We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meringa Springs

Save Saved
You added Meringa Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meringa Springs
2974 Northern Grampians Road | Wartook Valley, Wartook, Victoria 3401, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Huge attention to detail has gone into planning this accommodation, with everything from the sunken fireplace to the proper shoe-and-luggage storage area in the rooms to the remote-controlled pool cover designed with quality and comfort in mind. The owners are discreetly helpful, and great cooks, with Paul's Swiss origins coming through very strongly in the menu choices. The dining area and infinity pool are both set up to catch the best possible view of the stunning sunset over the mountains, and it's worth getting up in the middle of the night to step outside and gape at the wonder that is the Milky Way. A couple of small points for improvement: the pre-packaged individual jam portions strike a jarring note when everything else is local/freshly-prepared; and why do so many upmarket hotels use Molton Brown toiletries? - they look stylish, but really don't smell nice. (I realise that this makes me sound spoilt and pampered: if that's the biggest problem in my life I really can't complain).

Room Tip: Our rooms had wonderful double showers, but not the spa bath that others have spoken about - specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The lodge here was the best accommodation we experienced in Australia with a large double bedroom, huge bathroom with twin spa bath and twin shower and a sitting room. A beautiful wood floor and meticulously tilled bathroom with no expense spared on fitments gave a luxurious experience in a very rural location. It was delightful to wake to watch kangaroos from our villa in the ealy mornings and again in late afternoons. We also enjoyed the infinity pool in the late afternoons after energetic hikes during the day. Paul, Gail and Bea made us very welcome advising on places to visit, walks and their wine list. Dinners were good but lacked choice and variety whilst the simple addition of a choice of cooked eggs would have made a big difference to nice breakfasts. It is a rural area and pretty isolated and a drive to other restaurants, however for a short stay the food was good.

Room Tip: The villas are superb and have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location, setting, welcome, service and accommodation are all excellent, but dinner and breakfast are not up to the same high standard. The Hotel is secluded with bar, restaurant, swimming pool and guest rooms making the most of the stunning outlook with dusk kangaroo spotting and sunset wonderful. Our villa room was vast as described by other visitors and spotlessly clean. The family could not have been more helpful with suggestions for our daily walking and visit activities. Eating out is really not an option given the distance to the nearest towns and dinner choices are required in the morning to assist catering. Dinner is simple home cooking; good quality and tasty, but prices were more in line with City Centre Melbourne restaurants and breakfast was really quite basic and overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We arrived here at the end of an eight week touring holiday of Australia so were well experienced at sussing out places and also a little weary.
Meringa Springs is a 50 acre site which is nicely landscaped and and offers unrestricted views across to the mountains which are picturesque. The ground in between is home to mobs of kangaroos which appear in the early morning and late afternoon. Its a quiet place.
We arrived mid afternoon and checked into one of the rooms in the main building. It was comfortable and well furnished with large sliding doors out onto a terrace which had the view described above. There is a very nice swimming pool which is good after a long day walking or driving.
On arrival we were asked if we were going to dine in that evening and as it is at least a 45 minute drive down to Halls Creek we said yes. The choice was limited to steak, lamb and veal.
At dinner there were only a couple of other people which is a bit too quiet for my liking. The meal was basic but the quality of the meat was good and it was well cooked.
There is a comfortable bar/sitting room area alongside the dining room again with the spectacular view to the mountains.
"B", the proprietor, and chef/waitress joined us for a chat and was a mine of information about the local countryside and helped us sort out the following days activities.
This place is well located for exploring the Grampians.
I agree with one of the other reviewers about the breakfast being a little sparse and this is something which can easily be put right.
Meringa Springs is a family run establishment which is smart and comfortable. Its in a lovely location with easy access into the Grampians. It is quiet with not much going on in the evenings except kangaroo watching. The cuisine is simple but well prepared. If thats the kind of thing you like you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Paul, Gail and Bea could not have made us more welcome at their wonderful lodge. Catering for a small number of guests, it is set in beautifully landscaped grounds with each room designed for maximum privacy. We stayed in a Terrace Spa Villa which comprised a sitting room, capacious bed room, dressing area and bathroom with spa bath (great after climbing mountains!), huge shower and twin hand basins. The sitting room led out onto a deck overlooking the Wartook Valley which, as dusk fell, filled with kangaroos and clouds of sulphur crested cockatoos. In the lodge itself, the bar and dining areas are delightful with panoramic westward views which frame the sun as it sets over the valley. There is an open fire should the evenings be cold. We stayed two nights and enjoyed convivial company in the bar, delicious evening meals and good breakfasts.

In addition, there is an infinity pool which affords great views over the valley and the adjacent mountains.

We found the Lodge ideally situated for exploring the Western side of the Grampians as we wanted to head 'off the beaten track' and do some bush walking and climbing, but it would be equally easy to drive to Halls Gap and explore the many sights on offer in that part of the National Park. We were sad to leave Meringa Springs after only two nights and could have happily stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Terrace Spa Villa which we would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe Uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This luxury hotel/Lodge is set in almost 50 acres of gently contoured farmland in the midst of the Grampian Mountains. A beautiful location in the open countryside and clearly the home territory of a tranquil hoard of Kangaroos. In the morning and just before dusk they softly bound by, many with their baby passengers on board chewing the dusty well cropped pasture, a truly idyllic experience.
We were upgraded to a spacious and superbly well appointed detached villa situated close to the lodge. The sheer quality of this accommodation is exceptional as is the level of hospitality provided by the consummately professional hosts. Breakfast and dinner were a culinary delight and served in a very warm and homely environment with great views.

Room Tip: I can recommend the Villa accommodation although I'm sure the rooms in the lodge would also be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last week I got a chance to visit the Grampians National Park and stayed at the Meringa Springs Lodge. This place may not be too big but it is luxurious and offers wonderful facilities at a very reasonable price. The décor is very stylish and the outdoor heated pool is awesome. The food here is great and the host are very friendly and courteous. I am in love with this place and I am definitely coming here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meringa Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meringa Springs

Address: 2974 Northern Grampians Road | Wartook Valley, Wartook, Victoria 3401, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Wartook
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Wartook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Meringa Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meringa Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.