We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long, Long Tunnel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel

Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel
Zion National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A spectacular entry into Zion National Park that consists of a 1.1-mile long tunnel and a highway that slowly winds down from a high plateau.
Loveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Long, Long Tunnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is the longest tunnel my family has ever been through. We liked the cut outs and found one after we went through it. You must use your lights, it is very dark and a little scary.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    61
    23
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
midland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“part of the wonder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

to see what man is capable of and part of the scenic drive anyway. do it, enjoy the wait as the tunnel (it is one way in summer and they take turns each way)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“different experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It was amazing to go up in elevation (then down on the way back) through solid rock with a few cut outs for viewing. It added to the Zion experience a great deal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You should experience it...once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have been through man-made tunnels through mountains and this was the grand-daddy of them all -- long and dark on a long, windy road to get there. Amazingly done but a scary ride.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“an amazing engineering feat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

..we don't do this kind of thing anymore. It's too bad! The tunnel is long and dark, and really neat to go through. My lights weren't working too well on the way into the park, but the tunnel just keeps going and going and going!

It's amazing what they did back in the day! We surely need to rethink our what we do now!

Worth the drive - that's for sure!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion-Mt. Carmel Tunnel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.