We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great drive through the park and tunnel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel

Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel
Zion National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular entry into Zion National Park that consists of a 1.1-mile long tunnel and a highway that slowly winds down from a high plateau.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“great drive through the park and tunnel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been to Zion a few times and it really is a site to be seen time and time again. The best part is to start is wind your way up to the tunnel. You can see several of the cut outs from the road below if you are looking for them. Once inside the tunnel, run your engine up and hire the echo's. We were with a group of Harley riders and the noise was music to our ears. It is a long tunnel but you cannot stop to see out the cutouts.

Fabulous place to drive through, walk around or hike into the further trails just off the road.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    73
    31
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Long, Long Tunnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is the longest tunnel my family has ever been through. We liked the cut outs and found one after we went through it. You must use your lights, it is very dark and a little scary.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“part of the wonder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

to see what man is capable of and part of the scenic drive anyway. do it, enjoy the wait as the tunnel (it is one way in summer and they take turns each way)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“different experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It was amazing to go up in elevation (then down on the way back) through solid rock with a few cut outs for viewing. It added to the Zion experience a great deal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You should experience it...once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have been through man-made tunnels through mountains and this was the grand-daddy of them all -- long and dark on a long, windy road to get there. Amazingly done but a scary ride.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.