We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy nice hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pa'rus Trail

Pa'rus Trail
Zion National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“easy nice hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

its one of the hikes where you are allowed to take strollers and bicycles. My wife and I along with our 2 year old walked on this trail twice. its a nice flat hike, easily doable. lot of places where you can take nice pictures. Also my wife took my son on bicycle ride on this trail and he loved it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kanab, Utah
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice, Easy Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is perhaps the easiest of all the hikes in Zion - bikes and dogs are allowed. Please note that technically, this is the only trail in Zion that allows dogs! It's a very easy path from the Visitor's Center to the confluence of roads at the mouth of Zion Canyon, and there is a shuttle stop at the end, so no worries. There is also a spur trail if you want to go to the museum while walking this trail.

If you've got a party member with mobility issues, there should be no problem with taking them on this trail - it is paved.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice starter trail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We drove out from Vegas and arrived to our hotel 5 min from Zion at 2:30. Headed over to Zion and took the shuttle to the trail start. It was a perfect introduction to the Park - all level, paved, beautiful views, saw a black & white king snake. It's a nice walk, not a "hike". Our 10 & 12 year old boys loved going into the water - there were HUGE boulders to play on. Could probably do in 1 hour but took us 2.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Scenic and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Pa’rus is a great trail for a walk with the kids or leisurely stroll with the dog—it’s as easy as ambling through the neighborhood, only the brick houses of the suburbs don’t surround you, the giant towers of Zion do--unreal views in every direction.

But even if you’re a hardcore hiker, the Pa’rus can be a thrill. I certainly found it so. Perhaps this was because it was the first hike I took in Zion, as I got there late in the day and didn’t have much time to do anything else. However, turns out it’s just as great seeing Zion Canyon from the canyon floor as it is from the summits of the more popular trails. It’s a good introduction to the park. And you’ll have companions, too. Finches and a few woodpeckers hopped around the trees, and near a road crossing a mule deer buck appeared from behind the brush and stared me down.

There are better trails in Zion, sure, but not one step of the Pa’rus Trail is wasted time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
849 reviews 849 reviews
562 attraction reviews
Reviews in 292 cities Reviews in 292 cities
1,290 helpful votes 1,290 helpful votes
“The Watchman at Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Pa’rus Trail is a paved trial about 1 ¾ mi (2.8 km) long, one-way, that follows the Virgin River from the South Campground to Canyon junction. Not only is this trial handicapped accessible, it is also the only trail in Zion that allows bikes and dogs. While this is not really our type of trail, it does offer wonderful views and photographic opportunities of the Watchman and the Virgin River at sunset from the Canyon Junction end of the trail. If you prefer the views and photography without hiking this busy, paved trail, Canyon Junction is accessible by car year-round; however, parking is very limited and I noticed tickets were being given to illegally parked cars so you may wish to take the shuttle which stops here as well. The best view and shooting location is from the edge of the vehicle bridge that crosses the Virgin River; be sure to look behind you in the other direction as a good view and shot of the sandstone walls lit with the warm colors of the setting sun often occurs as well. My high rating is due much more to this beautiful, iconic view of the Watchman from the end of the trail than the trail itself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pa'rus Trail also viewed

 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Pa'rus Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pa'rus Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.