We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kolob Canyons

Kolob Canyons
Highway 15, Exit 40, Zion National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic canyons located on the northwest section of Zion offer scenic overlooks onto natural arches, waterfalls, and the myriad colors of this popular National Park.
midland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

didn't know this place existed but came across it first as we were travelling down 15 to go to zion. a great drive. didn't do any hikes as the rain had started. we went to main senic overlook just in time to see the start up of 3-4 waterfalls as the rain progressed. what great pictures. crowds were not bad.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    31
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“You have to get off the road and go for a hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were looking for some routes to climb but it was getting late so we figured we would just go scout it out and come back the next day to climb. We ended up about 3 miles up looking for a climb called Namaste. I have drove by this canyon close to 100 times I am sure and always wanted to go and check it out and finally did. We hiked in and looked around and didn't end up finding the routes because it was getting too dark. The canyon was amazing though. You have to get off the road and hike into what looks like may eventually be a slot canyon. cool little hike.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Beautiful Uncrowded Part of Zion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Kolob Canyons is a part of Zion National Park that most people don't go to and they are missing out on an uncrowded beautiful part of the park. It is ~45 minutes from Springdale. But, if you are headed to SLC as we were it is directly off Exit 40 on Hwy 15. When you leave Springdale, you go on Rte 9 to Rte 17 and that runs directly into the interstate. There is a separate visitor center when you enter. Stop there for info. I don't think we saw 10 cars when we were there on a Tuesday morning the third week of May. If you don't hike and just get out at all the views it will only take you 30 to 45 minutes and well worth it. The entrance is literally just hundreds of feet from the hwy exit. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“very nice and not as crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful part of Zion, its not very big so it does not take you long to drive through it. And the hike to Timber creek viewpoint is not very long ,but the view is beautiful and well worth the hike. They say you can see all the way to Idaho from there. There had been mountain lion sighting, but we did not get to see any.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I'm so glad we decided to include Kolob Canyons in our day at Zion. It's a short hike from the parking lot up to the viewpoints. The view is simply fantastic. Really beautiful and varied landscape, with lots of plant life in the canyon. Didn't even see anyone else on the trail (this was around 4pm). Definitely stop by if you're headed to Zion.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolob Canyons also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Kolob Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolob Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.