We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply sensationally good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chambon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House
Save
You added Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House to your Saves list
23 Rue Du Fief Gourmand | Chambon, 17290 Chambon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Chambon B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply sensationally good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the two gites for a week in late October. The gite was clean, pleasant, spacious, well-equipped and warm. But, in the end, this was only a small part of why our stay was so wonderful.

Whilst we had planned a self-catering holiday, we ended up eating at 'the big house' several evenings. With one vegetarian and one non-vegetarian, we both agreed it was some of the best food we had ever eaten (and we do like to eat good food!). It was simply wonderful - I can scarcely remember the detail of the mouth-watering combinations David put together, but WOW! And he was really responsive to our personal preferencess Lorraine was also a tremendous host - detailing the food we were about to eat and keeping glasses topped up! At €25 per head for a three course meal, it was amazing value too. An added huge bonus was that their delightful daughter, Isabel, babysat for our daughter so we could enjoy the wonderful meals in peace! Fabulous. Though they were very happy for our daughter to eat with us (which she did on the first evening) had we wished.

The location was great - very easy to visit the stunning town of La Rochelle and the beautiful Ile de Ré. As well as many other interesting things to see and do in the area. The gite is packed with tourist type info and the Tomlinsons are very knowledgeable too.

We had a look around the guest rooms before leaving and they were beautiful - so we would definitely consider the chambre d'hôte option at some point.

I would be astonished if we didn't return. Big thanks to the Tomlinsons.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C. Area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've been back to Tomlins twice and can't recommend it enough. The guest house is a cozy escape set in the bucolic Chambon countryside, a little over two hours by train from Paris. From the moment you step through the door, David and Lorraine make you feel like part of the family. You can do as little or as much as you want – leisurely walks through nearby country towns, biking the countryside, to touring nearby areas like La Rochelle, Bordeaux, or islands like Ile de Re off the Atlantic coast. One of the other big draws here is David's delectable cooking. My last visit, I brought friends who are not vegetarian and none of them missed the meat, they in fact thought the food was some of the best they'd ever eaten. We will never forget the fun day we spent in cooking class with David. The recipes we followed were creative yet simple enough to re-create at home and we learned lots of new techniques in a fun and relaxed atmosphere. I can't wait to return again!

Room Tip: I recommend taking a cooking class and including the dinner option. Loved our day trip to Ile de Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidtChambon17290, Propriétaire at Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thanks for your comments and brilliant photos. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here a while back and could not recommend it highly enough. A very special place with delicious food, fine wine, great conversation. Thanks David Lorraine and your lovely daughters for making us all feel so welcome and providing a special opportunity to enjoy hands on vegetarian cooking in a lovely peaceful part of France. Wondering when I can plan the next trip???

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidtChambon17290, Propriétaire at Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thankyou. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Tomlins after staying with friends near Limoges. We do not usually holiday in France because of difficulties with veggie food - especially 'up market' evening meals.(apart from the south of France).

The accommodation is fine - as we were the only people staying in a quiet period just after Easter we were given the choice of staying in the house or the one of the self catering apartments across the courtyard. The rooms in the house looked lovely but we opted for the privacy of the apartment.

The highlight is the food. My wife has run a vegetarian catering business for many years and when we holiday we try to find the best restaurants serving vegetarian food. We have eaten in vegetarian restaurants all around the world. Her comments on the evening meals at Tomlins were
'Best food / taste combinations I have ever come across. Each meal was excellently thought out and each course complemented the one before and the one after. I just loved it.'

As a meat eater, the food was great. It is of the highest quality. We advised David in advance of an allergy - and then the food just appears. I even liked the lentils which were part of one dish and are usually something I avoid.

Presentation is excellent, wine was to our taste.

David and Lorraine were friendly and helped out with directions etc. La Rochelle was an intersting city - even in the rain. On the way across from Limoges, we stopped at Saintes, which had a mix of interesting history.

In my opinion you are unlikely to find better vegetarian food than this. Its worth a hundred mile detour to stay a couple of nights!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidtChambon17290, Propriétaire at Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thankyou. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've been travelling to Tomlins for the past 7 years now, sometimes twice a year and what can I say...

David's food is totally amazing and original and every vegetarian should sample it!
The guesthouse and gites are immaculate and very nicely decorated with a modern, spacious and airy feel -and the gardens are a pleasure to sit and relax in.
The service provided by this family run business is second to none and nothing is too much trouble and each and every stay has been special and something a bit different (from exceptional black tie Christmas day to our eagerly anticipated stay for our 10th wedding anniversary).

The Charente maritime region is a delight to explore and the Tomlinsons should be commended on their knowledge of the surrounding areas and knowledge of many interesting things to do.

Overall, a wonderful experience with amazing people and food that is out of this world...I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidtChambon17290, Propriétaire at Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We've travelled down from Paris to stay at the Tomlins fantastic place 5 times over a 4 year period. It's quite simply the best! The welcome, the company and of course the food are just the best we've had. The cookery school is a must do and the local area is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruffec, France
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We have stayed at this lovely guesthouse twice now, once at New Year and now in March. What a great place it is. David and Lorraine and their lovely daughters made us feel so at home and gave us a wonderful New Year complete with party games! The food is marvelous with lots of imaginative vegetarian food and the breakfast with scrambled eggs is wonderful. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable and quiet and the bathroom is nice. You can also hire gites or attend David's cookery courses. Would certainly recommend this guesthouse and hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House

Address: 23 Rue Du Fief Gourmand | Chambon, 17290 Chambon, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente > Chambon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chambon
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomlins is set in the beautiful Charente Maritime area of France. Ideally situated to explore the Atlantic coast and the historic sea port of La Rochelle. Other places within easy rreach are Cognac, the Marais Poitevin and the iles of Ré, Oleron and Aix. The nearest airport is at La Rochelle and there are airports at Bordeaux, Nantes and Poitiers all within 2 hours drive. The TGV from Paris stops at Surgeres, a mere 10 minutes away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomlins Vegetarian Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.