We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a nice place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Surazo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Surazo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Surazo
Avenida Matanzas In front of the beach, Matanzas, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Matanzas B&B and Inns
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
“Really a nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent two days in the Surrazo. It has a unique architecture and is situated directly on the beach just a few meters off the water. The hotel is really cool, lots of wood and integrating the old trees into the building.

They have a restaurant I would rate as world class. Ok, the portion sizes are not suited to feed hungry surfers after a hard day ripping but the food can compete with top restaurants in any capital of the world!

On the downside the terracces of the oceanside rooms are not so well protected from wind, so at this time of the year it was too cold to use them. But the "Spa" area is well protected and sunny, so one can go there.

Unfortunately it is quite an expensive enjoyment to stay at the Surrazo (about 170 USD per night for 2 persons). So not the best hotel for anyone who wants to do a low budget surfing trip ;).

Room Tip: There are oceanfront rooms which have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have to preface this with the fact that we did not stay at the actual hotel overnight, we spent the day here with some family who introduced us to this place. We did tour the rooms though and they looked perfect with this wonderful balcony that sits right on the beach. How amazing to go to sleep looking at the ocean. The staff at this place was amazing, very friendly and accomodating. My husband went to surf and I ended up taking lessons with my uncle. I think the guys there doubted my husband a little and got nervous when he wanted one of the prized boards to go on, but they eventually let him and he got some great waves. I took a lesson, but unfortuantely they gave me an instructor that didn't speak English, however we got along just fine with my broken spanish.

I have to give them kudos for being in the middle of nowhere they did a phenomenal job. Also a person tip, the ceviche at the restaurant is to die for. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Meern / The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The end of November 2011 we stayed in this beautiful Hotel direct near the beach. Amazing location and views. This hotel gives first class service. All the bedrooms are perfect. A exellent kitchen. Perfect. So what you need more for a plesant stay. For surfing in this area are exellent possibillities and they can give you more advices. Special thanks are going out to the whole team who makes our stay to a beautifull memory. Stay who you are and where you are standing for.
Jose en Rik Zuurveen - Hollanda / The Netherlands.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

After spending one night here I found this not only to be a cool surfing-spot, but also an amazing place. Very special and original architecture which keeps you in touch with the beautiful wild desolated black beach it is situated on. The outdoor hot-tubs, warm staff, comfortable rooms and topclass food make this an almost spalike experience. Really recommended and worthy to visit, even though it is a bit off the beaten track and even if you are - like me - not a surfer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I spent a few days here with my fiance in June 2009. It was a bit challenging to get to this tiny hotel, but well worth the trip a million times over. The beach is stunning and a great place to explore. We were off season, but its an amazing spot for surfing. The rooms were chic, modern, and just a little decadent. Our host was also an amazing chef and incredibly friendly. I highly recommend you make the trip to this hotel.

The outdoor wood-fired wooden hot tubs are not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

The place is awesome for surfing and windsurfing, good winds most of the time, beach break wave and nice lonely waves all over.
The Hotel is comfortable and nice with big rooms, very clean, try the food at the restaurant, delicious. And of course don't forget to see the sunset from the hot tub.
I am definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

The hotel is very nice with very confortable rooms, all with direct acess to the beach. Personal staff is nice and the restaurant is great.

Stayed April 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Surazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surazo

Address: Avenida Matanzas In front of the beach, Matanzas, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Matanzas
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Matanzas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Surazo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Surazo Chile/Matanzas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Surazo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.