We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canyon

Hidden Canyon
Weeping Rock Parking Lot, Zion National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Canyons, National Parks, Nature & Parks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A narrow side ravine that joins Zion Canyon and offers scenic hiking trails.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sandy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Don't recommend if you just got done doing observation point. Lots of sand and never ending slippery rocks. You won't miss it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    33
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Totally pleasant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Cool off with the drops of water that weep from the rocks! The view is great too! It's an uphill climb the whole way up... Just go slow and enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Excellent fun hike with great views and a natural arch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Zion is one of the most beautiful national parks we've ever been too, coming in 2nd to Yosemite.
We had around a full day and a half in the park and wanted to see as much as possible.
We did the Canyon overlook trail, Emerald pools lower, middle and upper trails, weeping rock, Riverside walk trail and our final one was Hidden canyon.
If we ever visit again we will make sure to be ready and prepared and have enough time for the Narrows and Angels landing.
Out of all the trails we did Hidden Canyon was our favorite.
If you have to take the shuttle stop at the Weeping rock stop, you'll see the signs for hidden canyon along with a few others.
The trail is 2.2 miles round trip but add maybe an extra mile round trip if you scramble the canyon to the arch.
It was uphill switchbacks pretty much the whole way, but with beautiful views of Angels landing
Once you get closer to the canyon you have a few areas with chains, but it is nothing too scary and I'm not really good with heights.
Then once you reach the canyon you have the choice of going on or turning back, I would say go on and see the natural arch, there is a little bit of scrambling required but that adds to the fun.
The arch is very pretty and there are some other great things to see going into the canyon.
The trip down is going to be easier and faster just because it's downhill the whole way.
This is a definitely must do hike for Zion, do not miss it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you (like us) can't get to observation point, this is a good compromise. It's a workout not impossible, lots of good views. Clamber over the rock at the entrance to the " hidden canyon" for a short walk through a narrow canyon. (not really a slot canyon since there's no river in it) .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great views on the way up and down...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

You are not taking this moderate hike for a payoff at the end. The payoff is all of the way up and all of the way down. In other words, stop and take pictures of the breathtaking views at almost every turn. We are both 66 and made it up an down without much strain. The start is a bit steep and boring, but the higher you get the better the views and the narrower the trail. At some points chains attached to the rock wall help you steady on the narrow walk way. This is also a very good starter hike for people who have a mid-range hiking ability. The are more wonderful hikes in this park and others like Arches and Bryce.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Canyon also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Hidden Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.