We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good hotspring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tien Lai Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tien Lai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tien Lai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   No.1-7 Mingliu Road, Chonghe Village, Jinshan Town, Xinbei 208, Taiwan (Formerly Tienlai Spring Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 125 hotels in Xinbei
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good hotspring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Though my husband and I have been Taipei for several times, this is our first trial to stay at hotspring hotel.

TRANSPORT:
Since we would spend the first night at Tienlai Spring Resort, we have booked a taxi to travel from Taoyuen Airport (we arrived at Taipei in the morning) to Yang Ming Shan for sightseeing first and then check-in at Tienlai in late afternoon. It is not very easy to get to the hotel as there is only one bus route, with the frequency about 30 mins while the travel time is around 1 to 1.5 hrs from Taipei Main Station. That's why we decided to take a taxi so we didn't need to worry about our baggages or bus schedule.

Unfortunately, rain kept on falling after we arrived Taipei (actually it rains during our whole trip!), so we couldn't spend much time at Yang Ming Shan and needed to go to Tienlai earlier as we planned.

ROOM:
We have reserved a room at Tienlai II building which is in Japanese style. Our room is at highest floor facing hill view. We like the private hotspring at the balcony very much, esp in this rainy day! We couldn't see anyone using the outdoor hotspring in heavy pour ....It is convenient to use the private hotspring as it is connected to bathroom, so you can clean up easily. The room itself is spacious and in good condition, and many TV channels provoided.

MEAL:
We have bought a half board package and we may enjoy dinner at hotel restaurant, which is located at Tienlai I building. We didn't expect much on the food quality because we have read some bad comments on that (however there is no other restaurant nearby so we have to choose it). But finally we found the food are QUITE GOOD! Buffet is served, with Mongolian style BBQ as theme. The BBQ meat is delicious, though overall the food variety is limited. However the food variety at buffet breakfast is better, and the taste is good.

OVERALL:
We didn't use many hotel facilities (eg. outdoor hotspring, SPA, gym room, etc) during our stay, so I can't comment on those. I think it is nice to spend 1 night here for hotspring. Just don't expect it is a very resort-like hotel...I don't think it is good to stay for over 2 nights....For couples, recommend to choose Tienlai II building with private hotspring. Overall I am satisfied with the hotel but just think it is little bit overvalued.

Room Tip: Only rooms at Tienlai II building (Japanese style) have private hotspring, book that room if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TienLai, 公關經理 at Tien Lai Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from TienLai!!
Thank you for taking time to share your travel experience!!

Yang Ming Shan national park is always one of the traveler’s favorite destination in Taiwan, it has amazing view, and many trail selections, some of them just within walking distant from hotel, hotel also provide bus tours to explore more attractions in Yang Ming Shan, hope you will have more time and sunny day for your next visit to Yang Ming Shan Tien Lai!!

Once again thank you for choosing Tien Lai and our hotel as your holiday destination, sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Maybe we had too much of an expectation of hotspring given we have been to quite a few of hotspring in Japan ranging from Northern to Southern Japan. If you were expecting the same kind of service and atmosphere as Japan, then Tienlai would disappoint you.

First, the service was only average. We checked in on Dec 31 and the hotel staff at the check in was neither friendly nor helpful. When we prompted about restaurant for dinner, then we were told and informed that all their dinner reservations were completely booked. We had to prompt her about what we could do for dinner given the resort is in the middle of nowhere on the mountain then was told about an 1 hour service available for Beef Noodle Soup at 8:30PM that night.

Second, the food was only edible. Knowing that we could not wait till that late for dinner, we went to try their afternoon tea buffet, which was a big disappointment. This is nothing like what you would get from a decent afternoon tea place in Taipei/Taichung. The breakfast buffet that came with the room reservation was the same rate and the selection were mainly items tailor to the local.

Third, the outdoor hotspring area was so crowded where you would think you were in a theme park with kids running around and the atmosphere was not relaxed at all for anyone who would expect Zen relaxation.


