We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Old Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danshuei

Danshuei
Xinbei, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 401 things to do in Xinbei
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Old Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Danshui Old Street is good but I don't really like the yu ren pier, not much amusement but still goot scenery and good embrace restaurant along the pier

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    490
    160
    19
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

From the Grand Hyatt in downtown Taipei we took a cab, then the mrt and then bus 26 to Tamshui. It took about 40 minutes. We enjoyed the ride and views from the Mrt and bus to this location. We were pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the walking crossover bridge to the small village shops. It was a very hot day even beside the water so we only stayed about an hour. We walked in and out of the shops to stay cool. We expected a bit more variety of the shops and would have liked to pick up something like a miniature of the bridge or some other memento but there were no options in the immediate area. The was a small food market and some places to eat. My husband got an ice cream but it was not that good. Possibly because it was a Sunday many of the shops were not open.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Teeming with people, you'd think there was something really special about this place. But there is not. There's an old street boasting all the typical night market fares, plus tourist traps, but nothing out of the ordinary. There's also a waterside walkway that always, at all hours of the day is blackened with thick crowds. If you want to try something new such as take a ferry to the other side of the river, forget it. The lines are at least 30 minutes long, and you've got to endure the smell of stinky tofu wafting from some nearby stall while you wait. So why do people flock here? If anyone can provide a legitimate answer, I'd be happy to hear to change my mind about Danshui.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful cycling trails and old streets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A good day trip to the suburbs of Taipei. Located at the north and accessible by Tamsui MRT station. There are 2 main attractions here. For those who prefer eating and shopping, head for the old street. the whole place starts coming alive late morning and the shops sells many interesting stuff from food, to clothing to toys. Be sure to stop by one of the many little shops to sample the Tamsui food.

Tamsui is also connected to a great cycling trail. You can rent a good bike and enjoy hours cycling north to the harbour, or east to Ba-Li (or Paris), or south to Taipei city down along the Tamsui river and even branch out to Keelung River. The bike rental is reasonably and the shop provides good maps as well. Be careful though to look for proper bike rental shops. I would recommend one that is just between the MRT station and the river - you can see them by the many containers they have with all sorts of bicycles (training bikes for toddlers, mountain bikes, children bikes, tandem bikes).

In summer, I would suggest that you start after 2pm as the sun would be gentler. Otherwise, better bring sunscreen and umbrella.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful giant mountain and scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

situated at the Tamsui mrt station, Tamsui is a must visit place in Taipei.There are so many things for which you can hang on there

1. Beautiful giant mountain just opposite side of the MRT station
2. sea view
3.local Taiwanese eatery and market
4. Massage a must try
5. performance by various local artist (guitarist,singer etc)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danshuei also viewed

 

Been to Danshuei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danshuei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.