We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They cancelled our booking less than 2 mths before our wedding” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nestleton Waters Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nestleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nestleton Waters Inn
3440 Beacock Road, Nestleton, Ontario L0B 1L0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Destination Wedding Deal!
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“They cancelled our booking less than 2 mths before our wedding”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

My fiance and I rented the property for our wedding to be held this past Aug 2009, and less than 2 months before our wedding date they canceled our booking VIA EMAIL citing various reasons that were unfounded. Prior to the cancellation they were many outrageous demands made by Deborah i.e. build a fence around our property because the LCBO mandates this, take home your own garbage, booking the carriage house and then canceling it, then renting it to someone else, changing the contract 8 times, we had an original contarct. No warning was given just you are canceled it's your fault you did not agree or cooperate to our terms and we will not refund your money until you sign a waiver stating that you will not sue us.

I would recommend strongly not to have your wedding here as this venue has no experience in hosting weddings.

My wedding which I spent 1 year planning was ruined.

I was completely devastated to say the least. All because the venue was unorganized and got cold feet.

Do not book here please you will regret it.

  • Liked — I dont recommed this accomocation to anyone
  • Disliked — The unprofessional service
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nestleton, Part Owner at Nestleton Waters Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
We had the pleasure of meeting this lovely couple before our Inn opened, and anticipated hosting them as our first bride and groom. Because of the needs of their 300 guests, we rushed to build ammenities we'd not planned to add until our second season, a lit overflow parkinglot, our new Carriage House, our island tented reception site with a stone floor, putting tiki torches and lamps around the water, a limosine golf cart shuttle service and much more.

We worked on their wedding for months but did so for no charge except the cost of their accommodation as they were our first wedding. Unfortunately this couple refused to grasp that the local authorities have limits for facility-use based on safety and other regulations that we all must adhere to. They refused to acknowledge much less agree to any documented regulatory requirements for their wedding and unilateraly decided to increase their guest list to 600 which our facility could not handle at this phase of construction. Permission was not sought for this decision, nor were any monies paid for said increases. We made every effort to bring clarity and to facilitate, but when in spite of repeated negotiations they did not seem to grasp local laws and safety requirements, our family felt it was better to cancel on them and give them a full refund while there was still time for them to pursue something larger to meet their events' expanding needs, than for local authorities to have to shut down the event and publicly humiliate them. We wish this couple well in life, business, and personally.

It has been our pleasure to host 24 weddings and over 1000 guests since then. In our first season we've had visitors from Africa, the US, Japan, China, England, Scotland, Isreal, Australia and elsewhere! We've built many warm memories. A family business my husband designed the Inn, he and his dad built it, just the two of them, over a four year period. Later mom and I had the pleasure of decorating the suites with international reflections of different cultures that we love and have visited around the world. Given that our family has personally sacrificed and invested so much, it is our wish that every guest leave feeling as special, as we feel about them! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
25
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first

Been to Nestleton Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nestleton Waters Inn

Address: 3440 Beacock Road, Nestleton, Ontario L0B 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Nestleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Nestleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weddings: Up to 60 Guests year-round inside, or to 200 mid-May to mid-October in custom white Cathedral tent on island with stone-piazza floor. Accessed past waterfront ceremony site (white hand-forged wrought-iron arbour); then over bridge. Enjoy night tiki torches and lit fountain for a starry paradise! B&B/ Business: “Durham Sideroads” Magazine featured, situated on 93 acres, surrounded by forest, spring-fed pond, just an hour from Toronto, experience suites uniquely themed from around world! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nestleton Waters Hotel Nestleton
Nestleton Waters Inn Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nestleton Waters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nestleton Waters Inn to your Saves list