We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night market and Fisherman's wharf” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danshuei

Danshuei
Xinbei, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 346 Attractions in Xinbei
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Night market and Fisherman's wharf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Danshui market sells the same thoroughfare as other markets in Taipei city. After going through all the night markets in Taipei, Danshui street market shopping leaves very little appeal for our family. Still we did ate as we walk and even bought a few items (cause it is slightly cheaper than the markets in town)

When we visited Fisherman's wharf, it was raining and the wind was blowing. The climb over the bridge became so much fun because we felt that we were blown away every so often by the wind. Our umbrella when held wrongly got folded up by the wind. At the end of the journey, in spite of our umbrella and rain coats, everyone was wet.

Perhaps on a calm and nice weather, this place would just be a nice place to take a phote or two cause it has nothing to offer otherwise.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    460
    151
    19
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable If It Were Less Crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Visited Danshui on a Saturday and was shocked by the crowd at and around the night market. (Although I must say the food is good and the atmosphere is very lively.) However, I was really blessed that at Fisherman's Wharf (a ferry's ride away) the human traffic was very light despite the perfect weather for watching the sunset and that day being a weekend. A wonderful place to visit with friends and your significant other on a weekday.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gonna go back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Take the train all the way to Tamsui - red line. Upon exiting from station, turn left n turn left again. Tamsui old street is located next to Starbucks. 2 mins from the station.
Truly enjoyed ourselves as the weather was really cold. Merchandise are cheaper as compared to what was sold in night markets like Shilin.
Best place to buy fish crackers, ginger tea n Taiwanese jelly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“There is more beyond the old street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Most people goes to Danshui (aka Tamshui) and just walk thru the Old Street (老街), that's where main tourist fare are. However, if you have the time, there's more to Danshui, take a walk beyond the Old Street and there're much more to discover. Nice little cafes and shop, and a nice walk along the river thru to the other end of Danshui, which takes about 1-2 hours.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Danshuei is the beautiful place to see. Its located in north of Taipei, situated next to the river. Danshuei has a very modern feel to it as you can find cafes, restaurants and shops scattered everywhere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danshuei also viewed

 

Been to Danshuei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danshuei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.