We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hikes in Zion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Observation Point

Observation Point
Zion National Park, UT
Improve this listing
Type: Lookouts, National Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This overlook provides a great view of southern Zion Canyon if you're willing to climb the 2200 feet of elevation to get there.
Claremont California
1 review
“One of the best hikes in Zion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently hiked to observation point from the Weeping Rock tram stop. The hike is quite difficult, especially for a person like me not in the best shape. However I persisted, rested and took plenty of water, and after 2 hours was having the best lunch of my life from the point. I really recommend it. But take loses of water, a hat, sunblock, and start early in the day as it becomes quite warm.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fun hike. Met folks from Germany Prague Brazil NY city. Fun time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a ride with Zion adventures outfitters to the east Mesa trail. Walked 3.5 miles along well marked trail through the trees. Great time no effort. Got to observation point super beautiful views. Then down to shuttle another three plus miles. Fab views of all the different rock formations and flowers along the way. My 67 year old knees took a beating by it was well worth it. 2200 feet or so change in elevation. You can get to weeping rock which is at the bottom. Would do t again in a New York second

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Worth doing the first part!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am not a big hiker but chose this one as it seemed less scary than Angel's Landing. It was quite demanding in terms of being all uphill on the way up and then all downhill on the way back and is fairly steep. I did find it strenuous even though I run 3-4 times a week and consider myself quite fit. Most things about this hike have already been said but it did occur to me that just doing the first half of the hike would be worth doing and would be a lot less strenuous, and quicker (2-3 hours instead of 5-6). The first part is a bit steep but is on a decent path without the drop-offs that you get higher up and then you go through a narrow canyon which is very scenic - I imagine it to be along the lines of the Narrows (which I didn't do). You eventually get to a point where the trail splits in two and there's a signpost to tell you which way to go. That would make a good turn around point if you only want to do half as after that the trail is quite a steep uphill hike and gets narrower with the sharp drop-offs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Periculam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“an unocmpleted trek”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Confession: I wimped out probably somewhere near the end - there was a section with a drop-off that was too close for my comfort - the rest of the trail until that point was not too challenging. Crowded, but less so than some of the other hikes in Zion.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Scout's Lookout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The 2-3 hour round-trip hike to Scout's Lookout from the trailhead just a small ways from the Zion Lodge is an amazing trek! It has some moderately steep stretches (Walter's Wiggles - a series of hairpin turned switchbacks), but there are vistas at almost every turn. The 1,000-foot drop-offs are breath-taking, and you can decide whether to brave the precipitous final1/4-mile route to the summit of ANgel's Landing. And there are even 2 permanent privies just as you get to Scout's Landing...!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Observation Point also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Observation Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Observation Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Observation Point to your Saves list