We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Landmark Inn to your Saves list
Landmark Inn
No.101 Section 1, Jhonghua Road, Sinjhuang District, Xinbei 242, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Xinbei
Australia
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good hotel - excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

During my five nights in Taiwan I stayed at the Landmark Inn in New Taipei City.

It was recommended to me when I went online asking for a decent place as close as possible to Xinzhuang Stadium where I was going to be spending most of my time watching the World Baseball Classic qualifying tournament.

Rooms are from between $80 – $120 depending on the size. The location was excellent for the stadium main entrance was just 800m away. Even though I was in the area known as Xinzhuang, New Taipei which is more of an industrial area there was plenty of restaurants and parks in the close vicinity.

It was a tiny, skinny building on a busy intersection but I never noticed the noise in my room which faced the street. Rooms on the other side have a great view of the mountains in the distance.

Breakfast is included and considering how few rooms (and therefore guests) they have it was quite substantial. A small buffet section that changed everyday as well as having the option to order off the menu.

The rooms were like a step back in time but they were super clean and everything worked including the fax machine (I assume!) The bathroom was new and the high water pressure that was super hot was a pleasure after spending over 10 hours at the baseball in freezing weather!

What will make this place stick in my memory though is the staff. I have never seen anything like it. They treated me like family. Nothing was too much trouble. They went way beyond what I have ever experienced at a hotel anywhere in the world. They fussed over my 74 year old Auntie like you wouldn’t believe and when we managed to give them a few tickets to one of the games we were showered with gifts as they tried to say thank you.

One of my business dreams is to one day own and run a hotel of some sort. It got me thinking about what really matters when it comes to being better then all your competition. Do you spend money on that extra pillow for the bed, a TV for the bathroom or extra fluffy bath robes so you can turn your establishment from a 3 star place into a 4 star one? Or, do you keep it as a 3 star and spend the money on staff training so that customers get 5 star service? I think I already know the answer.

Room Tip: Grab a room as high up and at the back if you want a good view of the mountains in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is located about 4 kms from HSR station and in the main junction makes it convenient to stay. But unless you have the full address in Chinese, it will be difficult to reach by taxi.

Hotel restaurant is good but breakfast choices are very limited. Hotel is sorrounded by many restaurants, Sushi express, KFC, McD, Mos Burger etc makingit convenient for travellers from all the sides.

Hotel is near a big stadium and you can have a relaxing walk in the evening.

You will also be provided with some refreshing drinks and fruits on the room everyday along with some snacks.

Hotel is bit costly compared to similar hotels nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I've been coming here for years, and I always feel like it's a home away from home. A very courteous staff, and the rooms are always clean and tidy. they could go for some new rugs, but otherwise, a great value, and next to the largest park in Taipei.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

Modern rooms and a great team of staff made our trip to Taiwan a success. If you want a more cultural experience away from Taipei main, this is the place to be. Simon and his staff made all our airport arrangements, dinner suggestions, taxi transport and even get togethers with friends simple. They speak and understand English well and pride themselves in providing excellent all round service. The rooms are modern and spacious in comparison to other Taipei hotel rooms. The breakfast food is just ok, but there is lots of food just outside your door. The best way to the MRT is a short taxi ride costing a few dollars and you're only 3 stops from downtown. A great spot, we will be back next year

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

While the rooms are small, they make great use of space, including a pivoting flat-screen TV in the middle of the room that turns 360 degrees (facing the sofa on one side; facing the bed on the other). There is a kitchenette, bar fridge, and a fancy ventilation system in the washroom that allows you to dry clothing overnight (very handy for me as I hand-washed my own clothing). There is also a hidden sliding door within the wall, with a full-length mirror attached. Again, great use of space.

I would give the hotel a perfect rating were it not for its distance from downtown (about a 30-minute bus ride), and the three cockroaches we found in our room on three different occasions. At least we did not see the roaches until the last 3 days of our 1-month stay.

Front-desk staff are really nice, and will direct you on how to take the bus to downtown. There are two different buses that go downtown, and they run quite frequently (I never had to wait longer than 5 minutes). Also, the bus stop is practically outside the hotel (next to the big park if your heading toward downtown).

The neighbourhood of the hotel gives you a real taste of local life, with very few tourists in the area. It is fun to explore the local shops, markets, restaurants, and the park when you're not exploring the downtown Taipei area.

Good news for the future: my understanding is that one of the Taipei subway lines will be extended to this area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

This hotel was a breath of fresh air in a Taipei County that is submerged in tradition. It was the perfect headquarters for people wanting to get the 'real' Taiwan experience. The hotel is located in the heart of Taipei county, which is great for accessibility to local food and markets, but not great for a visit to Taipei City. It is approximately 20 minutes by bus. The bus station is conveniently located next to the hotel, and the staff are always willing to point you in the right direction.

The staff are friendly and, while they don't speak much English, they make every effort to try to understand. Sometimes, they even walk you to a restaurant and order for you! Very helpful!

The rooms are clean and modern (for Taiwan standards). It is not the same as an American chain hotel, but it is also the most advanced for the area. The wireless internet was free and fast and the hotel had lots of laundry services. The restaurant was the biggest let down, serving mostly cold breakfasts and lacking variety.

All in all, the hotel was of great quality and had great service. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who needed to stay in the Taipei county area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Address: No.101 Section 1, Jhonghua Road, Sinjhuang District, Xinbei 242, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Xinbei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Xinbei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Inn Taiwan/Xinbei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.