We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery Canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Observation Point

Observation Point
Zion National Park, UT
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Lookouts, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This overlook provides a great view of southern Zion Canyon if you're willing to climb the 2200 feet of elevation to get there.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Mystery Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is one of the more beautiful canyons out there. Not too challenging but it is amazing once you get into the canyon how green it is.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

one of the best walks we've done - better than angels landing in my opinion - awesome views which change round every bend - switch backs, a slip canyon, hidden valleys, grass land and stupendous view everyway you turn. 8 miles there and back but so worth it. WC at the trail head, along with drinking water.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I would rate as harder than moderate but amazing hike and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Kept going up and up and always kept thinking we had to be close to top but trail seemed to go on forever. I was amazed at how different the scenery seemed to change depending on which section of trail you were on. We hiked on Easter Sunday and weather was perfect but I would not want to hike in summer heat. Once we finally got to the top it was all worth it. What a spectacular view. I was surprised I had a phone signal on top and posted a pic on Facebook. Thought going back down was a going to be easy but we were out if shape for hiking at that elevation. Ended up taking us almost 7 hours total with several stops and wish I would have brought more water. This hike is tough but well with it. I wouldn't plan too many other activities on the same day of this hike unless you are in amazing condition.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth every step!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was my favorite hike in Zion. It's tough and long (8 miles round trip), but the view is worth it. You can see all the way back down the canyon, and Observation Point is far above Angel's Landing. As a bonus, after an initial climb, the hike takes you through Echo Canyon, with some great photo opportunities of a slot canyon. Then, it's up, up, up. Start early in the morning, and have the necessary supplies for a strenuous hike.

I am very afraid of heights, so I would not even try the chained walk from Scout's Landing to Angel's Landing the day before. On a couple of the switchbacks heading to Observation Point, I'll admit that I had to keep my focus completely uphill to calm the nerves, but the trail is wide enough in all areas to feel secure. The last portion of the trail is a flat 1/2 mile or so through a wooded area - a welcome way to "top off" the climb.

Make sure you get a photo of the survey marker at the top to prove how high you actually were! Spend some time snacking and enjoying the best views in the Park before you head back down.

As others have said, the spur to Hidden Canyon is somewhat disappointing. It does have some chained parts, though, and footing that is wide enough to traverse rather easily.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went at 630am in June. Start early and the hike up is not hot, elevation can take your breath away. Very peaceful, lots of deer and cute chipmunks. Wear good shoes and bring lots of water and sunscreen. Once your at the tops it's awesome. Way back did. Can hurt your toes prepare with good shoes. Hidden canyon a trail near bottom is okay not really worth your time tho... Nice hike. Go Early early early

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Observation Point also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Observation Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Observation Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.