We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy trail with great reward” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watchman Trail

Watchman Trail
Zion National Park, UT
Improve this listing
Type: Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Easy trail with great reward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a super easy trail with some pretty amazing views at the end. If you are short on time or don't have energy for any big hikes, choose this. There is a little elevation gain but requires nothing technical, just the ability to walk and breathe. The views from the top are pretty amazing. Zion is my favorite NP. I'm glad we took the time for this little gem this time around.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great "medium" trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Looking to get off of the flat trails, but not get out of your comfort zone with elevation or length? This is an excellent mid-range trail in Zion, with fantastic views and many nice photo opportunities. You will get a decent workout, but the climb is not overly strenuous. Make sure to complete the loop at the top to see the panorama.

This trail is not well signed near the visitor center, so at first we did not know where to start. You can catch this trail between the overflow parking area and the river by the campground. In about 1/5 mile, you will cross the street that passes the overflow parking and you will then see the actual trailhead sign.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Moderate Hike from Visitor Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This moderate hike offers a good break from some of the more strenuous trails at Zion and Bryce for an "off day" or starter at Zion. Pretty easy for all though does have a few narrow sections on the way up that may present a challenge for those with heights anxiety. Nice views along the way and at the loop on top.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Good Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The watchman trail is moderate to difficult. It doesn't require any climbing, but it does involve a decent elevation gain. On a really hot day, I would call it difficult. We drank a lot of water on the way up (about a liter each), but just took a couple sips on the way down.

The hike itself is very pretty. However, I don't think it competes very well with other hikes in Zion. This is because you aren't really in the deep depths of Zion. The trailhead starts at the bus station where people get on the shuttle to go deeper into the park. The final overlook is essentially a view of Springdale, UT. It's pretty, and if it weren't being compared to the rest of Zion, i'd probably give it a five.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a moderate hike located near the visitor center. I wouldn't recommend hiking it when there's showers because it can get quite muddy and a little slippery.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watchman Trail also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Watchman Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watchman Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.