Given all these 3 points plus a long way from Taipei- literally 1 and 1/2 hour drive, it was not worth to go all the way for a low rate of experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is in fact far away from city. Hillside view of Yeung Ming Shan is beautiful and great value to this resort when you want to escape from business. There is a small water park in the hotel. There is some indoor hot spring pools and water SPA, kids playroom and nice natural view surrounded.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiberg in Mähren
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is not a luxurious resort. We stayed here because I thought it was too far from Taipei to make it a day trip. This assumption was wrong and I noticed many tour buses during our stay which apparently bring people for a day trip to this resort, just to use the hotspring spa facilities.
In retrospect, this is what we should have done as eating the same food everyday was difficult.
I have stayed in more luxurious hot springs in Taiwan. We had a standard room in the old wing, located to the left of the main entrance if you face the hotel. The rooms are spartan with stone floors and simple beds. The bathrooms have the mandatory hotspring tub, which is nice but have a design which fails to adequately separate the shower from the rest of the bathroom - as a result, the floor in front of the sink and around the toilet will be wet after showering. the new wing at the back of the hotel has far nicer Japanese-style rooms with balconies. These cost more but would be my preference if I returned.
There are several restaurants in the hotel but when we visited (April), only the main restaurant was running and their menu was repetitive. There are no shops or cafes nearby- well there is a small house down the road which looks like it is trying to be a restaurant but was never open when we walked there.
These things aside, the hotspring spa facilities are good. There are several indoor and outdoor pools of varying temperature. Bring a bathing suit if you wish to enjoy them all, particularly the outdoor ones. I only give it an average rating because I have seen better in Taiwan.
Staff are helpful if they can understand you. Mandarin is preferable. English will only cover the basic requests.
The grounds of the resort are spacious and tranquil with pleasant views of the hills. There is a bus stop outside the hotel which will take you around Yanmingshan. The road is very tortuous and people who feel motion-sickness easily should avoid it. Good luck catching a bus back. Taxis are rare. There is apparently a bus which will take you back to Taipei, but we hired a car and driver.

I would not recommend staying for more than 1-2 nights and if you enjoy variety and choice of food, stay in Taipei and make a day-trip.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing which has a Japanese-style decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We are family of 3 from HK.This hotel is far away from everything. We spend about 1.5 hours to get there from the airport. The view of Yeung Ming Shan is beautiful.
There is a small water park in the hotel.There is a long slide,some indoor hot spring pools and water SPA. I love the long slide. Everything was good,except the food service. We arrived at 2:00p.m.,the tea time starts at 2:30p.m.. But the hotel said we cannot order food until tea time.We were very hungry. What's on the menu? It's just beef noodles for tea! Unbelievable!
Another thing is the outdoor hot srping pools are closed. But there is no notice about this on the website. How disappointing!
Rememember to bring your swimming caps. Otherwise the hotel won't let you get into the pools! You can buy one in their store though. (about $ 25 HK)

Room Tip: Japanese style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Yangmingshan TienLai Spring Resort was a long way out of Taipei City and driving through winding mountain road in thick mist was a challenge. Its weather was misty most of the time and it was raining during our stay, therefore not much we could do except to enjoy the various hot springs which was a good experience.

There was only one restaurant in the hotel offering international buffet, their pasta and pizza were great though dinner was a bit pricey. Buffet breakfast was plentiful.

Our double room in the European block was spacious with very basic amenities but no window; the only window was in the hot spring bath but it was visible from the second floor of the neighbouring block. Eventually we upgraded ourselves to a Quadruple room in the Japanese block with mountain view and veranda; which we found the trace of a resort hotel.

The hotel staff was helpful with our request but could be warmer and more welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night while visiting Taipei. Traveled with family encompassing all adults. The purpose of my visit was to enjoy hot springs in a place where bathing suits are required.

