We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clos Saint Ange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilde-Guingalan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clos Saint Ange
Save
You added Clos Saint Ange to your Saves list
19 rue des Templiers | Vildé-Guingalan, 22980 Vilde-Guingalan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for the last two days of our trip to Brittany. Dominique, our hostess gave us a very friendly welcome to her beautiful home,which has been restored in a very tasteful and interesting way. The decor is delightful with many artistic touches wherever one looked. The bedroom was large, with a comfortable bed and additional sitting area with TV and overloooked the large attractive garden.The seperate bathroom and toilet were both beautifully clean with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was a real treat with everything one could wish for including home made conserves and cakes. Nothing was too much trouble for Dominique and we wish that we had been able to stay for longer. We will certainly return here soon.
PS.
Easy road access to the rest of the area, in a very quiet location. Dominique speaks very good English if you have concerns about language.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
79
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at Clos Saint Ange in June 2012 as part of our anniversary trip to France.
This B and B was PERFECT. Beautiful immaculately clean one bedroom/one bathroom living space. One could not hope for a more welcoming, relaxed site. Once you walk in the front door you will feel like you are home.
This particular area of Brittany is the best spot for touring, hiking, coast line vistas, history. And Dominique will patiently give you all the tips to make sure you have the perfect experience, complete with hand-drawn maps every morning. She'll help you with your your French; or speak in English, whichever you prefer. That's after a hearty breakfast, with different homemade breads each morning.
All the reviews here seem to agree with what I am saying. But this is a special place. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 6 enjoyable & relaxing nights at the tranquil Clos Saint Ange Dinan. Our room was spacious, comfortable & spotlessly clean. The full breakfast each morning included a freshly baked treat which set us up very well for a days sightseeing. Clos Saint Ange is very well located just off the N176 motorway & conveniently located for all the main tourist attractions. The highlight of our stay was our delightful hostess Dominique who provided us with the local knowledge required to find the places off the tourist track. We discovered places which we would not otherwise have found. She also provided invaluable recommendations to local restaurants. We hope to return in future & would highly recommend Clos Saint Ange.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay with Dominique....the room was comfortable and the shower and bath very clean and modern. The hostess is the real gem...she gave us excellent directions and suggestions for day trips. Her breakfast will spoil you with flan and crepes...bread and yogurts! This is a great base for seeing many sights in Brittany set in a small village and very relaxing and quiet! We took the train from Paris to Caen and rented a car which was very easy to do and an excellent way to see the region. Groups of bikers frequent the roads and the towns have lively market days. It is just minutes to St. Malo and Mont St. Michel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the attic room and it was roomy with a very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becassine22, Propriétaire at Clos Saint Ange, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Merci for your nice comment and have a nice summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent four nights in May 2012 at Clos Saint-Ange in the quiet village of Vildé Guingalan. It is an ideal location for visits to Dinan, Dinard, St. Malo, and Mont St. Michel. Dominique made us feel truly welcome. She speaks good English, but was patient when I wanted to use my limited French. Our room was large and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable. The bath is modern with the WC separate from the salle de bain. There was always plenty of hot water for the shower. The view from our window was the pretty garden with the pasture beyond where Dominique's Shetland ponies were grazing. Breakfast was fresh crusty bread, homemade confitures and patisseries, fruit, yogurt, juice, good coffee and more. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Brittany.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becassine22, Propriétaire at Clos Saint Ange, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Merci for your nice comment and have a nice summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My partner at the time and I stayed here. This place is charming, the food is wonderful, and the gardens are relaxing. We visited in early September. We rented a car from Paris and drove to Dinan -- what a beautiful drive in the countryside. Dinan is such a spectacular place to visit -- peaceful, charming, wonderful friendly people, cozy, secluded, great crepes. This was one of the nicest vacations ever (I am a 40 year old professor from Canada) and this place really added to it. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We have just spent four nights at Clos Saint Ange and highly recommend it. Set in a quiet village 10 minutes from Dinan and 30 from the coast, it offers an ideal base with tranquillity to return to at the end of the tourist day. Large interestingly (!) furnished rooms, very comfortable beds, a lovely garden to enjoy, and an aimiable hostess who knows just what she is doing (and speaks gopod English). If you do get to be there on a night when Dominique is cooking then stay in to eat. Excellent 5 course meal with wines for 30 euros, based on local produce and cuisine. Alternatively Dinan has many eateries on offer (except on a Monday!!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clos Saint Ange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos Saint Ange

Address: 19 rue des Templiers | Vildé-Guingalan, 22980 Vilde-Guingalan, France
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Vilde-Guingalan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vilde-Guingalan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming guest house with two spacious gites and four romantic ensuite "Bed and Breakfast" rooms.This converted farmhouse has been renovated to provide gracious and comfortable accommodation and sits in a garden park which includes trees, flower beds, a children's play area and Shetland ponies.This is an ideal place to rest and enjoy our beautiful region. Dinan is a medieval town full of charm and just next to our village. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clos Saint Ange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.