We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narrows Trail

Narrows Trail
Zion National Park, UT
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A strenuous and challenging 12.5 mile hiking trail.
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must do hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was 105 degrees in the park, but the water in the shaded Narrows was only 58. The water level was lower than previous years, which makes it possible to hike some sections on the dry sides. It also encourages large numbers of hikers to try the hike, many of them woefully unprepared and ill-equipped. If you attempt it, take lots of water to drink in a pack that can get wet, get at least one -- preferably two -- lightweight walking sticks. Aluminum ones can be picked up at a Wal Mart for a few bucks. Make sure you have water shoes with closed toes. The best footwear are the neoprene lined water shoes (like oversized sneakers) that you can rent outside the park (the Zion Adventure Company has tons). Take a water proof camera and leave all your other electronics in the hotel or car -- you will get wet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nj
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nicest hike in the US parks system”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very unique trail and a must do if you are in the area. We went from vegas and it was worth the trip. most important advice......get there early! It gets really hot midday and crowded.. lots of families , kids etc but if you get there early you are good to go. you have check if they are expecting flash floods. That day was a 20% chance. the ranger said that If i see clouds after 2pm 'get the hell out of there'. Not an easy hike though especially coming back

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“OMG - fantastic hike - rent the shoes! it's worth it (avid hiker here too)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

definitely rent the gear - the shoes, walking stick & dry bag if you don't have them. the shoes alone made the hike MUCH easier.

don't expect privacy...it's crowded

I didn't think the water was cold at all...very refreshing

we hiked up to Orderville & then took off on that for about an hour - climbed up 3 small waterfalls - well, climbed 2 & couldn't make it up the 3rd. kids will do much better in this section of the Narrows

bring or tie watershoes to your drybag for when you complete the hike. realize that it's a mile walk (ada accessible) to the opening of the Narrows..and a mile hike back. as soon as you are out of the water you'll want to change shoes. I tied my t-va's onto my dry sack around my waist.

I wouldn't bring kids under 12 & only kids in good shape. we waded in water up to our chests at time (I'm 5"2) and really really needed the walking stick.

shuttle getting there was over crowded & ripe w/ stinky people (lol). didn't have time for any other hikes. thought Zion was going to be my fav (and the Narrows def is my fav ever) but over all I enjoyed Bryce much more

and as an AVID hiker...RENT THE SHOES !!!! seriously. makes a huge difference

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Cold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a lovely peaceful area very quiet as long as its not to busy We walked up the narrows twice and were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves on the second day. The water is pretty cold but you soon get used to it .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A must if you're able to do it. Suggest you wear footwear with good traction and hiking poles. We only did a two hour hike and wanted to do more but we were running out of time and wanted to head off to Bryce in the day light.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narrows Trail also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Narrows Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narrows Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.