We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate Hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Pools

Emerald Pools
Zion National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$595*
and up
3-Day National Parks Camping Tour: Grand Canyon...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one-mile hike will bring you to this area of pools and waterfalls.
Level Contributor
244 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Moderate Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We did this hike with a continuance to the Grotto Trail. The area around the Emerald Pools was wet and slippery but refreshing on a hot day. Wear sun screen and bring water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    194
    136
    28
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hike to do after checking in at lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

After spending three days in the Grand Canyon, this was the perfect moderate hike to do to stretch our legs after checking into the Zion lodge. It is directly across the street from the lodge, just over a walking bridge. It starts off as an easy paved walkway, but the futher you go up, it does get rocky and steep, so be sure to wear shoes appropriate for hiking and you might even consider taking your walking stick. Nice views and fun for the kids to walk under the water fall and up to the upper pool. Highly recommend this fun family trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“scenic pools at the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We chose to hike up this trail because it sounded good, and we weren't disappointed. The hike up to the pools took approx. 3/4 to one hour, with several stops to take pictures. The hike out only took 30 mins. It is fairly easy,and much cooler in the morning. The mist from the water falling over the trail was a bit refreshing as we walked out. There are several trails once you get further up.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Moderate Level Hike & Wear Sturdy Non-Slip Shoes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Word of advice: Once you start this hike the nearest restroom in case of emergency is going to be .6 miles back to the lodge or .8 miles to the Grotto.

The hike is nice and you can take the family. There are some steep parts. The lower pool was nice, but the waterfall is not impressive in the summer. The middle pool provides a great view and the upper pool is where you will see the emerald color in a very small pool (see picture).

On your way down, make sure to keep an eye across the river on the bank as well as up the mountain. You will see a variety of wildlife from deer & fawns to turkeys. Was a nice hike and a great way to start the morning.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hike but the pool and waterfall were not impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We got to Zion National Park too late to hike the Narrows so we settled for the Emerald Pools. It was a nice hike for family not too strenuous. However, the pools were small as well as the waterfall. I guess it depends on the season you visit. The scenery along the way was great though and we even saw a deer eating just 50 feet from us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Pools also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Emerald Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.