About the resort: This is a resort hotel that is located about one hour north of Taipei that houses a set of hot springs for its guests to enjoy. The resort also allows for non staying guests to enjoy hot springs for a price.

Location: One hour north of Taipei by bus, you can take the 1717 from Jiantan station (about 3-4 min walk to the bus stop after you exit the station - opposite the university, there is a tourist information center at the exit of the station that will point you to the stop in perfect english). The resort is quite isolated with not much around it. The bus ride to the resort was quite scenic. It drops you off directly in front of the hotel. Cost was 140 NTD per person.

First Impressions: Large resort that encompasses 2 buildings. Everything was very clean and staff were friendly and accommodating. One thing you notice immediately (we came here on a weekday) is how empty the resort is. With the large selection of hot spring resorts in Taipei, this one is on the pricier end. We were told that it gets much busier over the weekends.

Room: We stayed in the Japanese triple which had a king sized bed and a twin sized bed. The room was large and clean. Japanese robes provided free of charge. The main attraction of this room is the private semi outdoor hotspring on your balcony. This is not included in the ordinary rooms, just the Japanese ones. To be honest, after staying at the resort, I'm not sure this is a good investment of your money as there is really no difference between the private and public hot springs. Also, the number of large bugs that take up residence on the balcony could squash any romantic opportunities available to you. Otherwise, beds were soft, free wifi is available and slippers are provided.

Facilities: The hot springs are located both outside and inside and are accessible directly from the building with all the hotel rooms. There are different temperatures and styles for you to enjoy. The milky ones with a boiling egg odour are good for your skin tone. There is also a pond where you can dip your feet in and have little fish eat off the dead skin. A very unique and fun experience. Saunas are also present. The aphrodite spring which is not a hot spring, but rather an aesthetically pleasing and relaxing warmed pool is a great place to take a nap in the water (partially submerged chairs). Like previously stated, bathing suits are required for these hot springs but more traditional fully nude hot springs are available for those who are inclined to get the full experience. Housed in the other building are a multitude of facilities for one to enjoy. Billiards, ping pong tables and a squash room are all available. There is a gift shop selling bathing suits and other needs.

Food: There is a buffet style and western restaurant located on the premises. Unfortunately, because of the lack of occupancy, the western restaurant was closed during our stay. We therefore ate a dinner buffet (expensive) and free breakfast buffet at the same restaurant. Both were below average and certainly not worth the price. This is an extremely low point of the hotel.

Overall: This is a nice resort to stay for anyone who wants to enjoy hot springs while wearing a bathing suit. There are more resorts closer to Taipei in Beitou that can serve as alternatives. The selection of hot springs is a high point along with the serenity enjoyed due to the low occupancy rates that you see on weekdays. The weak point is the restaurant and I certainly would not recommend paying extra for the private in room hot spring. I would only stay one night if required, but I could see a day trip starting in the a.m and leaving in the evening to be adequate to enjoy this resort. Happy Travels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tien Lai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tien Lai Resort & Spa

Address: No.1-7 Mingliu Road, Chonghe Village, Jinshan Town, Xinbei 208, Taiwan (Formerly Tienlai Spring Resort)
Location: Taiwan > Xinbei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Xinbei
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Xinbei
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xinbei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tien Lai Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOUTIQUE RESORT IN TAIWANYangmingshan Tienlai Resort & Spa The best resort hotel in northern Taiwan-Recommended by Michelin Green Guide TaiwanTianlai Spring Resort & Spa fuses the macrobiotic concepts of heaven, earth, and people and returns with its aesthetics to the most original design philosophy. Succinct, modern design and Japanese style are combined to form the contemporary Zen-style unique to Tienlai.Become the largest Boutique Resort in Taiwan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tien Lai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tienlai Spring Hotel Xinbei
Tien Lai Spring Hotel
Tien Lai Resort & Spa Taiwan/Xinbei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tien Lai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.