We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SunRoom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xinbei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SunRoom
Save
You added SunRoom to your Saves list
No.56 Shuqi Rd. Ruifang Dist., Xinbei 22448, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 144 Xinbei B&B and Inns
4.5 of 5 stars 37 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Worth the Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights as we wanted to use the place as a "home base" to explore Jiufen Old Street and the surroundings. The location is excellent as it is within walking distance to Jiufen Old Street, the convenience stall and bus-stop. The rooms are spacious and clean, and have a good scenic view of the surroundings. The owners are very friendly and helpful. As it was raining on the day we wanted to visit Jiufen Old Street, they gave us a ride there so that we wouldn't be caught in the rain. The breakfast we had on both days were tasty and filling. There are 2 resident dogs and a cat as well which are cute and adorable. Definitely worth the stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the busy area in Jiufen, this b&b is worth a stay for more than a night. Wake up to the beautiful misty Jiufen with a wonderful view from your room and enjoy the homemade breakfast. It might be hard to locate at first. Do note you have to drive or walk down a steep slope before you arrive at the gate.
It was a pity we did not get to meet the host, Dora. However, the helper was excellent in her service. We are really grateful to her for preparing breakfast for us one hour before the usual time and giving us ziploc bags to takeaway the unfinished portions. :) Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Happy that we made the right choice to stay here. This first thing was when everyone heard that we were staying at JiuFen for 2 nights, they advised was too long. They answered were you will be bored and nothing to do. We stayed there on 2-4 Dec, for 2 nights. At first we booked for 3 nights stay but my girl not so keen of that so we change to 2 nights just 2 weeks before our trip. Dora was nice to allow us to change.

I find that 2 nights just nice and if not travelling with kids we will want to stay even longer. It was very peaceful and quiet enviornment. Especially in the morning, when you sit at the balcony you can hear the sound of the wave from far. As our room has the sea facing and has a great view. I really loved this place and the surrounding. The room was big, having two level. Most of the time we were upstair as the view was better and with the TV.

Walking to the JiuFen old street, you may take the stairs but it was very tiring. You may want to to a bus, as the bustop just outside the Sun Room (5-10 mintues walk). When you want to come back from the Old Street you may take the stairs down. Walking down will be better compare to climbing the stairs with hundreds over step.....Lot of fun at the old street. During the night most of the shop will close so do pack some food from the old street for the night. Just a day tour to JiuFen is a bit too rush, if you want to enjoy JiuFen at least one night stay. But to me I will said not enough, 2 nights just nice.

Dora was very helpful and nice. She will check with us regarding our breakfast, especially my kids don't like vegetable I have requested her to make just sunny side up eggs for them. They are flexible and friendly.

My advise is to travel light by bus when you are here, unless a few of you, you may booked a cab like us. To start off our day, the driver brought us for breakfast before heading to Yeliu and having seafood lunch at a resturant for local, Shifen then heading to Jiufen Mingsu. The cost was NT3,500.00 but if you were to take a cab back to Taipei that will be NT1,000.00, that depend on individual.

Indeed a great place to stay and I am looking forward to be back again without kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Room is exactly as the pics on their website and the pic says it all ! Booking was fast and easy by emailing them. The room we booked, is right next to the reception/breakfast area. We can hear noises as we are so closed to reception/breakfast area, if they can improve the sound proofing, it would be perfect ! We stayed on 30 Oct which was the 2-days non-stop heavy rain and we couldn't do much in JiuFen. Although the weather was bad, the view from the room was great. The breakfast provided (sandwich + fresh fruits) is awesome !
1 thing to suggest : Adding some street lamps from the main road, down the stairways till we get the minsu's entrance (abt 2-3 mins' walk) would be very good in the late evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for a night at Jiufen in end October 2012. Love the place! The view was awesome! The room for 2 pax that I stayed in '黑甜蜜' is very beautiful and clean.. After a tiring walk at Jiufen, it's wonderful to relax in this MinShu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We got to stay in their best room with a seaview from the bedroom and balcony. We paid 7000 NTD for a family room for 4 adults. Only breakfast is provided free and the rest of the meal for the day, you may have to eat-out. The lady boss, Ms Dora is helpful and friendly. A team of 3 people run this B & B and you will find the breakfast a delight and tasty. You can enjoy also the company of 3 pets, a white dog, a cat and the darling of everyone, a brown dachshund.

Recommended 1 to 2 night stay if you are touring Jiufen instead of doing a day-trip there. Generally, the place is more peaceful as compared to Taipei- city. The altitude and the nearby mountainous terrrain will make you relax and enjoy the place. The chirping of the birds and the fresh air will calm your spirit. Believe us, we have done it.

We think this is one of the better run B & B in Jiufen. Enjoy the creative art and handicrafts around the place and in your room, as these are created by the owners. This is a popular place and the 2nd phase of expansion at the property is already underway. We like the place.

Room Tip: The upper corner room facing North gives you a good view of the mountain and sea. Premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a great trip to Taiwan last December that I missed the East Coast ocean view so much. We returned to a typhoon Taiwan and found that the North East coast was unaffected. We did not have a good impression of Jioufen 九份, but I was so attracted by what SunRoom placed on their website. The impression of Jioufen 九份 was completely changed because low tourist traffic during this typhoon period and also because of SunRoom .陽光味宿. We stayed in the Moonlight Attic that is really a unit with a loft for 4. Great view, wonderful deco, complete with jazz hi-fi and our own wifi router. Wish I can give it a 6-star!
You can read more about it and see more photo on my travel blog for Taiwan December 2012 Day 7 and Day 8.
http://1place1dream.blogspot.sg/2012/06/taiwan-june-2012-day-8.html

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunRoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunRoom

Address: No.56 Shuqi Rd. Ruifang Dist., Xinbei 22448, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Xinbei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Xinbei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
SunRoom Taiwan/Xinbei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunRoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.