We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Docton Mill Gardens & Tea Rooms

Docton Mill Gardens & Tea Rooms
Docton Mill | Lymebridge, Hartland EX39 6EA, England
01237 441369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Hartland
Attraction details
york
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We did not have tea. Big mistake as probably this is the only reason for visiting. Gardens were pleasant but awfully overpriced at £4.50 per person. Much of the garden is wilderness, which it is easy enough to see aroundabout for free! Also the gardens are not very large and the whole time we were there the man of the house was sawing up logs with a very noisy electric saw that totally destroyed the atmosphere. Wish we had asked for our money back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    10
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Garden lovingly restored”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

It's worth a visit if in the area although I would not make a detour, but to their credit it is well sign-posted. A stop off can be incorporated into a variety of pleasant walks. The menu is what you would expect - soup, sandwiches, cake, teas and drinks - but I have had better in the area. We have always found the staff pleasant so no complaints on that front. Be prepared for the inevitable bees and wasps; after all it is a garden.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best Cream Tea in Devon?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We sought this place out after deciding our first Devon cream tea was long overdue. We arrived late in the day and didn't stop to see the gardens but the owners were very accommodating to fit us in despite how close it was to closing. They were friendly and welcoming and happy to stop and chat about the local area and attractions.

The tea itself was superb - the scones were still warm, lovingly made and very tasty. The cream and jam were both excellent. The only downside to the experience - our eyes were bigger than our stomachs and we left feeling somewhat uncomfortably full - but we can hardly hold Docton Mill responsible for our gluttony!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfriendly owners and horrible boring landscape!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were really disappointed of this place. After we've heard of the great teehouse we thaught it is a "must see"... But it is not at all!! Entrance is DEFINETLY too much, because in the garden there is nothing special to see. You could see everything outside of it too!
But you wouldn't have to walk this slippery, hard and dangerous way up to the borring plants. Especially if you are a bit older or walk there with a dog it is nearly unpossible to come up"stairs" to the plants.
But although i am 17 year old soccerplayer it was hard work...
To be fair the scones in the teeroom are quite delicious. But this isn't a reason for the rude behaviour of the owner... He obviously doesn't know what it means to have visitors in his garden. Otherwise he would perhaps be more friendly to them!
I think there are so manny further gardens in cornwall that are absolutely great places to visit.
Do not waist your time with this one. The tasteful scones don't appologize for ANYthing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Its a small country garden serving very nice lunches and great cream teas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

One of my favourite places in North Devon. Even when its raining there is a sheltered eating room. Soup, sandwiches, salads and cream teas on offer while your eyes take in the array of lovely flowers around. Don't expect a huge estate, this is a small country garden with a river running through and a working mill wheel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Docton Mill Gardens & Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Docton Mill Gardens & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Docton Mill Gardens & Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.