We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-worth the drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolob Canyon Road

Kolob Canyon Road
Zion National Park, UT
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A five mile scenic drive with incredible canyons and cliffs.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Well-worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It's very close to I-15 and I was glad I took the time to drive through. It was an excellent introduction to Zion.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a must do.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We took a drive here in the late afternoon. The terrain differs a bit from Zion and at the end of the route there was a lake. We did a lot of driving this vacation, so in retrospect I didn't think it was worth spending more time in the car to do this route. ( Hiking here might be better, rather than our drive by.) We tried taking the lava route with our rental car, but had to turn around because the dirt road was rutted and started to have a steep incline where driving conditions looked worse. You probably need a SUV to drive this section..

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A quieter side of Zion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you don't want to brave the crowds, or just want to bite off a smaller piece of the park for a day, enter through the northern Kolob Canyon and take the 5 mile drive. Maybe not as varied as views in the main canyon, but still pretty awesome. Plenty of trailheads originate here too. Tiny visitor center and bathrooms at the entrance. No other services along the way.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We did not hike the trails. We drove and stopped for pictures 3 times on the road. The views from the road are amazing. We almost didn't go in because there is nothing impressive at the entrance of the park. Once you drive up the canyon and around the bend. Wow! We did this on the way home after a great day of hiking the main part of zion's park.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

More beautiful Zion roads! Different landscape than the southern part of the park. Great train at the end.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolob Canyon Road also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Kolob Canyon Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolob Canyon Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.