We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the twin blind arches at the end” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Creek

Taylor Creek
Kolob Canyons, Zion National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic creek that flows through a secluded, shadowy canyon with steep, high, red cliffs offering an abundant variety of plant and animal life.
Hurricane, Utah
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great view of the twin blind arches at the end”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a 5 mile relatively easy hike. You cross Taylor Creek many time but don't need to worry about getting wet. We started a 9 am and were done by 12 pm, the earlier start was a good idea given the summer heat.
We saw lots of lizards, turkeys and spectacular rock.
Upon our return, we found the stairs up to the trailhead the toughest climb.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A nice quite hike in Kolob Canyons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a nice, easy, level 5 mile hike. You will cross the creek many times on your journey to the double arch alcove at the end. Its not deep, but there are opportunities to get your feet a little wet. You will pass a couple of log cabins along the way and plenty of scenery making for some nice photo opts. This is a nice hike to escape the crowds in Zion's main canyon while still enjoying the sights Zion has to offer.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely easy 5 mile hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

After a strenuous previous day walking Angels Landing..the 40 min drive to Kolob Canyons and taking this quieter more remote trail was a great contrast. Lots of steps at the start, but then it's a straightforward hike, through beautiful Mesa crossing the stream numerous times ( it was not deep when I did this trail) with lovely views. ... And passing two 1930s cabins.... You eventually bump into the cliff face of a mountain...which is formed into a massive two arch amphitheatre......cool and inviting... And hopefully peaceful stop for lunch and photos ( I had a flute player and a rather loud conversation resounding doing my stop) .

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Don't let the stairs at the beginning deter you....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The most difficult part of the hike are the few stairs at the beginning of the trail, it is an easy trail 5 miles RT. We liked the trail more towards the end where the canyon narrows some. It is not far to drive here from the freeway but still is peaceful and quiet (the overlook trail down the road you can hear some traffic in the distance. An easy day hike, not much planning necessary.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

While been in Utah for mainly hiking Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park, we discovered Kolob Canyon. It's a part of the Zion Park, but they are not connected. Kolob Canyon has it's own entrance on the north of the Zion. It is not as huge as Bryce and main Zion, but has amazing views and relatively easy hikes. Unfortunately we only partially hiked on Taylor Creek trail up to the Larson Cabin because it was getting late and we didn't want to be caught in the dark in the wilderness. It's one of the secluded trails - it was no one on the trail but us. Even guided hike from Zion does not allow groups more than 10 people on this trail not to disturb the nature. Round trip is 5 ml and takes 4 hours, but you definitely want to stop and meditate is some places. Fist part of the trail is very steep with the man-made steps. Middle part requires many (I've lost count) small creek crossings, it was very refreshing to be near the water. Taylor Creek ends up in unique double alcove formation and I think it worth to come back to. So it definitely on out next To Do List.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Creek also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Taylor Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.