We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, just don't expect a resort like experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalets Sous-le-Vent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bouillante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalets Sous-le-Vent
Save
You added Chalets Sous-le-Vent to your Saves list
Route de Poirier | Pigeon, Bouillante 97125, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect, just don't expect a resort like experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

ok, so this year I intended to save a bundle on vacations but still travel and enjoy my time, so I decided to go to Guadeloupe and rent chalets instead of staying in a Hotel. This was my first shot at this kind of vacations. I am used to eating out, having the beach right at my font door and having breakfast included. So I start off stating the obvious: you need a car to go to the beach, dont even think about walking!!! its a huge way up to the chalet on returm. You have to buy your own groceries, and you also need a car to have lunch or dinner if you decide to eat out. Buy shampoo and soap. The chalets are (at least mine) very small, but you have a very nice private balcony to sit and enjoy (no ac on my unit also). If this is ok for you, than you will love chalets sous le vent. Great owners, listen to their advice, they offered us a bottle of rum to try the ti punch and a fruit basket from their garden. they also lent us flippers for snorkeling. The pool is nice, but used it for 5 minutes at most. All chalets have bird "houses" and its very nice to watch them. Pigeon is great for diving and snorkeling, and although I am no expert, it is considered the best diving spot in guadeloupe. I can honestly say that without question it is more confortable to stay at a resort, but staying at Sous le vent allowed us to have a much more genuine (rustic) experience, and to learn more about the culture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souslevent, Propriétaire at Chalets Sous-le-Vent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure meeting you and diving with you also.
Looking forward to see you maybe again soon.
sunny greetings from Guadeloupe.

Alex & Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Where to start....?

My work sends me to some great hotels and I wanted to relax and try something different on a holiday: self-catering.

Even before arriving in Guadeloupe, the hosts were happy to make arrangements for car rental (a must) from the airport. They would answer any questions and give useful advice for the holiday.

Beginning the holiday by arriving in Guadeloupe without luggage was not a good start to this first self-catering experience.

Alex and Véronique, our hosts were extremely accommodating and lent us vital supplies: swimsuits, beach towels and an extremely warm welcome! This welcome included a bottle of local rum, a fresh lime and some juice waiting on the terrace. We were even invited to a morning snorkle with the full kit with flippers.

The well-equipped chalet, with large terrace, is located overlooking a groomed tropical garden and inviting swimming pool. Drinking coffee, or any beverage, in the surroundings cannot be more relaxing. The vast ocean with islands and a small volcano can be seen since we are on a small hill.

Beaches are not far away. Scuba diving is a must. Our hosts are keen to advise of any leisure activity on the island. Their recommendations are factual and optimistic.

Overall, a wonderful self-catering chalet set in relaxing surroundings. It does help when the hosts are so helpful! It would be great to return one day... Highly recommended!

Thank you, Alex & Véronique!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souslevent, Propriétaire at Chalets Sous-le-Vent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
thank you very much for staying wit us, and for your nice comments,
it was a pleasure welcoming you here.

hope to see you again soon.
Sunny greetings from Guadeloupe.

Alex & Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook, HI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at the beautiful Chalets Sous-le-Vent for several days in June, 2011, while we were diving Pigeon Island. The owners are a young Canadian French couple who are on-site to help with anything you need. They speak English. Each little cabin is great. Clean. You'll be surrounded by flowers. There is a small pool and a view of Pigeon Island from it. You're only a 10 min. drive from the dive shop. It's very safe, too. I would highly recommend this place for either a romantic getaway or just a place to hang out with friends while on vacation. The price is great. The cabins have a small, but efficient, kitchen next door to them. The owners supply everything you need to cook for yourself though we enjoyed eating out.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souslevent, Owner at Chalets Sous-le-Vent, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for your nice review and comments, it was a pleasure welcoming you here.

One small precision, we are not Canadian. Véronique is a French citizen and I am a Swiss national from the French side of Switzerland.

Sunny Greetings from Guadeloupe!

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had such a lovely stay at Chalets Sous-le-Vent. Our flight was delayed and our luggage arrived two days later... but the hosts Alex and Veronique were so helpful following up on this and also gave us swimwear so we could go snorkling next morning!

The chalets are in a beautiful peaceful location, was great to dip into a pool for a morning swim and drink coffee on the veranda. Room was cosy and tidy. Alex gave us plenty tips for what to do and see and where to eat in the area. Lovely beaches are only a short drive away and the island itself is amazing, a little paradise!

Really hope we will come and stay with you again. Great hospitality is always appreciated and goes a long way.

P.S. I like your cats! :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Upon arriving you will be swept away by the beautiful setting. Next, you will feel the warmth of the reception from Alex and Veronique. Upon entering your neat cottage, Veronique or Alex will show you how to mix your Ti-Punch ( a local rum concoction). Have a sip and then have a nap in the hammock on the veranda.
Come evening and crickets and frogs start their musical chirping.
Walk to the local Creole restaurant for a gourmet meal, or if you arrived earlier in the day and thought to stop at the grocery store and the bakery on your way to the Chalets Sous-le-Vent, you can eat your first meal on your porch in the lovely evening breeze.
We stayed for nine days, and wish we had been able to stay much longer....we'll be back soon I hope!
corresponding with Alex before our trip was great and he got us a car to rent and we learned a lot about things to do in and around the island.
Just go there!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

I have been to Chalets Sous-le-Vent 3 years in a row and will certainly return. The managers are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you make the most of your trip. The Bungalows are impeccable. Comfortable, quiet and in the middle of a beautiful tropical garden. If you have ever experienced Swiss hospitality, this is the text book epitome of perfection!!

It's just 10 minutes away from the most wonderful beaches and diving spots in the Caribbean, and great treks in the jungle, so plenty to keep you busy during the day. In the evening there are several quaint restaurants to choose from just a short drive away.

I can't wait to go back to the Chalets Sous-le-Vent. It's simply a dream!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, NL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

I have selected the bungalows after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and I have to say: i made a good choice...lovely exotic garden, bungalows are prefect equipped with everything one needs to cook, rooms are simple but cozy, Alex(the owner) is very helpful and asnwering all my questions:)
For breakfast the colibris will pass by, during the day we followed the advice to try the diving in Reserve Cousteau and were impressed.

As the property is up hill, its much fresher up there than next to the sea.
A great place for a relaxing/sportive stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalets Sous-le-Vent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Sous-le-Vent

Address: Route de Poirier | Pigeon, Bouillante 97125, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Bouillante
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Bouillante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Véronique & Alex welcome you in their fully equipped cottages located in a 2'300sqm tropical garden with a swimming pool and sea view, facing the "Réserve Cousteau" marine park in Guadeloupe. Diving spots and beach 5 min. away by car.Swiss owners and alumni of the Lausanne Hotel Management School.Special offers for scuba-divers on our websiteAccommodations:- Cottages 2+1 pers- Bungalow with aircon 2-3 pers- Twin cottage 4+2 pers (2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms) with a covered terrace for groups up to 10 persons ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalets Sous-Le-Vent Guadeloupe/Bouillante

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalets Sous-le-Vent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.