and well equipped. All items in the mini bar are complimentary. The pillow menu, private indoor hot spring bath and private outdoor pool are a delight. It is also the first hotel I have encountered that provides 2 cleaning services of rooms in a day. One during daytime and one during your dinner at the hotel's restaurants. As such, the cleanliness of the room was impeccable. On our first night, we came back from dinner to find that the room was filled with candles and decoration on the bed that says "Happy Honeymoon". It was a nice touch.

The reaturant we had dinner on our first night also surprised us with a special dessert to celebrate with us our honeymoon. Again, we felt touched and surprised because I do not recall informing the hotel I was there on honeymoon. The dinner and breakfast at the hotel, whether western or Chinese style, were excellent.

We also managed to catch a performance put up in the premises, which was quite novel.

We could tell that a lot of effort went into making stays with the hotel comfortable and soothing, both for the body and the mind. Our expectation has been surpassed and I'm sure we will be back.

Excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
顧客關係副理, 客戶關係經理 at Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for choosing Volando Urai Spring Spa & Resort to spend your special moment, and also thank you for the positive comments on the board.

We deeply appreciated with your satisfaction, which proceed to maintain our high quality service as always. We are looking forward to your future patronage.

Customer relationship Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitung
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

From the moment you walk through the doors here, the staff are super friendly, the view is spectacular, the hallways smell amazingly fragrant, the music is soft and relaxing. You feel like you're inside a spa for the entire visit. The food was delicious for both dinner and breakfast. The rooms were very well equiped, spacious, luxurious and again, so very relaxing. Could have stayed in this hotel for a few days. The walk in to old town is a little jaunt, but on a nice day is a good way to enjoy the outdoors. Would stay here again in a heart beat. : )

Room Tip: If the riverview is in your budget, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
顧客關係副理, 客戶關係經理 at Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest:

I am glad you love our resort, and enjoy the atomsphere here.
Your feedbacks are very important to us. We will maintain our high quality standard and proceed to improve customer satisfaction. We look forward to your future patronage.


Customer Relationship Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wonderful stay on our 1st tired night of the journey. Peace and quiet with cool fresh air and regular arts performance near the restaurant. If you are lucky enough to get a room with the river view, you can watch flocks of birds fly from 1 tree to another in the forest in the mornings. Meals are included in the package due to the hotel distance from the MRT and town centre. The french food is well prepared and staff are very attentive. Great place to rest, relax and recharge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
顧客關係副理, 客戶關係經理 at Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

I am glad you could catch the true feeling of the heart in our resort, deeply appreciated with your satisfaction, which proceed to improve customer satisfaction. We are looking forward to your future patronage.

Customer relationship of Voland Urai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort

Address: No.176 Section 5, Xinwu Road, Wulai District, Xinbei 233, Taiwan (Formerly Spring Park Urai Spa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Xinbei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Xinbei
#2 Luxury Hotel in Xinbei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Wulai, New Taipei City and bordered with Fushan, Neidong Forest Park and Lansheng Bridge,Volando Urai Spring & Resort occupies the most privileged spot in the beautiful landscape of Wulai. The elegantly decorated rooms, hot spring, aromatherapy spa and restaurant sat the resort reach such high standards that in 2013, Volando was awarded the membership of REALIS&CHATEAUX and became one of the only two holiday resorts in Taiwan which are accredited by the association. Moreover, Volando is dedicated to bringing arts and culture into the leisure industry. Using its exquisite natural surroundings as the stage, series of arts and cultural events are planned in the Hotel. The relaxing ambience, the devoted service and the unique art exhibitions and performances undoubtedly makes Volando your first choice of accommodation in Wulai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volando Urai Spring Spa And Resort
Volando Urai Spring Spa Hotel Xinbei
Spring Park Urai Hotel
Spring Park Urai Spa
Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort Taiwan/Xinbei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.