We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to get off the road and go for a hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolob Canyons

Kolob Canyons
Highway 15, Exit 40, Zion National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic canyons located on the northwest section of Zion offer scenic overlooks onto natural arches, waterfalls, and the myriad colors of this popular National Park.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
217 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“You have to get off the road and go for a hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were looking for some routes to climb but it was getting late so we figured we would just go scout it out and come back the next day to climb. We ended up about 3 miles up looking for a climb called Namaste. I have drove by this canyon close to 100 times I am sure and always wanted to go and check it out and finally did. We hiked in and looked around and didn't end up finding the routes because it was getting too dark. The canyon was amazing though. You have to get off the road and hike into what looks like may eventually be a slot canyon. cool little hike.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    44
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Beautiful Uncrowded Part of Zion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Kolob Canyons is a part of Zion National Park that most people don't go to and they are missing out on an uncrowded beautiful part of the park. It is ~45 minutes from Springdale. But, if you are headed to SLC as we were it is directly off Exit 40 on Hwy 15. When you leave Springdale, you go on Rte 9 to Rte 17 and that runs directly into the interstate. There is a separate visitor center when you enter. Stop there for info. I don't think we saw 10 cars when we were there on a Tuesday morning the third week of May. If you don't hike and just get out at all the views it will only take you 30 to 45 minutes and well worth it. The entrance is literally just hundreds of feet from the hwy exit. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“very nice and not as crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful part of Zion, its not very big so it does not take you long to drive through it. And the hike to Timber creek viewpoint is not very long ,but the view is beautiful and well worth the hike. They say you can see all the way to Idaho from there. There had been mountain lion sighting, but we did not get to see any.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I'm so glad we decided to include Kolob Canyons in our day at Zion. It's a short hike from the parking lot up to the viewpoints. The view is simply fantastic. Really beautiful and varied landscape, with lots of plant life in the canyon. Didn't even see anyone else on the trail (this was around 4pm). Definitely stop by if you're headed to Zion.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“More like Arches than Zion Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A beautiful canyon to drive up and down, and the La Verkin Creek Trail which starts at the top of the canyon road (and which connects to the West Rim Trail for a multi-day backpacking adventure) leads to the huge and stunning Kolob natural arch. It's a 7 mile hike from the trailhead to the arch, so plan on staying overnight in one of the designated campsites or start early and plan on a very long day hike in and out. The scenery is very different from Zion canyon--much more like Moab, with lots of gorgeous redrock. A refreshing stream runs along the trail much of the way, but must be filtered before drinking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolob Canyons also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Kolob Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolob Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.